KL Marathon – 34 road closures set for this weekend

2014-standard-chartered-marathon-kl-start

Take note of your travel routes this weekend, folks! The Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2015 is in town, and up to 34 roads will be closed to make way.

According to The Star, the closures are expected to take place in stages, with preparations for the marathon beginning Saturday (October 3) at 10pm. This will effect Jalan Raja/Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman (TAR) and the Jalan Raja/Jalan Hishamuddin areas.

Later that night, other road closures will follow throughout the KL Marathon’s planned route. Jalan TAR/Dang Wangi will be closed beginning 12am on Sunday, while the AKLEH and DUKE highways are expected to be closed from 2am onwards.

Kuala Lumpur Traffic Investigation and Legal staff officer, DSP S. Markandan, told reporters that the police will be sending out a total of 410 officers and personnel to assist in managing the traffic flow during the preparations period, and throughout the marathon.

The race is set to begin as early as 4:30 am this Sunday morning October 4, and is expected to start at two locations: Dataran Merdeka and Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman (TAR) near the Sogo complex, before the 35,000 runners return to Dataran Merdeka once again.

Print

All closed roads are expected to be opened to the public again after 12pm on Sunday itself, but if you must travel into the city before then, several alternative routes have been suggested.

If you’re entering the city from Kajang, it has been advised that you do so via Jalan Loke Yew, Jalan Hang Tuah, Jalan Kuching and Jalan Kinabalu.

Drivers KL-bound from Seremban may opt for Jalan Maharajalela, Jalan Tun Razak, Kampung Pandan Roundabout and the Pahang Roundabout. The Pahang Roundabout is also advised for those coming in from Setapak.

From Kepong, you may want to consider Jalan Kuching and Jalan Tun Razak, or should you be inbound from Jalan Duta, Jalan Mahameru, Pahang Roundabout or Jalan Dewan Bahasa is at your disposal.

Ideally, you have been advised to use the city’s public transport options. But if you must head in by car, you may want to just switch on Waze or your favourite navigation app for your mobile devices, and use that. Do remember, of course, to not fiddle with your phones while driving, and use a proper phone holder or mount.

Also remember to avoid parking in areas where you can and will most likely be summoned for it.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• HazeZzzz on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:13 pm

with the haze unhealthy level…how many runner can survive or lung problem at later stage.
    Event organizer SC really sucking blood only

• Aurat Macam mana? on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:02 pm

I see most runners here tak tutup aurat. how are the Red Shirts going to handle this? Should protest that the female runners here tak tutup aurat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • jazzer on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:24 pm

hahahaha …they shud called it Standard Chartered HIghway Marathon….run thru AKLEH, MRR2 & DUKE. what a boring full marathon route

• Shut it if you dont even run! on Sep 30, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Boring huh? Just like ur life I suppose

• kcng (Member) on Sep 30, 2015 at 3:52 pm

wtf!? road is built for car not for runner!

they don’t even pay roadtax and tol

• anti jam on Oct 03, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Kl was jam friday morning yesterday us because of road closure right? On top of that lorry rosak at jalan tun razak. Really waste of time and productivity. Go do the marathon in putrajaya or something lah. Sepang ke.

• yalah on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Ya lah. .. why can’t they just like formula one keep pusing pusing inside the track… then no need to close road lah…

One day I don’t get to drive my road tax got rebate or not??

This marathon people, want to endanger their health go lah Indonesia to run and suck up all the haze… just like the damn haze… every year come back to cause traffic