Proton CamPro engines to be replaced by GDI mills, Petronas-based turbo 2.0L – Jatco CVTs to feature?

proton petronas engine

Proton will be looking to replace its CamPro and CamPro CFE engines with a range of all-new turbocharged (and naturally-aspirated) 1.3 and 1.5 litre GDI mills, confirmed the brand’s chief technical officer, Abdul Rashid Musa. However, it should be noted that the entire project is still very much a “work in progress” and that the finished article could only see the light of day in 2019 or 2018, at the earliest.

The news was first tipped by one of our readers and was later verified by Rashid himself. Aside from the proposed new GDI engines, it was also reported that a new turbocharged 2.0 litre petrol mill, based on the Petronas E01 family, could power future variants of the Proton Perdana – said mill is likely to be revealed in 2018/2019. Rumoured power output has been rated at around 160 hp and 250 Nm of torque.

Said Petronas-derived engine will most probably debut to replace the 2.0 and 2.4 litre Honda-based engines currently in service in the Proton Perdana – the same range of powerplants will soldier on in the soon-to-be-launched 2016 Proton Perdana, as well.

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 057

Additionally, Proton could also be turning to Japan-based Jatco for new torque converter-type CVTs to pair with the aforementioned lineup of new engines. The fact that Jatco had a booth erected at the Alami Proton carnival over the weekend further hints at a potential tie-up between the two firms.

Back in October last year, it was reported that Proton was “studying the possibility” of employing said CVT variants to help improve drivability and fuel efficiency. Unfortunately, Belgium-based Punch Powertrain – which supplies CVTs to all of Proton’s models save for the Inspira – does not produce torque converter-type CVTs. With Proton having to turn to other firms, Jatco could very well be at the top of the list.

GALLERY: Proton Iriz 1.3 turbo, six-speed manual prototype

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana previewed

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• F1 Engine, Outbeat Honda Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
    • curi Curi Malaysia on Oct 05, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 134
      • Same L0rrrr on Oct 05, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 126
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 05, 2015 at 3:27 pm

See. Told ya. Bashers butthurt oledi..They will butthurt when Proton achieving any success or glory. Nowadays, most of world engines of the year are using DI instead of PFI as measure to save fuel consumption during fuel injection process. Proton are changing and concurrent with world technology. We should support this positive changes. Who knows this new DI engine will going to be engine of the year in 2018/19. Cheers..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 11
          • Bungkusan Nasi Ayam on Oct 05, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Wake me up when Proton is succesfull

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 47
          • Same L0rrrr on Oct 05, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 133
          • DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Even if Proton is successful, narrow-minded self-loathing Malaysians will still bash it upside down. For such people, everything Malaysian that’s operated by Bumis are lousy, incapable of success, etc. but everything in Malaysia that’s run by non-Bumis are awesome no matter how much they cheat, lie and steal.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 21
          • Same L0rrrr on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 132
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Donkey dong:
            Not all non-bumis are like that. During early launch of Iriz, the majority buyer are Chinese. Ah Beng know this because I attended the vendor briefing back in January this year. The problem in Malaysia is there’re still kiasu or communist ideology who pretending to be rakyat and spread the hatred towards Malaysian product. So we must unite fight this filthy and non-productive tribe away from our country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 5
          • syioksendiri on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:58 pm

guruh di langit, air dalam tempayan sudah dicurahkan LoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 98
          • Same L0rrrr on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 116
          • DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Ah Beng, you’re absolutely right. The communists in our midst is a nuisance to the fabric of our society in every way.. they are just selfish and self-centered but have no knowledge at all about how to improve the country and the economy, because they have no loyalty or love for the country at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrrr on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 116
        • Albert on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:47 pm

This year Protong will sell about 105,000 cars.
          Next year perhaps,85-90,000 units 2016
          Then maybe 60-70,ooo units 2017
          By 2018/9,the new Petronas engines may be too late….Bankers are waiting at their doorsteps to ATTACH AND SEAL their offices and equipment.
          This scenario will HAPPEN if nothing positive is forthcoming.
          Bankers are retrenching thousands now.NPLs are rising.They want their money back.EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN,haha…has been terminated.
          Proton,your only hope is the new Middle East Santa.He may be snoring deeply.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 52
          • Khalid on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:09 pm

When you are thinking you are too smart, actually you are so stupid. So stupid that can’t be teached forever

• DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:50 pm

CamPro engine and all Proton cars from the Waja onwards were developed entirely with Proton’s own funds, without any money from the government. Why are Malaysians so stupid?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 16
      • Khalid on Nov 03, 2015 at 9:04 pm

