Proton Iriz Active MkII concept shown at Alami Proton

Proton_Iriz_Active_MKII_concept_ 001

As promised, the Proton Iriz Active MkII concept was shown at the Alami Proton open day event last weekend. An evolution of the pseudo-crossover show car on display last year, it features a few updates designed to keep it looking fresh.

It’s pretty much the same car as before, all rugged-looking with a 30 mm taller ride height, black plastic body cladding, silver roof rails and skid plates, vents behind the front wheels and prominent tow hooks at the rear. And of course, who can forget the cool-looking LG NEXLIDE electroluminescent light strip technology at the front and rear?

The matte grey/gloss orange paint scheme is embellished with Proton’s 30th anniversary logos on the C-pillars. The “new” alloy wheels mentioned earlier were a bit of a misnomer – they’re a refinished version of the same 17-inch turbine design rollers as on last year’s car.

Proton_Iriz_Active_MKII_concept_ 016

Also new is the roof rack, but it’s only shown on the 3D renders, not fitted to the actual car. Mounted to the original rails, it features a Y-shaped crossbar running the length of the rack, as well as three driving lights at the front.

Unlike last year, the updated concept was locked behind a glass wall, so there was no way to peer inside to see any changes – although judging by how close this car is to the previous version on the outside, we doubt there are any revisions made to the interior.

Proton_Iriz_Active_MKII_concept_ 013

To recap, last year’s Iriz Active featured orange-and-black leather upholstery, a 13.3-inch portrait touchscreen for the infotainment system, a 12.3 inch HD digital instrument cluster, a live rear-view monitor (replacing the old-fashioned mirror), a wireless smartphone charger and an integrated air purifier. Safety-wise, it added an LG active drive assistance system (ADAS) with autonomous emergency braking.

Last we heard, the Iriz Active concept is said to be production feasible, and should it get made, will form part of an Active line of vehicles. Certainly, with the repeat showing at Alami Proton, it looks like its chances of it actually making it to the showroom floor are getting higher by the minute. So, what do you think about the updated concept?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Close Protong once and foreall on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 170
    • Same L0rrrr on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:01 am

Ok, it is tested on Mars so you will be fine… on Mars. Ah Beng and John here will tell you if NASA get the Iriz earlier, Matt Damon no need stay there for so long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:52 am

Proton designers had gave all out to design an extremely futuristic design same level with all new Honda Civic 2016.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
        • Nasi Lemak on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Same level with Honda Civic? It’s more like Nasi Lemak designers gave syok sendiri design. Eat more Nasi Lemak before you try Sushi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • Tak apa lah, Nasi Lemak products for Nasi Lemak people

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 06, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Proton doesn’t need futuristic design, it need quality assurance. Wake up!

• I did bough proton car, and many of my friend also did the same…
      You are talking out of your opinion, not all of us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Lolerd on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:17 am

Lol unfortunately they are more and more iriz on road. You are dreaming a lot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
    • Albert on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:29 am

Proton is selling 1200 Iriz a month.In fact,to break even they need to sell at least 5,000 units a month for 5 years min.
      Perodua is selling the reincarnated Myvi 3x monthly more than iriz.
      Proton is in BIG BIG trouble…the development cost of Preve,Suprima,Iriz will take another 15 years to recover/break even.
      Those 95 people clicking against your comments ,live in Mars.They cannot face reality.Anything not pleasing to them,they click DISLIKE.
      Makes no difference,DRB will call it a day soon when they chop off all the staff except Tun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 41
      • Proton is more Tranparan and we should support it. I hope Proton and Perodua can both give an extra 8% bumi discount to selected buyers. I don’t see why we should limit the discounts to houses alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:54 am

Where you get those figures Albert? Show us the proof. I saw more Iriz on the road than Myvi facelift. Is that the reason why you scare off? Your sales dropping down with increasing sales of Iriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
          • Albert on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:07 pm

my figures fresh from the oven…my insider friend at Shah Alam.He is busy applying for other jobs now..takut..he got many mouths to feed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • Game changer konon on Oct 07, 2015 at 8:16 am

