Mazda MX-5 RS introduced with handling upgrades

Mazda_MX-5_RS_1

You’re looking at the new Mazda MX-5 RS model, just introduced in Japan featuring enhanced driving dynamics. It’s badged as the Roadster RS in its home market, of course, but for the sake of familiarity, we’ll stick to the name we know and love for now.

What’s new here are unique Bilstein dampers, larger brakes, a strut brace and an induction sound enhancer. A nice set of Alcantara/nappa leather Recaro is featured too, as is the roadster’s bespoke nine-speaker Bose sound system.

The MX-5 RS adds no performance upgrades for the standard JDM 129 hp/150 Nm 1.5 litre SkyActiv petrol unit. This shouldn’t come as much of a surprise, really, seeing that the MX-5 programme manager Nobuhiro has said that “it’s important not to get hung up on numbers. Not on power, or torque. No, what is more important is the feeling.”

All this goes for 3,196,800 yen (RM117,900) in Japan, compared to our local market’s RM220k 2.0 litre MX-5.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Its hard not to get hung up on power when most of the time one is driving on highways. Local context of course.

• “it’s important not to get hung up on numbers. Not on power, or torque. No, what is more important is the feeling.”

Yeah right. Try telling that to Proton bashers who says Lotus ride and handling is syok sendiri.

• Busta rhymes on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:55 pm

Of course its syiok sendiri. No one in the world cares about poton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
  • Told ya Proton is better than Mazda

• 129hp and 150nm ? U got to be kidding me, even a 90k Suzuki swift sport has better output then this 220k …

• feelings on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:49 am

Feelings?
    I feel stupid paying so much for a 130hp “sports” car…

• the archbishop of banterbury on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:20 pm

Because you never drive a MX-5.
      Even if you drive an old NA you’ll feel the excitement. I guess you only drive a riced-out myvi with stickers that will “add 100hp” & fart cannon.