Ford Ranger Wildtrak facelift – est. price RM136k

2015 Ford Ranger Wildtrak - Ocean

The facelifted Ford Ranger T6 will be making its official debut in Malaysia very soon, and we’ve already seen photos of the refreshed pick-up in Ford showrooms. No hint of pricing yet on the regular Ranger, but an indicative price list on the Ranger Wildtrak facelift has emerged.

The list is obviously not final, as all the other fields save the on-the-road retail price with insurance are empty, but the tentative figure being bandied for the range-topping 3.2L Wildtrak variant is reportedly RM136,200. If it does turn out to be the case, then it’s an increase of around RM17k from the pre-facelift Wildtrak.

Nothing is of course set in stone yet, so we’ll have to wait until the truck is revealed to know just how much it will actually cost. Back in August, we were told that the pricing for the Ranger was set to go up, roughly by around 3%, but the Ringgit’s performance against the US Dollar has worsened even more since then, so it could well be more than that 3% mentioned.

The facelifted Ranger Wildtrak was revealed in June. The vehicle wears a similar looking front end to the rest of the lineup, but like the outgoing Wildtrak, the grille and bumper extension are painted dark metallic grey, with the faux skid plate finished in silver. Grey also dresses up the wing mirrors, side air vents, door handles, bed rails and tail light internals, and there’s also a Wildtrak graphics package in the mix.

As with the third-gen U375 Everest SUV, the truck is powered by the familiar Puma P5AT 3.2 litre five-cylinder Duratorq, continuing on as before with 197 hp at 3,000 rpm and 470 Nm of torque at 1,750 to 2,500 rpm, but now with a reworked EGR system for better efficiency. The mill is paired with a 6R80 six-speed automatic.

According to the spec sheet, only two exterior colours will be available for the Wildtrak, and these are Cool White and the ‘hero’ orange hue, which has been revised for the facelift – the 2015 shade is called Pride Orange, and replaces the previous Chilli Orange signature shade.

Interior kit includes a SYNC2 eight-inch touchscreen infotainment system, a dual-TFT LCD instrument cluster as well as a 230-volt power socket for charging laptops and the like. Also on, an eight-way power adjustable driver’s seat and black-and-orange Wildtrak fabric seats with leather inserts, complete with orange stitching.

Plenty of safety kit and driver assist electronic aids, and these include Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Alert (which warns of an impending collision and primes the brakes) as well as Lane Departure Warning and Assist. We’ll have more on the facelifted Ford Ranger T6 when it debuts, so stay tuned.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• MeToo on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:09 am

RM136,000 for a truck… just awesome… wonder it will be sold out like the previous batch?

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:13 am

the days of affordable pick-up truck is coming to an end. With Proton joining the pick-up truck, soon it’ll be taxed like private cars, just like the 4WDs in late 90s when Kembara first came into market

• MeToo on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:35 am

I think the cost is more due to the fact our Ringgit fell by 20% this year alone….

If all cars base price up by 20%, then you add in percentage based import tax/excise duties etc…

Wont be surprised cars locally will be more expensive by 20~30% next year… gotta love Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Navara coil spring on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:37 pm

dude, kembat a consider as SUV.. Same with Pajero fortuner which 4wd with coin spring at rear axle..
      Leaf spring only for truck in JPJ .. If coin spring.. Will tax u kawkaw

• Thaiboy on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:34 am

Most popular and best seller at the moment in Thailand, the SUV Everest also gaining top but maybe only here because for us parts had never been a problem besides the excelent service FORD parts is available instance throughout Thailand a 3 days wait is considered the longest but again it’s all made here

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:34 am

Adaptive cruise control on a pick up? Wow that’s a class first even our sedan counterparts do not have this feature yet. I wonder if they will adjust the price back when the RM becomes stronger or they will quietly profit from it….

• 136k for a pick-up truck – good luck SDAC. I don’t blame them but the currency. Our government should have helped cushion the impact of USD by some sort of incentives on tax & duty instead of putting burdens on the rakyat

• Sgt Scoop on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:47 am

The Ranger has been a huge seller for Ford in Malaysia. Unfortunately, I think that’s over. There are rumours that the 2.2 XLT will be RM112k. That’s around RM15K more than the equivalent Japanese trucks.

• MeToo on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:49 pm

+15k over Japanese trucks correct… but you are basing on the OLD pricing.

Note that with the fall of our Ringgit, even Jap marque will up price… a 20% drop in currency is too much to absorb

• Thanks Najib on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:59 am

Omg to the price. I’m very unsatisfied but I still booked one Wildtrak. The spec is just impressive.
    Toyota also briefed their sales ppl all models increase, old HILUX +6k, don’t mention NEW one yet.

lastly THANKS NAJIB BANYAK BANYAK

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Great Ford products but sucky Sime Darby Malaysian distributor. I am a Ford Escape V6 owner and their after sales service is horse crap. First they made you wait on their telephone “press 1, press 2, our operators are busy please call again”. Secondly, you have to book your car for service since they do not entertain walk in customers; how if your problematic Ford needs a repair? Thirdly all the service centres in Klang Valley are fully booked the next 10 days (I am not kidding). Forth, Their technicians or service people don’t even know what they’re doing, the problem is still there. Call them don’t know how to pick up the phone, put operator sommore. Call main line, terus pick up the call. Don’t believe me try and call them 03-77181256 (Sales); 03-77181273 (Service). That’s the problem when a car distributor focuses on SALES SALES SALES and not on AFTERSALES. No more Fords for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Lucky for me who live in Penang. Easy to book for service or sometimes just walk in for service. Also, they are great at picking up phone call :) Family used to own 5 Ford, still willing to buy another 5

• hahaha on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Wow.. I’m just so impressed on the safety packs. Lane Departure Warning, Forward Alert, Adaptive Cruise Control. These safety features are usually found in more expensive cars such as the Mazda 6 2.5 which costs about 190k. Just think of these three safety features then you will realise that actually paying RM 136k is actually worth it. Don’t bash me. It’s based on my own opinion. Chill. :)

• william woods on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:48 pm

hi all. i have to agree that ford produced an awesome truck everywhere through out every continent and in the U.S. it is shining bright like a silver spoon,but it just here in Malaysia, the service departments need to be more serious and focus on after sales task.

i have the same experience with mr.wiwiwiwiwiw.

• Elchino on May 02, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Yes, but why d long waiting list. M informed dat d company is pushing all their staff to sell d 2.2 ltr truck, may be tey have a smaller allocation for wildtrak