Aero did compile and commented the sales figures at other topic (Perodua 1.0 Axia G – price raised by RM990 from Oct 1, 5 October 2015):

“January – August 2015 national badged sales figures;
            1. Perodua Axia : 67,047 units
            2. Perodua Myvi : 35,561 units
            3. Proton Saga : 35,391 units
            4. Perodua Alza : 33,734 units
            5. Proton Iriz : 10,806 units
            6. Proton Persona : 8,326 units
            7. Proton Exora : 5,853 units
            8. Proton Prevé : 5,497 units
            9. Proton Suprima S : 657 units
            10. Proton Satria Neo : 448 units”

Aero also commented about previous month sales figures in topic (Malaysia vehicle sales data for July 2015 by brand, 24 August 2015):

“MAA won’t release official models data, but we can still obtain very accurate figures from third parties who have researched the registration data for new cars. Here’s some of the best-selling cars in Malaysia for H1 2015 (January to June, 6 month total).

1. Perodua Axia : 49,851 units
            2. Perodua Myvi : 26,611 units
            3. Perodua Alza : 25,386 units
            4. Proton Saga : 25,191 units

(note that the Myvi, Alza and Saga are mere hundreds apart, while the Axia is far, FAR ahead of all else)

5. Honda City : 20,775 units
            6. Toyota Vios : 17,501 units
            7. Nissan Almera : 13,315 units

(note that not only has Honda claimed the title of best-selling non-national make, they’ve also claimed the title of best-selling non-national MODEL with the City.)

8. Toyota HiLux : 9,533 units
            9. Proton Iriz : 7,614 units
            10. Honda Jazz : 6,476 units

Some notable mentions include;

Honda HR-V : 5,154 units
            Honda Accord : 4,219 units
            Toyota Camry : 2,563 units
            Toyota Corolla : 4,908 units
            Nissan Teana : 1,034 units
            Nissan Sylphy : 659 units
            Mazda6 : 544 units
            Mazda3 : 1,310 units
            Mazda2 : 37 units
            Mazda CX-5 : 3,158 units
            Proton Persona : 6,059 units
            Proton Exora : 4,282 units
            Proton Prevé : 3,919 units
            Proton Suprima S : 352 units
            VW Polo : 1,154 units
            Renault Fluence : 152 units
            Ford Fiesta : 895 units
            Ford EcoSport : 437 units
            Peugeot 208 : 946 units
            Hyundai Elantra : 1,496 units
            Hyundai Sonata : 348 units
            Kia Cerato : 1,574 units
            Kia Optima : 200 units
            Mitsubishi Attrage : 1,093 units
            Mitsubishi Mirage : 269 units
            Subaru XV : 1,347 units
            Suzuki Swift : 1,645 units
            Chery Eastar/ Maxime : 95 units
            Great Wall M4 : 186 units
            Mercedes-Benz A-Klasse : 759 units
            Mercedes-Benz C-Klasse : 1,032 units
            Mercedes-Benz E-Klasse : 1,393 units
            Mercedes-Benz S-Klasse : 321 units
            BMW 1er : 215 units
            BMW 3er : 1,506 units
            BMW 5er : 1,059 units
            BMW 7er : 53 units
            Audi A3 : 185 units
            Audi A4 : 179 units
            Audi A6 : 122 units
            Audi A8 : 5 units
            Audi (total) : 702 units
            Porsche Macan : 177 units
            Jaguar XJ : 33 units
            Volvo V40 : 170 units
            Volvo XC60 : 27 units
            Mini (total) : 404 units

And just for kicks…

McLaren MP4-12C : 2 units
            Porsche 911 : 11 units
            Ferrari 458 : 12 units
            LaFerrari : 4 units
            Lamborghini Huracan : 6 units

