DRB-Hicom says no hike in car prices in sight, yet

KhamilJamil

In a sympathetic motion, DRB-Hicom managing director Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil said that the company will not be increasing the prices of its cars anytime soon, with regards to the weakening Malaysian Ringgit.

A new report by Bernama quoted DRB-Hicom boss to say that the company is instead understanding of the nation’s tough times amidst the current economic situation, and has a plan in store to avoid having to increase car prices. His comments came after a sending-off ceremony for the first batch of students from the International College of Automotive (ICAM) to Britain, yesterday.

He said, “Our automotive segment has been affected naturally because most of our marques are CBU, while our property has also been affected as there are fewer buyers who are qualified for housing loans.”

“For the time being, we are not going to increase the prices because we are sensitive to the rakyat’s needs, so we are not taking this as an opportunity to increase the prices.

“We have been absorbing the cost as we are sensitive to the country’s economic development and we want to assist the rakyat and government in overcoming the difficulties that we are facing now.”

DRB-Hicom is involved in the automotive industry through several partnerships with automotives brands, including the manufacturing, assembly and distribution of them. These brands include, but are not limited to, Suzuki, Proton, Jeep, Mitsubishi, Honda, and Isuzu.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• pengguna proton kecewa on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:13 pm

What a joke.drb’s brands are overpriced from the 1st place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
    • topkek on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Vios kosong much more overpriced you dun say pulak. Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
      • Open Letter To Khamil on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Hello Khamil. Honda Accord CBU 2.4 with 10 airbag in USA is US21k.

Honda Malaysia will get this car for US15k being the official country distributor. Then DRB CKD the Honda, cost goes even lower. Maybe even US12k for a 2.4 Honda Accord.

DRB even cuts cost by removing the 10 airbags and many other safety features, I think DRB Hicom cost per Accord 2.4 is hardly US$10k. Which is about RM40k

But DRB Hicom sell the Accord for RM180k. You still talking about not increasing price yet Khamil?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
        • Alson P on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Still people buy Honda..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:01 pm

What cars are not overpriced in Malaysia? Please enlighten us!
            Why all cars are so expensive? Simply because of the leech Proton.

• topkek on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:54 pm

In Thai 160k no proton you dun say pulak. Topkek

• Topkek aka John on Sep 30, 2015 at 5:00 pm

topkek aka john, in Thailand every citizen is treated equally and not some given special privileges and eventually become lazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Proton Still Curi on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:39 pm

DRB is sucking so much of our LHDN money. Big bogus that Proton is under private hands of DRB hicom. Every year Proton is still sucking our LHDN money which eventually goes to DRB pockets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • DRB Very Clever on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:04 pm

They kononnya bought Proton but it is a vehicle that they can use to suck more of our money. Mahathir still asking for money for Proton from the Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • George Abdul on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:18 pm

If waive the ridiculous AP system, no matter how weak ringgit will be the price still going to be more cheaper more then 50% then current price !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • For a company that losses billion, losing a little more because of weakening RM won’t change anything. This company is so used to losing money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Mighty kind o ye DRB Hicom.

But what you give with one hand, you take back with the other from somewhere. Noone is that generous.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:27 pm

He can say that because Hicom has been charging a premium for the brands under its umbrella since forever so what’s there to lose?

• nohikepls on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:49 pm

At least P1 proof it self is not “disease” as a commenter said here.

Go and ask foreign car makers not to increase price during hard time, can? In your dream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Corrupted Company on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Of course you should not raise prices. Our prices are already 3x world prices. malaysians are already cheated big time. We suffer so much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Bernas and DRB hicom on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:21 pm

this is big drama. DRB and Syed Mokhtar control Bernas and all the rice in Malaysia. He fixes the price of Rice.

If not for Syed Mokhtar and his Bernas, our price can be 1/4 the price.

This is basic food for the rakyat. I think DRB and Syed Mokhtar should give the people cheaper rice instead of assuring car prices are not going up.

hello abang, Malaysans are paying 3x the world prices lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
    • policeman on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Please start a rice blog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • unclekok on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Price? Only talk kok no use

• the govt. set the price maaaa

• buahdoyot on Sep 30, 2015 at 4:04 pm

aiyoo dun mention syed mokhtar alone la…where ur lovely daddy granny robert kuok..gohtong group members..dun be choosy la…

• honda fan on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:15 pm

hahahaha only complains abt syed mokhtar…how abt those property tycoon…mah sing..etc..etc… building high prices property. anyway, its a car blog…if u want to talk abt rice, go to rice blog…and for me, i’ll rants abt property at prop’s blogg…stop being a racist pls…its not the color, its the person matters

• rigid on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Keyword : “YET” . so don’t put so much hope.

• govt., pls increase the price of rokok

• Hashim on Sep 30, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Why need to increase P1 car prices when there is a massive overhang of unsold units at their warehouse.
    Suprima & Saga plenty of stockpile due to low demand.
    Not only cars. Proton spareparts also collecting dust till they have to offer
    up to 70% discount to clear the old stock.
    Sensitive to the rakyats needs ?
    Please lah just cut the drama & just stop asking for anymore
    Government grant & assistance.
    We were not born yesterday! !!

• Stok masih ada