When you are thinking you are too smart, actually you are so stupid. So stupid that can’t be teached forever

• ProtonGSC on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Really good no more lousy Campro !!! But Petronas E01 better then Honda I-Vtec 2.0/2.4??? New cvt that’s another good stuff But again 2018 -2019??? Proton just too slow to competing with global market…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
    • seancorr (Member) on Oct 05, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Better late than never I’d say but Proton has to correct its image issue locally and overseas market sales will show if Proton has what it takes to survive else they will have to really close shop. I bet by 2019 other car makers have already introduce so much tech that will down Proton. Just take a look at autonomous and remote control parking or laser/OLED lights plus autonomous overtaking without the driver coming from Mercedes and BMW! Still wanna say Proton is on par or better than them? =]]]]]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
    • Esprit on Oct 05, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Whatever… Lotus still pick proven Toyota engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • camtakpro on Oct 06, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Have to wait until they ditch their current Xtronic, then only Proton can use. 2018-2019 is about time probably they change their CVT.

Well, if it works, I don’t mind. But please fix plastic quality and fittings. That smooth CVT will be negated by interior rattles, cheap paddles spring and squeaking seats.

• kereta_lembu on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Not being negative here but 2.0 turbo churning out 160hp and 250Nm or torque is quite pedestrian to be honest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:55 pm

It is but maybe they just don’t have the means to do it now and it might improve later. Other manufacturers are achieving 245-260bhp with the same displacement without sacrificing FC and I bet FC is Proton’s main issue here. No point having a powerful engine when it drinks fuel like a V8 engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • tokmoh. on Oct 05, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Volvo XC60 T5 : 245 hp / 350 Nm / 6.7L/100km
        Volvo XC60 T6 : 306 hp / 400 Nm / 7.3L/100km

That, on vehicles that weight over 1.8 Tonne.

Gambatte, Volvo of Asia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
        • Twincharged twinscrolled GDIed. Even p1 can do if using those setup. Nothing to shout about

• tokmoh. on Oct 05, 2015 at 8:16 pm

So where is it?

Even “IF” so, can they best the Volvo’s fc?

• Duh. This is the article about. Ady done with single charger. It’s not coz of limitation of CVT coz CVT can take until about 215Nm torque. It’s about how to max the output while minimise the cc

RnD cost much, I believe. This is what can be done, for now.

• camtakpro on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:13 am

Nothing to do with CVT. If 215Nm is the limit for CVT, Nissan Murano probably shit bricks.

Come on, Proton ‘says’ it is using Jatco. Not that useless Punch.

• I am not Proton but I will not Volvo on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:09 am

Seriously Volvo? I don’t think Volvo is any much better than Proton besides the names. Volvo is not doing well also…brrrrbrr

• Mark Tan on Oct 05, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Technology here is at least 10 years ago.
        Petronas has stop rnd on this engine for so many years.

that’s why decided sell to proton few years back.

• Raymond on Oct 05, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Hmm… Just a point to note is that CVT cannot withstand a high amount of torque & hp. That’s why race cars still using sequential or manual.

I think 160hp & 250Nm engine paired with a CVT is considered good enough. They must have put the reliability test as priority, rather than performance, in order to come out with those numbers.

Cheers ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • driver on Oct 05, 2015 at 3:42 pm

E01 N/A 204hp/203Nm
      rumoured turbo NE01 160hp/250Nm, take it with a pinch of salt.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Works only if the engine has a flat torque curve from 1800-6000rpm.

Otherwise, 160/250 is rather pitiful. Especially for a modern 2.0L Turbo DI engine.

• normal_user on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Thank you Paultan.org for confirming with Rashid and publishing the story. I hope the Proton management will not put blame on their staff and vendors for sharing a bit information on their future plans. Hopefully nexy year, they will keep on organizing such carnival and R&D tour to give a clearer picture of their real capabilities to the public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 05, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Im impress, actually how do you know ya? U seem quite knowledgeable bout those..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • fatiha on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:50 pm

it’s getting more and more interesting…can’t wait to see proton progression…its because I can afford to buy proton n perodua only

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 2
    • Esprit on Oct 05, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Better buy 1.3L, 1.5L engine and gearbox from Perodua’s new factory. Proven quality and fuel efficient. No need to feel malu-malu ego big pride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
      • Perodua is rubbish, dun buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Are you kidding? Okay, the engines are not bad, but the gearboxes are primitive 4-speed autos. If they were manufacturing Toyota-licensed Aisin 6-speed units or Aisin CVT units, that would have been a different story..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • vecko on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Why buy if this engine can do lesser cc (1.3l) at 1.9l/2.0l engine output?