Source : proliance.co.th through www.marklines.com

• DonkeyKong on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:29 am

Another communist pulling BS figures from his behind.. cukuplah, Red Bean Army.. It’s idiots like you that’s making the ringgit depreciate thanks to your hatred of taxes and your preference for capital outflow from imports.. thanks to your ignorance of economic concepts, communists like you will weaken the economy of any country you settle in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
  • hailthepurist on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:34 pm

this’s perfect for Mars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Richard Jonathan Lim on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:35 pm

Nice,bring it to production to become like a sort of small crossover to compete with the likes of the Fiat Panda 4X4 in the export market and the Suzuki S-Cross in the local market.My price guessing will be around RM 80,000 when it comes.At that price,I would expect it to have the 1.3 turbo engine that was showcased earlier as a prototype in the Iriz and the Exora earlier today.As for my thoughts for the whole Alami Proton event,well I think that the Perdana looks beautiful through the preview and teasers.Defenietly looks better than the prototype in Film Kapsul that had a smaller bumper and less champhered design.

As for the Proton Pick-Up Concept,I guess the front looks aggressive but I am dissapointed with the fact that the side and the rear does not suit the front.The chassis can be improved though and Proton shall put a Diesel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
  • Where is EEV and hybrid Proton??? on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Concept after concept. But hybrid and EEV as promised by Madani from MAI and Proton CEO himself still not out.

Proton has no focus. Start on something then give up halfway.

Proton cEO, mana EEV and Hybrid? Sudah 8 tahun tunggu. Clever to waste time on concepts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 33
    • Build a car then? if you can. Cakap senang, tapi masa buat sudah give up. Even supercar company start from scratch sudah tutup kedai when receiving bad press about quality control. Proton come a long way, and they start without the know-how of Automotive industry. From Japanese source to today indigenous model which is what Perodua failed to produce their own car.
      Concept is to showcase company capability to produce extravagant product that not going to arrive to showroom anytime soon.
      Hybrid and EV in Automotive market is still new in comparison and EV’s have hideous low range and even in high range, you still gonna run out of battery and in Malaysia charging station is scarce. Even Nissan Leaf is still expensive what more to say Proton. Explain to me how many years will Mercedes, Google, Tesla and other tech company get to R&D in Autonomous driving, and its not easy to market where people still prefer human-driving-ish rather than electronically driven by computer and GPS. Remember, it take years or so to research, some failed some succeed, mainstream electric car have faulty and range problem so still far away to acceptable to the market.
      Proton is not like these high profit budget company, they need sources to fund their R&D and also it take years.
      Before cakap buat kerja rumah dulu, and don’t always listen people rubbished about product you blindly know about it. Itulah namanya baca buku, Internet bundle of them so dont play COC often.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • tido la bang on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:32 am

Abang yang suka tido, Proton can get free patents and designs free from Tesla. No cost at all. They just have to build.

And Proton gets free money from Government to do research. Are you blind?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
        • DonkeyKong on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:33 am

Another ignorant idiot who engages mouth before brain. I take it you’re not an engineer? What makes you think access to patents = the ability to duplicate the entire thing overnight? No wonder Malaysia is sliding backwards more and more.. the ignorance of science and engineering is appalling, made worse with only 21% of secondary school students choosing science stream. RIP Malaysia, a failed state because of the lousy and low-IQ human capital..

• Toyota,honda and vw are using the free patent from tesla already…..proton is slow to the game

• You think you can build a car just like that? No cost or anything? I wish U gudluck…

• Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 4:07 pm

I see nowadays Proton supporters are dare to give some positive comments in Paultan. Readers may differentiate which one is informative comment by supporters or baseless comment from moron. Keep up the good work lads! Together we unite against Kiasu bashers!

• Kid, there is no such thing as free lunch, you want to piss also got to pay.

