Mercedes-AMG C 63 S launched in Msia, from RM699k

2015-mercedes-amg-c-63-s-in-malaysia-1-1

At long last, here is the new Mercedes-AMG C 63 S right here in Malaysia. It has been announced, spied, teased, and now, we finally get to report to you live from its local launch event.

Only the one variant is in attendance today, and that’s the Mercedes-AMG C 63 S – the more powerful of the two W205 C 63 sedans that were revealed to the world over a year ago. If you’re wondering where the regular version of the C 63 is, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) tells us that you may place your bookings for it, but prices have yet to be confirmed. And yes, it will be cheaper.

Speaking of prices, the mighty C 63 S has been given a price of RM698,888 (OTR without insurance), while the even more dressed-up Edition 1 variant demands a RM25,000 premium, at RM723,888. Comparatively, the BMW M3 sedan is priced at RM730,800.

2015-mercedes-amg-c-63-s-in-malaysia-one (7)-7

As you ought to already know, the C 63 is as powerful and brutal as it gets in the W205 C-Class family. On the outside, the four-door Mercedes-AMG wears a significantly more aggressive look than the regular C 250 Exclusive, C 250 AMG and the C 200 Avantgarde variants we have in Malaysia.

The front-end sees the C 63 adorn the signature AMG styling, featuring the AMG twin-blade front grille with a central three-point star, and a deep front apron that if you look closely enough, forms the letter ‘A’ – a mark unique to AMG models, first seen on the E 63.

The AMG bodystyling also brings with it flared front wheelarches, while the rear is also equipped with typical AMG rear bumper in carbon-fibre, bootlid spoiler and quad exhaust tips. Surprisingly, apart from the front and rear bumpers, the only other exterior bits in carbon-fibre run alongside the lower sides of the car.

And just in case you were wondering – yes, we’ve counted – there’s a total of 10 AMG badges visible on just the exterior of the car (including the tailpipes, front grille, wheels, rear).

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia says that several wheel options are available for the C 63 S. The striking 19-inch AMG nine-dual Y-spoke wheels in a high-sheen chrome finish, or a matt-black finish, with Michelin Pilot Super Sport rubbers measuring 245/35 up front and 265/35 at the back that you see here – cost options in other markets – have already been included in the C 63 S’ RM698,888 price tag.

And if it’s more stopping power that you crave, MBM says that the C 63 S can be had with the optional high-performance ceramic composite braking system for the front axle. The ceramic discs have a diameter of 402 mm, and you’ll also be able to spot them by the “AMG Carbon Ceramic” lettering on the gold brake calipers. The standard brakes are fitted here, though, with MBM not revealing the price of the optional brakes.

2015-mercedes-amg-c-63-s-in-malaysia-one (24)-24

As aggressive as the C 63 S may look on the outside, it’s what’s under the bonnet that really sets this monster apart from its regular C-Class siblings, and even its direct competition, in many ways.

Powering the Mercedes-AMG is the brand’s very own, hand-made 4.0 litre biturbo V8 engine, codenamed the M177. Closely linked to the M178 4.0 V8 biturbo found in Affalterbach’s flagship sports car, the AMG GT, the C 63 S is capable of a whopping 510 hp at 5,500 to 6,250 rpm, and 700 Nm of torque at 1,750 to 6,250 rpm.

Transmission wise, the C 63 S sends its power to the rear wheels via an AMG Speedshift MCT seven-speed sports automatic transmission. And because this is the S version, there’s also a Race mode available from the AMG Dynamic Select switch. Selecting the Race mode sends all of the car’s systems (suspensions, steering, throttle, shift map) into full attack mode.

What that translates to on the road is a 0-100 km/h time of just 4.0 seconds with the Race Start (launch control) function, on towards a top speed of 250 km/h. If you opt for the optional AMG Driver’s Package, the latter can be upped to 290 km/h instead.

To help tame all this power, the C 63 S is equipped with a three-stage adjustable AMG Ride Control sports suspension as standard. Another unique item for the more potent S model is its electronic rear axle locking differential – the regular C 63 gets a mechanical diff.

Step inside the four-door AMG, and you’re immediately reminded that the comforts and luxuries of a top-spec C-Class are all accounted for, only improved upon for the necessary athleticism of the C 63.

2015-mercedes-amg-c-63-s-in-malaysia-one (42)-42

The dashboard is upholstered in a black Artico man-made leather with topstitching in crystal grey, while running across the face of the dash is a brushed aluminium trim element that runs behind the free-standing display screen.

Further controls for the air-conditioning and display screen are positioned where they’ve always been in the W205 C-Class, surrounded by a healthy amount of carbon-fibre. Do also take note of the AMG-specific IWC design analogue clock tucked in between the lower deck of switches.

The W205’s touchpad cum palm rest is familiar, but features additional switches for the AMG Dynamic Select and various other AMG-specific controls. The multifunction display screen within the instrument panel also feature several unique AMG features such as a lap timer, and other performance gauges.

