Japan to assist Thailand in becoming a manufacturing hub for pick-ups, hybrids and electric vehicles

make-car-630

Japan is set to collaborate with Thailand in building up the Kingdom as a manufacturing hub for pickup trucks, hybrids and electric vehicles, the Bangkok Post reports.

The partnership was hatched following Thai PM Prayut Chan-o-cha’s visit to Japan earlier this year. After his visit, General Prayut authorised the National Economic and Social Development Board (NESDB) to work closely on joint development with the Japan External Trade Organization (Jetro) office in Bangkok. Both parties have since organised seven meetings with Japanese companies in Thailand.

Progress has now been made beyond talks – a record of discussions (RD) was signed earlier this week between the NESDB and the Science and Technology Ministry with Jetro. The NESDB is set to propose the details of the RD to a meeting of the National Innovation Development Committee, which is chaired by General Prayut.

According to NESDB’s secretary-general, Arkhom Termpitayapaisith, Japanese companies are willing to promote Thailand as a production hub for one-tonne pickup trucks, hybrids and electric cars if the Thai government was willing to waive import tariffs and excise tax on imported car prototypes and auto parts that had yet to be made in Thailand, the report said.

He added that Japanese firms also suggested that Thailand begin development of automotive testing centres for crash, high-speed, wind-tunnel, durability and emissions tests. Executives of Japanese firms with regional headquarters in Singapore have reportedly given their full support for the joint development. Currently, Japan is the top foreign investor in Thailand – its investment in the first-half of 2015 amounted to 87.8 billion baht (RM10.5 billion)

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• George Abdul on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:45 pm

UMW cheat too much until Japan never consider Malaysia as partners !!! Japan never acknowledge Bolehland lousy AP system owners !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • hailthepurist on Oct 01, 2015 at 6:09 pm

slapped right in the face..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • Manufacturing hub so what? Malaysia will soon become ‘Detroit of Asia’ in 2020 thanks to Proton. Don’t forget we manufacture ‘BMW of Asia’ and ‘Volvo of Asia’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
        • camtakpro on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:59 am

Yeah right, Proton is:
          – “VW of Asia”, full of frauds and cheats.
          – “BMW of Asia”, bas mini wilayah quality.
          – “Volvo of Asia”, high fuel consumption and ugly design.

• Thank you Mugabejib on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:35 am

Nobody wants to invest in Malaysia anymore. We are a renegade country. Mat Salleh pulling their money out big time. They think our country is like Mugabe’s country

Thank you Mugabejib. And thanks to his party also for condoning and allowing him to stay. It goes to show, all of them are like him also

• watchman on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:36 pm

need a lesson on sarcasm ?

• Deepspace7 on Oct 02, 2015 at 8:23 am

In the words of my generation…. BOLEHLAND JUST GOT SNOOKERED BIG TIME….

• Asian Detroit on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Tahniah syabas kepada Dr.M, MITI selaku bapa industri otomotif Thailand!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:38 pm

Still remember NAP 2014 aiming to make Malaysia the hub of EEV(energy efficient vehicle)? Another typical Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok dirty lie. Who cares about FDI and national economy development in government? No one! They only care about survival of junk proton, the cronies and their own bank account.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Does it come with Takata killer airbags? Or energy saving unintended auto-accelerate pedals?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • It may or may not. But for one sure thing…..FDI wont be coming this way!!! F*****g useless Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • If between risking money or risking life, better to lose money than to lose life loh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
        • camtakpro on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:01 am

You are comparing everyday routines vs accidents.

One is benefit everyone everyday. One only happen on accidents.

So you like killing 9999 people to save one people more than saving 9999 people with one death.

• Eh…I thought our dirty lying gomen said our shrinking shringgit will help bring in investors. Ops…i said it myself with the “dirty lying…”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • cabaiperawit on Oct 01, 2015 at 6:18 pm

the important thing to be highlighted is ‘willing to waive import tariffs and excise tax on imported car prototypes and auto parts’. Wow, how much the kingdom of smile willing to lost it income if it is become reality.

• isuzuki on Oct 01, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Nipponyin desu, please leave some for us. Domo arigato.

• No news on the 10-generation Civic? It was launch yesterday.

• Paul Tan on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:32 pm

http://paultan.org/2015/09/17/2016-honda-civic-sedan-officially-unveiled-for-the-us/

• albag on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:17 pm

nice.. meanwhile we are still having taxi drivers shouting against Uber

• carlies on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Apparently this is the deal for Thai gov to choose the Shinkansen HSR system over the Chinese made as Japan promise them to boost their automobile industry. Nothing to do with Bolehland.

• camtakpro on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:02 am

We are still waiting Arabs to donate, while Proton is having hard time penetrate their market.

• i bet even after this, cronies will say protection and AP are good and provide jobs to millions of malaysians. tahik…

• camtakpro on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:05 am

Protection and AP are good and provide millions of RM to cronies. Nothing to do with jobs.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:42 pm

beribu ribu tahniah…

• transformer on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:44 pm

If I’m not mistaken, Thais yearly automotive export volume is more than MY consumption (in this case, so called TIV)…. It’s not difficult to guess why JP chosen Thais instead of MY.

• DPCraft on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:08 pm

Next time Thailand bhatt is bigger then MYR…

• Samad Jain on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Malaysia is pretty much screwed……Thanks to cronies, BN and Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Thaiboy on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Hallo my nice neigbour, every bits of auto parts is manufacture in Thailand since a looong time ago we never waited more than 3 working days and you name the parts be it BMW’s ,Ford or what soever ha ha really no contest it’s everything is made in Thailand the whole car la my friend next time look carefully at replaced parts see the embossed MADE IN THAILAND

• old dog on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:46 pm

oh F…

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 1:03 am

There goes all our plans to become the leader in hybrids n EVs in the region no thanks to someone’s corrupt image to the max.

• Kent Teo on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:49 am

Thank you Dr.M for giving it to Thailand. He is the father of automotive (Thailand).

• camtakpro on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:03 am

He is also the father of automotive (Indon). And finance (Singapore).

• soon our people will migrate north to look for job

• Big LEMPANG to Malaysia

• common sensor on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:53 pm

MAI/MITI .. where the heck are you guys???