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:53 pm

MaCam-Pro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Great news! that punch CVT is just awful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Went to alami proton yesterday, one of the staff also said the same things about E01 engine. They kindly working out to make this engine to be suitable for a daily car as this engine was designed for a heavy load work. Some sort like that, if not least, as I angguk2 je waktu technician tu cakap.. haha

• DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:59 pm

The EO1 engine was developed during the era of the Honda legendary B16/B18 VTEC engines. It would have been a thirsty engine that complies with Euro 2 emissions at the most.

Proton had to do quite a lot of work to adapt it for daily driving with a reasonable fuel economy and ensure that it can meet Euro 5 emission standards. That would mean that things as fundamental as the cam duration/phasing and fuel mapping will have to be thrown away and reworked.

• Sharon on Oct 05, 2015 at 2:16 pm

GDI with 1.3 and 1.5 capacity both naturally-aspirated and turbocharged and a 2.0 turbocharged.

So, in future no more 1.6 engine? Just wanted to know more about it. Thanks

• What they hinted was Petronas E01 will be its own class (maybe for 2.0 and up), while the successor to Campro is the GDI mill. This tech was previewed at their R&D center last weekend.

For JATCO, its sooner rather than later.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:49 pm

I was hoping that they’ll eventually settle for the ubiquitous Aisin 6-speed auto, but oh well, Jatco CVTs can’t go wrong as well..

• 160hp/250nm ? That is so early 2000s..current timeline, it should be 300hp/400 nm over !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Bob_B78 on Oct 05, 2015 at 3:11 pm

At the moment, proton chassis is unable withstand 300hp/400nm power. With such power, they need to improve the structure rigidity of their car. This will involve a lot of R&D and directly involves budget. They cant even break even their sales and how do you expect them to have budget for chassis development?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:40 pm

LOL don’t try and sound smart when you don’t know anything. Proton’s chassis can easily handle 400hp and upwards of 400Nm of torque. I know some “mad scientists” who have transplanted bored + stroked engine blocks with high-pressure turbocharging into Suprima and Satria Neo chassis.. these engines kick out a little over 300hp and close to 400Nm of torque.

The limitation is not the chassis, it’s the gearbox and the other supporting structures e.g. lower arm bushes, driveshafts, engine mounts, etc. Those parts flex and give a whole lot more with so much more torque. The usual gearboxes will be blown to bits with such amounts of torque..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Juiltern on Oct 05, 2015 at 3:25 pm

What is torque converter-type CVT? I Thought the CVT and torque converter transmission are 2 different type of transmissions.

Never heard about torque converter-type CVT. Can anybody explain?

• DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:44 pm

A torque converter sits between the engine flywheel and the input shaft of the transmission. Think of it as an alternative to a clutch. A torque converter is not a gearbox technology. Auto gearboxes are planetary gear drivetrains with torque converter couplings. CVTs can have a torque converter connecting it to the engine flywheel but use a CVT mechanism rather than planetary gears to determine the gear ratio.

Current Punch CVT uses dual multi-plate clutch arrays as the coupling between the flywheel and the input shaft. It’s the clutch program that determines how smoothly it shifts, how well it simulates creep, how well it does half-clutching, etc. This makes it mechanically lighter and simpler than torque converter CVTs, but more difficult to have a clutch program that makes it operate well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • The Stig on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:06 pm

I admire your copy paste skills

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
        • DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:53 pm

If you can’t write well, don’t fault others for being articulate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • sepul on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Well described. I suppose we don’t like gearboxes with computer controlled clutches, or maybe any gearbox with clutch inside, hence 99% buys automatic car.

• According to Sam Loo, Malaysians dun like technology. They like dinosar 4AT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • 2018? 2019?
    are they joking? now they sound like beloved government…recycling same old news at new events

postpone, delay everything till everyone forget

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Beloved govt? Which govt – the Penang state govt or the Selangor state govt? These two state govts love spreading the same lies at different ceramahs, so perhaps you meant both of them..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
  • in my opinion, for the time being proton should focus on the reliability and quality of their cars.they can continue outsourcing their engines from honda or mitsubishi etc.
    once they managed to get buyer’s trust on the reliability and quality they can proceed with developing their own engine and powertrain..
    i dont mind a quality and reliable proton with honda or mitsu or volvo engine as long as it is reliable, efficient and cheap to maintain.