The upholstery for the standard-included Performance seats (optional in other markets) made available for the C 63 S is in Artico man-made leather/Dinamica microfibre with AMG badges on the headrests. The Performances seats offer increased lateral support and heavily contoured buckets and a lower seating position.

What about the C 63 S Edition 1? Well, it couldn’t make it in time for the launch event, but with a confirmed price of RM723,888, let’s go over what’s in store, on top of everything we’ve told you about the C 63 S so far.

For starters, the RM25,000 premium over the regular C 63 S allows you a selection of six different exterior paint finishes: polar white, designo diamond white bright, iridium silver metallic, palladium silver metallic, obsidian black metallic, and the AMG-specific finish, designo iridium silver magno (below).

mercedes-amg-c-63-s-edition-1

Where the exterior kit is concerned, the Edition 1 package brings with it a spoiler lip in high-gloss black, a Night package that includes chrome-plated exhaust tailpipes, red highlights for the radiator grille, exterior wing mirrors and matte black wheels, plus side sports stripes in matte graphite grey above the side sill panels.

The interior is also treated to a host of Edition 1 upgrades, including red designo seat belts (also fitted to the standard car here), Edition 1 lettering on the steering bezel in silver chrome and door centre panels in diamond-pattern black nappa leather with red contrasting topstitching. The dashboard trim can be had in either red pepper carbon-fibre or light longitudinal-grain aluminium.

So, which will it be then – this, or the BMW M3?

Mercedes-AMG C 63 S

Mercedes-AMG C 63 S Edition 1

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• The M3 is iconic. This isn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 41
  • more powerful than M3 yet cheaper price..well done MBM.
    while BMW Malaysia is thinking to increase the prices…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • Need to price cheaper, if not even Ah Pek also don’t want to buy this no iconic or M3 wannabe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • brianxyz on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:18 am

yawn… boring..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
  • Jezza on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:26 am

Buy this or house? But if you are rich enough, not a problem. :)

• Tesla on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:54 pm

It used to be buy a house first, flip, get $$$ and buy M3 or C63.

Now you buy a house, …….wait….wait…wait….bank notice, lelong, divorce and bankrupt :(

• US Price $63k - Thanks Mugabejib on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:29 am

US price is US63k. Malaysia it becomes RM700 plus.

So, its around RM250k. But here we pay RM700k. Thank you Mugabejib.

We are paying for your RM2.6 bil lottery (now Rm3 bil)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Dun worry! Our dear leader Selangor piggy bank still more (3 Bil going to 3.5 bil)

• Areyousure on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:31 am

MCT multiple clutches? More clutches more maintenance!

• is the non-S version available as well?

• And then rosak tepi jalan like S63 AMG which the korean smashed with a golf club

• and then rosak tepi jalan like the S63 AMG which was smashed using a golf club by a raging korean man

• One word – Stunning. Too bad I can’t bloody afford it. Have to pray to win 4D Jackpot this weekend.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:58 am

Wow even the S model undercuts the M3 in price and yes the non S model is more than enough for me. Wonder how much cheaper that variant will be. So the ball is in BMW’s court…how will they answer when the LCI M3 arrives later?

• ya laaa.. continue launching all this super expensive cars during this hard time..

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:06 pm

People who can afford to buy this couldn’t be bother about YOUR hard time… So stop making noises and start making money instead…

• any info regarding how much its weight?

• FIST (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 12:26 pm

AMG wins this round

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • do people still care about the C63? The M3/4 is the best and thats the end of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
  • millionaire on Oct 02, 2015 at 1:00 pm

gonna work hard for it

• All White on Oct 02, 2015 at 1:55 pm

I saw a white c 63 amg at damansara area around midnight few days ago on the road. I thought it was a riced c-class with edition 1 stipe but it does sound like a v8, didn’t manage to take a snap of it though

• gonna needed some donation for this baby!

• jinggo on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:20 pm

OTR price is RM716,166.63 cam sial!
    kat USA harga kereta ini cuma RM280,350 saja.. apa ni?!
    kerajaan telah membangsatkan pembeli kereta di Malaysia.

• cendol (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:39 pm

If you guys THINK you can afford it, you can’t.
    This kind of car is not for 99.9% of people who surfs Paultan.org.
    Truth hurts.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:50 pm

a replacement for my old 190E 2.5-16 Evolution II!
    I’m just a donation away from this C63 S.

• applegreen on Oct 02, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Are they selling C300 and C350 in malaysia?

• Paul Tan on Oct 02, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Nope. You can check out variants sold here: http://www.carbase.my/mercedes-benz/c-class/w205

• shawal on Oct 02, 2015 at 5:13 pm

the display screen bezel is too thick , is that the 8 inch or 6 inch..?

looks like a cheap ipad knock off , MB hav to rectify that on the facelift….,

make it squarish , thin bezel, slimmer ,and covered with electro chromatic glass, switching from opaque to transparent

that’ll look cool

• RichOldMan on Oct 04, 2015 at 11:29 am

So many low class,low income peasants.I am a old man and loaded,I can get a M3 and C63 at once.What you low income peasants can do is keep whining.