Ford Focus pre-facelift – safety recall in Australia over front drive shaft issue, 1,243 cars involved in Malaysia

C346 Ford Focus Sport pre-FL 1

Over in Australia, Ford is calling back a number of its third-gen Focus over an issue with the car’s front drive halfshaft. The campaign involves 4,277 units of the pre-facelift C346 built between May 21, 2013 and January 24, 2014.

In the affected cars, Ford said that it is possible that the front drive shafts fitted on these vehicles may not meet specification and could fail during initial acceleration from standstill. The automaker says that should failure occur, the car will be rendered immobile and could pose an accident hazard to both the driver and other road users.

Ford Australia said that affected owners will be contacted to arrange replacement, and advised that until the safety recall is complete, owners should avoid aggressive acceleration from standstill.

News reports indicate that the recall is part of a larger service programme exercise being carried out for 10,000 Focus models over the issue, with the remaining number having already been having had repair and replacement work done.

C346 Ford Focus Sport pre-FL 2

The pre-facelift C346 Focus sold in both the Australian (from 2012-on) and local market is assembled in Thailand, so it would be logical for MY cars to be affected as well, and they are – it turns out the shaft replacement programme also involves Malaysian market vehicles.

Ford’s ASEAN regional office in Thailand confirmed with paultan.org that 1,243 Focus vehicles in Malaysia are similarly affected, but added that an owner-notified customer satisfaction programme to replace the front drive shafts had been underway for some time, and was ongoing.

The company said Malaysian Ford dealers have been contacting remaining affected customers to schedule appointments to carry out the front drive shaft replacement work, which of course is carried out at no expense to the owner.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Colin Wong on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:12 pm

On that note, Ford should also extend the warranty on the gearbox to 10 years as China and Taiwan Ford have done.

• Ford 3 months Wait on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:00 am

If they take 3 months to replace any small part in any Ford in Malaysia, I think this recall, they will hold your car for 6 months. Stay away from Ford Malaysia. You will cry and regret.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:51 am

Responsible car makers like Toyota, Honda, Mazda, Nissan, Ford are willing to do recall to ensure best quality and safety for their customer.

Your pathetic Proton has no recall so you think it is safe? Think again.

You never do body check up doesn’t mean you are cancer free.

• Whaaaat? on Oct 01, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Whaaaaaat is wrong with you man?

Why the need to include proton man?

Have you heard that proton have issues like exploding gearbox or engine goes inside your throat?

No right? And why the need to re-call?

St*pid human being.

• Now warranty for gearbox is 7 years

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 30, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Don’t give us all this “customer satisfaction” bullcrap.

A recall is a recall. No two ways about it. What we really need is a centralised place where all these manufacturers have to report if a recall is available and whether or not it has been done.

• ae101 on Sep 30, 2015 at 10:27 pm

My colleague car kena this twice in less than 2yrs. Took at least 1 day to fix.

• regretbuyingaford on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:53 am

1 day?

for Sime Darby’s horrendous track record, i’d say your colleague is one of the very very lucky ones. i guess he went in and started a fuss so they had no choice but to comply with a speedy fix. people like me who try to be nice to the front desk employees immediately kena chop ‘average joe’ so they can proceed to keep the vehicle and do nothing with it for months and months.

• regretbuyingaford on Sep 30, 2015 at 11:47 pm

no expense to the owner?

when they keep your car for months on end, with no explanation and being deprived of your mode of transport, how can you say that there is no expense incurred?

Sime Darby wants to fxxk u in the @$$ and they want you to love it!

• Susukotak on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:47 am

Looks like same problem as fiesta. The owner might notive kluks2 sound when turning the steering.

• While I commend Ford for doing this recall it is SHOCKING how many recalls this generations of FORD cars have endured..

I dunno about the situation here in Malaysia but a friend who drives the Ford Escape (Ford Kuga here) in the States had his car recalled for a total of 6 TIMES..yes 6 Times over the space of 3 years for a myriad of issues and has caused the resale values to plummet well below usual Ford levels..

They make great cars in terms of driving and refinement but they really need to sort out the specifics.. the parts bin for this generation needs to be emptied before next gen…

• the cheapest ford focus is RM 113,550 … pity those who still question the bad quality of the RM 33,000 proton saga