• Man, come on, any modern cars nowadays have their own reliability and quality issues… Your thought only applicable on Proton models in the past but not current generation model and I eligible to say both Preve(own it) and Honda City(wife car) have same services bill.

• shawal on Oct 05, 2015 at 3:48 pm

The management of proton probably mistook belgium’s flag for germany’s ,
    that is why we ended up with a lousy european CVT….
    i wondered what happen to our look east policy…
    again these bargain basement chasers look for the cheapest alternatives , finally they’ve come to their senses….the current cvt is just horrible to use….

try driving the preve out into a T-junction on a slope…. turbo lag and without hill start assist , switch it into S , stomp the throttle and pray that no cars come from either direction…..

proton knows that those power / torque numbers are well behind competitors, hopefully it’ll be sorted out near production time….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Aku hairan knp komen ko diaorg dislike… nampak sangat diaorg membuta tuli sokong proton, sedangkn yg ko komen tu mmg fakta… preve mmg tak ada power…

• nighttrain on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Could a turbocharged 2 liter be tuned to 300hp like Mitsubishi Evo and be fuel efficient and powerful at the same time? Or Proton does not have the tech?

• You are asking, can a top sprint runner (aka Bolt) has the same performance of a top marathon runner?

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:53 pm

Yes. the VW Golf R & the sedan counterpart Audi S3 Sedan can do 0-100 kmh in 4.5 seconds (DCT), 6.9l/100km & 159g/km co2.
      fast, powerful & efficient. (no diesel required)
      P1 needs to learn more.

• samtowtruck on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:39 pm

VW Audi owners ady got free towing service?

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 06, 2015 at 3:12 pm

they don’t need service. they need to kick your butt.
          came outta nowhere, mesti your tow truck serivce isn’t doing well

• doesn’t need free towing services because my polo was too good to cruise on highway with nice handling and awesome acceleration

• Aero (Member) on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:43 pm

I spoke with a few Proton engineers, and they collectively told me that Proton is making at least five or so different engines, some of which are mentioned above in the article, but one of which is, curiously, a 1.0 Turbo GDI or TGDI.

An engineer also told me that for the upcoming Iriz Sedan/ Persona replacement/ P2-31A, the basic setup of the CVT is already complete and there was even a protoype at the Advance Tour section with the P2-31A’s configuration. The gearbox is carried over from the Iriz, that is the CVT2+, but it has been modified and refined further. He stressed that Proton were well aware of the Iriz’s CVT woes, and he assured me that the P2-31A’s CVT is a significant improvement over the Iriz’s. Seeing how Proton has improved the same Punch CVT from the Saga FLX all the way to the Iriz, I certainly have no doubts about their claims. If the tuned CVT2+ can at least come very close to the smoother torque converting CVTs, that would be an admirable achievement in itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Let’s not forget, Proton has also tweaked the Iriz platform (and probably the new Persona platform) to use only 3 powertrain mountings instead of four, for improved NVH and reduced transmission of vibration to the chassis.

With an improved CVT clutch adaptation program, the new Persona and updated Iriz (and by extension, the Saga facelift) should have better driving characteristics all around

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • I heard the same thing. They completed a 1.3 NA + Turbo and 1.5 NA + Turbo and yes there is also a 1.0 engine. The petronas engine should be used on the new perdana in the future (as Honda only would supply the engine for a year maybe) but it seems they are having difficulty (more time needed) on tweeking/updating the old engine into the Honda platform. Mind you when they bought the engine they came with the whole petronas engine department. New persona indeed using Iriz platform but the new saga will still based on old platform.

• 1JutaAxiaSedan on Oct 05, 2015 at 8:54 pm

I also heard that Proton so worried with the upcoming Perodua Sedan will kill off its 3 sedans (new Saga, Persona, Perdana) in one go, hence they rushed it for launching hoping for early bird catches the worm.

Such a paranoid Proton. They knew rakyat can’t wait to buy Perodua Sedan in huge numbers and finally bury Proton for good. A sweet victory and justice for rakyat indeed!

#1JutaAxiaSedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
      • kzm (Member) on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Very unlucky of u, dont u know that p1 oso is part of p2 vendor to supply part for up coming axia sedan through PHN Industry.. it mean that new saga, persona, perdana n axia sedan parts come from same plant. Even some axia parts come from PHN.

