VW announces diesel action plan, big recall expected

Volkswagen Polo Facelift 14

Admission and apologies done, it’s time for action, and Volkswagen has announced its action plan to correct the “defeat devices” of affected diesel vehicles. It was earlier reported that the German government had given Wolfsburg until October 7 to come up with a solution.

In a first step, affected customers will be informed that the emissions characteristics of their vehicles will be corrected in the near future. All vehicles are technically safe and roadworthy, VW says.

Under the action plan, Volkswagen and other VW Group brands whose vehicles are affected (Audi, Skoda and SEAT) will present technical solutions and measures to the responsible authorities in October. Customers will be kept informed over the coming weeks and months, and each brand will set up national websites to update customers on developments.

An internal evaluation on Friday established that a recall is required for some five million vehicles from the Volkswagen brand (passenger cars) out of a total of 11 million cars from the VW Group affected worldwide. The cars, fitted with Type EA 189 diesel engines, include the Mk6 Golf, the seventh-gen Passat and the first Tiguan, among other models. New vehicles with EU6 engines are not affected.

diesel-cap

According to the Wall Street Journal, VW Group’s new CEO Matthias Muller addressed a group of more than 1,000 managers earlier this week, telling them that “nothing can justify deception and manipulation,” and that “the aim is to regain lost confidence. This requires an uncompromising and consistent clarification.”

The WSJ report shed light on the biggest recall in VW’s history, quoting Christian Buhlmann, the company’s spokesman for technical issues.

He said that the refitting will involve a change of software and possible hardware changes. The former can be performed quickly, and hardware changes will take at most a few hours. With the updated software, VW expects CO2 emissions and fuel consumption to rise, but only minimally, and still within environmental standards.

Hardware changes will involve cars with 1.2 and 1.6 litre TDI engines which aren’t sold in the US. It is necessary because a fuel injection pump has to be replaced to ensure a smooth ride. The 2.0 litre engines will only need a software update for Europe, but US standards are higher and it’s not yet certain if a reflash is sufficient there.

How did all this come about? Read more here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kapchai on Sep 30, 2015 at 10:22 am

After software update, in order to comply with with the emission standard, the cars will be less powerful and customers will complain.

• Something gotta gives.

Like Toyota Vios, 1st 2003 generation (Euro 3) is more efficient than current (Euro 4). Same engine but different emission standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Tipu Tipu VGM on Sep 30, 2015 at 11:28 am

Nobody dare buy VW in Malaysia now. That is for sure. I bet they have even lied in their petrol consumption figures and bhp too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • 2015 Passat Owner on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:02 pm

VGM should just close down. I am a 2015 Passat owner and my car already kaput twice. Both DSG related.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
          • 2015 Passat Liar on Sep 30, 2015 at 3:30 pm

There is no year-2015 Passat selling also.

• Uncle Ben on Oct 01, 2015 at 4:02 pm

My Passat already 5YO and still working fine. I will send to service center on time for normal servicing. Both of us owned Passat, mine problem free but yours problematic
            Seriously?

• VGM How?? on Sep 30, 2015 at 11:33 am

Can VGM recall all DSG sold in Malaysia and compensate all the customers for the non stop hassle and breakdowns

• Being leaders of a reputable organization, they’re quick to admit guilt & quikly seek to find a solution.

But there’s another so-called leader of a pariah nation, after all the attempts to stifle criticisms & investigations, no attempt to correct the wrongs, let alone admission of guilt.

To them, let the nation decayed, as long as they’re enriched themselves illegally, never mind the rapid decomposition of it’s economy, knowing full well the Rakyat would suffered.

Not being nothing to do with the topic but, with these uncertainties looming, new cars for no buyers, even this blog would be irrelevant when everyone finding harder to put food on the table, let alone any interest about automobile.

…..sigh…..my 2.5sen….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Quick to admit their guilt? Really topkek gweiloh bootlicker.

They were knew about this problem, thats why they send their engineers across the ocean to ‘work’ on the test cars. Thats not some decision a middle manager can do. They were also informed by their suppliers that some internal test anomaly were detected before this shit hits the fan.

They fully knew about it but kept hidden until the test results were announced and now very likely to face gigantic worldwide lawsuit. Only then they admit and start to find scapegoat.

That is worse than the leader you alleged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Areyousure on Sep 30, 2015 at 11:19 am

Fixing is one thing.

I wish to see who is to hold accountability for this.

• They made Winterkorn and his 3 stooges the scapegoat. Whether its truly their fault or not, seems like nobody cares.
          Nobody cares who are the engineers sent, nobody cares who sent the engineers, nobody cares who gave the orders to send the engineers, nobody cares who gave the orders to order the engineers.

• camtakpro on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:56 am

Easy.
          1. Find scapegoats, and had them auto resigned.
          2. recall and update the old software cost 1~2 billions.
          3. new software continue fraud. inefficient/problematic hardware continue to be used.
          4. profit for many billions for few years
          5. found defeat device
          6. go to step 1

• Once you Lie, Always you will LIE on Sep 30, 2015 at 11:19 am

Cannot trust VW. DSG they lied for years. Denied for many many years. Even this Dieselgate, they lied for 1 whole year. How to trust?

Worse still Malaysia, where there is no governance and accountability. Here, don’t know what lies they are hiding from VW and Audi owners.

• kenny on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Jib Jib : ini semua conspiration!!
      macai2 : Betul Boss. Mereka yg attack VW adalah cuba hina orang putih, agama Christian or Jude.

• kenny on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Minister2 : sebagai orang putih, kita semua mesti bersatu-padu utk menbela VW dan mempertahankan maruah dan hak2 bangsa orang putih.

• Josh Ling on Sep 30, 2015 at 10:27 am

well, only time will tell if people can really regain their faith towards VW, and everything they do. for a company that can go so low in order to gain something they want, and repeatedly got exposed of their plots, i find it very difficult to believe them anymore.

• this happen when a country have buying power. you find fault, you demand for improvement, then you get it FOR FREE.
    here in malaysia, this manufacturer still sell defect product and DEMAND MONEY to repair. the defect still not solve.

• VW has very poor customer relationship; they were ‘caught’ otherwise this blatant cheating would have carried on.
    More importantly, their DSG issue, has it been resolved?

No one seems to have an answer, two of my frens had engine seizure, Polo Gti and Golf Tsi, luckily under warranty.

Give us 10 years warranty like for China, otherwise takes a brave soul to buy.

• carbonman on Sep 30, 2015 at 11:48 am

People say VW car price will drop here. I say it’s the other way round. VW car will be more valuable after this in bolehland because their company is so in line with our govt policy. Expect govt officials to be driving VW soon. Maybe PM will get the Phaeton.
    #sarcasm

• VWowner on Sep 30, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Hey folks,
    I really have doubts on VW credibility for this TDI incident. On the other hand, I really admire their courage and engineering advancement in car industry.
    Yes. DSG did give me some problem, but i can tell you that it is an enjoyment to drive a DSG equipped car.
    Let’s don’t put all this into microscope.
    VW cars able to give u more enjoyment compare to japs.
    It is TDI fault, not related to VGM as I believe they didn’t sell TDI here.
    If u folks there regret to buy VW, then blame yourself cause you had made such a wrong decision, no one force you to buy it at the first place.
    Me myself really happy with my VW ad will continue to support this brand as my VW gave me so much enjoyment that I can’t found in other same priced cars.

• Volkswagen johor on Sep 30, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Agreed with you buy at your own risk. Love VW..
      Even there will be alot problem with German engineering but really can’t compared Japs Engineering. Just drive it DAS AUTO

Join us Volkswagen Johor – SG (Facebook group)