• Veneno on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:43 pm

no need to update the concept, just produce this beauty..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • Just put it into production and prove the critics that Proton’s concept will never make it into production stage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • pengguna proton kecewa on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Elokla utk org felda.jln estate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Ayoyo on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:26 pm

By adding a few pieces of weird looking plastics on the body wont make it a ” concept car”! What concept is this? Nothing is special in this car. What is so special about the live rear view monitor? what is so special to have a “HD” touch screen digital cluster? ” Integrated air purifier?? are all this thing considered as “concept car”?
    The ADAS system is also nothing special….just borrow from other company…Please lah get some guys to give you some good ideas before you launch any model!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:35 am

Talk big but I bet you’re just working in a dead-end job, taking orders from others. You can’t even sort out your own life and your own career, but want to talk big about car manufacturing as if it’s playing with Lego

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • MentalKar on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:54 pm

PROTONG atau apa pun nama yang org bijak pandai bagi itu nama pada minda mereka yang penuh khayalan. Yang betulnya hanyalah PROTON, elok apa pun konsep dari PROTON sebaiknya buat kajian pasaran tempatan dari sasaran utamanya. Agar tidak dikomen syok sendiri yer.

• Alson P on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:23 pm

This is great.. I want it.. Hopefully price around 70k

• Pleiades on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:43 pm

Looks good to me; but most concept cars look good (or at least, interesting). Putting them into production is difficult. Actually *selling* them is even *more* difficult, but I sincerely hope they try. At least it’ll give some sort of halo effect for the company as a whole (as long as its executed correctly of course). ATM Proton has zero presence here in the UK and the days of 1% marketshare are just memories… so much promise wasted :-(

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Proton just make this for sale la…always show concept car but not able to produce for sales. Shiok sendiri only. I remember they show the Lotus cross like years ago but still not on the road.

• choppee on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:28 pm

mcm kereta ultraman.. beraneka warna, hehe

• Tun h on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:19 am

Right now i saw lot of iriz car on the road,if this concept proton want to produce it,i think it will revs up the sales of proton car with compatetive price

• Just put it into production, put a turbo diesel in and export it to europe.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:37 am

Drop the fancy paint job etc. and sell it, as long as the unpainted plastic cladding (not so scared about getting scratches!) and increased ride height (Malaysia proof suspension…) remain. Like as a few k option over the regular Iriz variants.

• kadajawee on Oct 07, 2015 at 8:05 am

Nope. A smart German will always choose at least a Skoda car.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:11 am

Crossovers always offer more space because it’s a more practical version of its hatchback version but this is just another Iriz on sticks. Proton should have followed how Mercedes spawn the GLA from the A or how VW spawn the Golf Sportsvan/SV (not sold here) which effectively increases interior space to match its practical and active lifestyle theme.

• earthling on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:45 am

Made by Bumis but for Martians

• common sensor on Oct 06, 2015 at 7:47 am

You won’t make money through showing concept; commercialize and mass produce it. How many of your previous shown concepts really made it to the market??

• superman on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:01 am

another MADE IN KOREA by LG mock up that god knows how much DRB paid for. these are all to fool people that they are doing magic at proton. DRB management. people are not as stupid as you think. they know the truth about your business. stop deception and sell proton to a good company to run it properly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Ootai on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Horrible look. Another Juara Total Recall deco. Scrap this!!

• Rain Hampden on Oct 11, 2015 at 12:26 am

Far too many Proton haters who believe their opinion matter in the virtual plane and real world. You probably don’t own a nice car or perhaps are driving baby- killers called Myvis and Vivas with penghulus driving 2nd hand Honda City(s) and Toyota Vios @ Dugongs. Wake up, sip your morning coffee and note there are more Iriz(s) on the Malaysian roads. And Preve(s) plus Exora(s) plus Suprima(s) … Jangan sebut benci tapi suka tapi dah tak ada modal nak terus serang Proton.