• yippi33 on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Owhh boyyyy..

http://www.autonews.com/article/20131202/OEM10/312029972/nissan-presses-jatco-to-end-cvt-glitches

Proton…No CVT please!

• Ong Chee Boon on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Good news Proton. Just make sure you have the following:
    1) Smooth power delivery at all rpm range
    2) Keep the lotus handling
    3) Good (no need great) fuel consumption
    4) keep the 5 star ANCAP rating
    5) has a silent but responsive transmission (just conventional auto will do, but by all means include Manual)

To do that you must:
    1) Improve your aftersale services (please learn from VW’s mistakes)
    2) make sure QC and QA of your car parts is good and reliable
    3) SACK the current top management except Tun M
    4) Being honest about what problems the car might have and do a recall to rectify the problem properly (again please refer to VW fiasco)
    5) Listen to customers’ feedback and improve on the next generation of your car models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • FuhouyAn on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:48 am

Yes, indeed inb4 vw after sales is terrible but current is getting better. I can say, although it’s not the best sc but satisfied. At least, it’s worth paying. Btw, I going to vw sc balakong.

• Geli siot on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Another nasi lemak technology.. Geli siot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • Angah on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:07 pm

This news provide insight to a number of things:

1) everything is just ‘work in progress’ and nothing concrete yet.

2) current models and new cars (at least until 2018/19) will still equipped with campro and cvt system, which planned to be replaced with eo1 engine and new cvt system.

3) we Customers are expected to wait until proton come up this improvement.
    Then we arr expected to support and buy them.

Sigh… When they will learn that customer is the boss and should not be asked to wait and wait and wait and wait. Proton should buck up and improve themselves.

Personally, i will ignore this.

Bye proton, u can yada yada yada,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Diesel on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:13 pm

2.0 turbocharged GDi, 160hp?? Torque is ok, but why so low hp? Is the turbocharged air leaking somewhere on high rpm? That could be fuel efficient, but too low hp. If they raise their 1.5 turbocharged GDi to 150hp & 2.0 turbocharged to minimum 180hp, that is acceptable. Most 2.0 N/A produces that much already.

• kimseng on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:14 pm

Proton better make sure no more using timing belt based engine. The trend now for car manufacturers is timing chain. Wake up.
    For transmission Proton got it right. Jatco cvt with torque converter.Engine should be if possible with vvt. Paddle shifters for higher spec model.

• MentalKar on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Pembuat kreta mcm Proton tentunya tak dapat penuhi semua kehendak pengguna mcm kita manusia, ada yang suka Nasi Lemak, ada yang suka Kuey Teow, ada yang suka Tandoori Masala, ada yang suka Spagheti, ada yang suka rojak. SO Tanya perut suka hati nak makan apa.

• Badri Hamzah on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:31 pm

All my life I have used more Proton and Perodua cars than imported ones. I have had Saga orient, Wira, Waja and now Saga Flx/SV.I am also having Perodua Kancil and Alza Advance version.I am well satisfied with Proton cars. To me all Proton marques bear reliability and practicality on the road. I am proud with Malaysian made cars as they never give me any breakdowns on my frequent journeys ( from Tg.Malim to Kangar and to Kemaman) .I dont understand why others have a lot of complaints.To me, you cant simply compare locally made cars with imported ones. You have to ask yourself what cars really suit with your requirements and affordability. To me as long as it is road worthy,affordable, reliable, economic, nice looking, quite comfortable and safe for driving then it deserves to be called a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Syed Hamidi on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:11 am

WTF 5 years to produce a new range of engines when P1 bought the engine rights in 2012 and this Petronas project was initiated in 1996 ?
    Remember Proton Emas ??
    Hangat2x tahi ayam with nothing to show
    for at the end of the day.
    Stop fantasising & face reality.!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Proton Emas design bought by VW ady.

• jon joreto on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:17 pm

VW doesn’t need design from Proton because it’s already won for design since it existed. hahaha

• Alibaba on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:24 am

Why proton don’t inherit lotus technology of lightweight. More lightness, more faster, less fuel. Power to weight ratio ,why so hard??

• GDI + EGR = serious carbon buildup at intake manifold.

• ThePreeev on Nov 19, 2015 at 8:54 am

Just can’t wait for the 1.6 turbo iriz, will smoke em all

• TakSabar2mamatNih on Mar 13, 2016 at 4:11 am

Paul Tan…can u ask DRB to make press conference about NE01 like they did on gdi tgdi engine… I know they will listen to you…hahahhaha