Mercedes-Benz CLA 250 Shooting Brake in Malaysia

2015-mercedes-benz-c250-shooting-brake-spied-3

Well, well, well. What do we have here? On the same day Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) launched the C 63 S, it decided to surprise us with this.

Thanks to these photos sent in to us by bmw.m.believer, what you see here is the Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class Shooting Brake, specifically, the CLA 250 Shooting Brake 4Matic. We imagined that MBM would have at some point want to introduce this here, but it has done extremely well at keeping this one under wraps, thus far. Keep in mind though, this isn’t a local launch event – it’s just a preview to a special group of people.

The term “Shooting Brake” of course refers to the car’s estate body style, of which you may recognise this particular vehicle as a sort of baby version of the CLS-Class Shooting Brake. A model that MBM doesn’t officially sell here, but can be spotted on the road occasionally, courtesy of several grey market importers.

Back to the car at hand, and it’s clear to see MBM is open to offering a more powerful engine for the estate version of the CLA-Class – remember that the CLA 200 Coupe is equipped with just the 156 hp/250 Nm 1.6 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine.

2015-mercedes-benz-c250-shooting-brake-spied-12

This particular CLA 250 features a more powerful mill that delivers 211 hp/ 350 Nm of torque – it’s the same 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo engine we know from the A 250 Sport sold in Malaysia. The four-pot is paired with a 7G-DCT dual-clutch automatic transmission, which sends power to all four wheels via a 4Matic all-wheel drive system.

It also looks like the local-spec CLA 250 Shooting Brake MBM is planning for is equipped with the more athletic AMG Sport line exterior and interior kit, and a Night Package exterior kit to match. On the outside, AMG body-styling begins with the AMG-specific front bumper, while a Mercedes-Benz diamond front-grille is apparent, just like it is on the CLA 200 Coupe and the A 250 Sport hatchback.

The Night Package adorns a black finish to the Shooting Brake’s front diamond grille, wing mirror covers and trims surrounding the windows. The wheels on this car are unique to it in the brand’s local compact car line-up, being an AMG multi-spoke 18-inch type.

Inside, the cabin largely resembles that of the CLA 200 Coupe, but the AMG Sport line package dresses it up with more sporty trim details: red stitching, AMG carbon-fibre dashboard trim, AMG sports dials and more. Do remember also that MBM has recently updated its CLA 200 with a larger, 8.0 inch free-standing display screen, a new steering wheel, and the carbon trim on the dash – additions that are also seen here.

As for prices, we’ve been informed by our kind photo supplier that the CLA 250 Shooting Brake is estimated to cost in the region of RM300,000, and that there will only be 10 units of the car available for sale in Malaysia! It’s significantly higher than RM233,888 commanded by the CLA 200 Coupe, but do keep in mind that not only do you get a more practical and stylish body style, but also a more powerful engine, and Mercedes-Benz’s 4Matic all-wheel drive system.

What about the RM236,888 GLA 200 and RM266,888 GLA 250 4Matic then? How do you think the CLA 250 Shooting Brake would fair?

We’ll be back with clearer pictures of the car, and more details, soon.

International-market Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class Shooting Brake

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:24 pm

The Shooting Brake Mercs all look amazing, I’m surprised it’s taken this long for MBM to bring them over. Missed potential.

• Why waste money? Better buy Suprima S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • Becoz some pipu need a uppercar to carry the coffin. Not like ur PR approved death trap Alfat/Veil-on-fire. Dun belip me just ask your K.singh.

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:24 am

No RV and no class. Good luck. For those kimchi drivers. Your car has no different with my son saga.

• MBM Please stop cheating Msians. on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:45 am

Instead of MBM doing stupid things like this exciting the rakyat, isn’t better you all save cost and give cheaper cars to the rakyat?

Rm300 is a rip off when the car is only US40k and below.

A good mercedes E400 hybrid in the US is US55k.

Why don’t MBM and Folger pay attention on CKDing the E400 Hybrid in Malaysia and sell the car for RM200k since it will benefit from tax incentive for Hybrids?

• Sam bra sales man on Oct 03, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Why dont you just go US. Dont copy and paste your comment all the.time.

• Proton can design cars that Merc designers can’t dream of

• brazbuz on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:24 pm

A decent look estate…. MBM really go all out for 2015/2016

• The Elite Kerata Mayat.

can sell 10 units per month.

• Looks like a moving coffin

• Hearse mover not equals to moving coffin. Except for PR approved death trap Alfat/Veil-on-fire. These got K.singh special permission to be both.

• bengong on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Wow, john is really bengong. This also want to involve K. Singh? I bet you can only afford a Suprima for your funeral. Yup, you don’t need special permission from Proton coz you’re their stupid DIE HARD fan. Haha

• niadroub ynohtna on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:46 am

Mentality rakyat yang sempit. Don’t know how to appreciate the practicality & beauty of a wagon. Sad that the majority of Malaysians have this mindset. Gomen, education and upbringing punya pasal.

• Ye ye. Sendiri bodoh, sendiri bangang pun boleh semua salah gomen.

• doggy john on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Stop making stupid political comments here. Be a good dog, go lick some ass from your BN or Proton

• niadroub ynohtna on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Eh Jamal Lembu, jangan engkau pura-pura pakai nama john. Kamu mahu support gomen, jangan buat hal di sini, ok? Kita semua tahu you are so full of yourself ok? Suka-suka cakap “sendiri”, baik kamu pergi syiok sendiri di tempat lain. Jangan buat kacau di sini. Now let’s talk cars. LOL!

• 0-100 in 6.7 seconds? That is pretty brisk for a 211bhp estate. As for pricing, I don’t think it shouldn’t be anywhere near the RM300k estimate. RM270k max

• This car is not on my list, better buy Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:38 pm

Tbh, it is gonna be a really tough sell for the CLA Shooting Brake. It is very small in real life, after seeing the CLA45 AMG Shooting Brake in the metal.

Not to mention, for the price, you can get a C class, or heck, a 328i GT if you really want a car with a big boot.

• Busta rhymes on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:53 pm

The cla’s narrow body doesnt look appealing when its moving.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 12:13 am

Very nice looking car but our local buyers do not appreciate that body style over here so it will be a rare model on the road and the photo supplier name is a troll to Mercedes fans haha good one mate. I guess those select few are really lucky indeed as MBM managed to keep this under wraps until the preview.

• i thought it came with machine gun or something…

• Nice car, but silly name