Farewell to Mitsubishi Evo X with 303 hp Final Edition

2015 Lancer Evolution Final Edition

With bated breath, the US market will finally be getting their chance to say hello, and goodbye to the new Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Final Edition. Mitsubishi Motors North America (MMNA) has had the privilege of of announcing the final details of its final Evo, and with that, a final price tag of USD $37,995 (RM166,114) to go with it.

There’s no cushioning the blow despite early warnings by Mitsubishi of the times through a special Lancer Evolution X Final Concept that was unveiled nearly a year ago, and then more recently, through a gentle reminder of the fact via an emotional video of the Final Edition’s production.

Earlier this year, Japan was first to receive 1,000 units of the Evo X Final Edition. And despite the immense drooling over the 473 hp promised by the concept model that was shown at the Tokyo Auto Salon, the Japanese-spec Final Edition retained the existing Evo X’s 296 hp power output, despite adding on the special kit that defined the Final Edition there.

Now, it’s North America’s turn to bid their farewell, and they get to do so with a total of 1,600 numbered examples to call their own: all left-hand drive, all limited for sale in the US alone. And while these limited units also benefit from the special Final Edition equipment, the US-spec cars do get an increase in power – it sure doesn’t get close to the ludicrous 473 hp dished out by the original Final Concept, but it’s still something. Let’s go over the changes.

While it’s no secret that the Final Edition is based on the current Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X GSR variant, Mitsubishi has taken things up a notch, in every respect. For starters, the power output from the 4B11T 2.0 litre MIVEC turbo four has been upped from the standard Evo X GSR’s 291 hp to 303 hp at 6,500 rpm, while max torque figures for the Final Edition are rated here to be 413 Nm at 4,000 rpm. It will also be paired with a short-throw five-speed manual transmission.

And just like the Japan-spec model before, the Final Edition for the US also gets several key exterior enhancements that include a “Final Edition” badge for the rear, a black-painted aluminium roof, and dark-chrome front grille surrounds. There’s also just four colour options for the US, being a new Pearl White, Rally Red, Mercury Grey and Octane Blue.

Inside, the Final Edition’s interior features a black headliner, pillars, sun visors and assist handles, while there is also an abundance of red accent stitching on the sports seats, steering wheel, shift knob, console lid, floor mats, and on the e-brake handle.

The Final Edition isn’t short of track performance-boosting equipment either, offering ardent drivers with the services of the brand’s Super All-Wheel Control (S-AWC) all-wheel drive system bred of its experience in the World Rally Championship. Drivers are said to be able to find optimum grip in all conditions, being able to choose from the three selectable traction mode settings: Tarmac, Gravel and Snow.

Like the regular car, the Evo X Final Edition is also equipped with Active Yaw Control, an Active Centre Differential system, Active Stability Control and more.

There’s also other mechanical enhancements in the form of having lightweight Brembo two-piece brakes up front with Bilstein shock absorbers and Eibach springs at all four corners of the car.

Don Swearingen, MMNA executive vice president said: “With its combination of power, agility and Super All-Wheel Control, the Lancer Evolution is one of the most well-known sports sedans, revered by ‘gearheads’ around the globe. The Final Edition model pays homage to the Evo’s remarkable place in automotive history and takes it one step further as the most powerful mass-production Lancer Evolution ever built.”

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• taboogen on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:11 am

it doesnt have bucket seat

• hailthepurist on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:56 am

I thank God u are Dead..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Poor people dream car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Germaine on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Even if I’m a millionare, I rather have a Evo X and modify it from the ground up than owning a Ferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • 4G63T DSM on Oct 06, 2015 at 6:13 pm

Ah… But if you are a Billionair, you can have an EVO X and mod it, along with a Ferrari and Private jet.

• Icons around the world are getting killed by economics and fuel efficiency :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • I should have bought this icon being only RM166k. Wow, so cheap. And yet, Malaysians complain about high car prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • “And yet, Malaysians complain about high car prices”
        USD $37,995 (RM166,114) I believe this price was in US not here Malaysia.

• RM166k is not the selling price here… (before import duty / gst / etc)

• DonkeyKong on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Our Inspira is better than this toilet. I think Mitsubishi copied our Inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • Wah! RBA john so rich! Dun worry, your PR trooper pay is in Sing dollars so the higher it goes the better for you. You better get it now since its no more.

• Germaine on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Alot of cars that were huge Japanese icons back then are gone.
      Mazda RX7 and RX8-Gone
      Honda Integra-Gone
      Toyota Supra-Gone
      Toyota Celica-Gone
      Honda S2000-Gone
      Nissan Silvia-Gone
      Now the Mitsubishi Evo is going…

The only Japanese icons left now is the Mazda MX-5, Toyota GT86/Subaru BRZ, Nissan GTR and the Subaru STi.

Most cars on the road today are lifeless and just plain boring…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • fed up fella on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:22 am

It’s either this car comes to Malaysia a few years later or it doesn’t come at all

• Lane Tamer on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:25 am

Who need this when you can get a Proton Inspira and turn it into whatever Evo X you wanted to…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • Sukasuki on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:06 am

Inspirah owner@club can start dreaminggg..

• You are way from your mind? XD To convert inspira into this evolution, you think you just convert like toy? It is not even like wira to lancer evolution 3. The rear axle, YAW controller all those, you imported from Japan & cost you near rm60k at minimum for used parts! The body kits, the wheels, braking systems. The engine on this 4B11T has reinforced parts compare to original 4B11. It has lower compression ratio for turbocharged too. Come on. Awake. For me, you kind of trying to convert a bicycle into a bike. Racer & not ricer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • DonkeyKong on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Evo X half-cut with twin-clutch SST and AWD = less than RM30k.

• Although it is rm20k, it is used & maybe involved in accident before. Yet the lifespan is not long as new. It has no warranty either. To take chicken & send for make up to be a duck, it is still chicken.

• Captain Slow on Oct 06, 2015 at 4:20 pm

You need to believe our local mechanics capability.

• a full cut evo X will cost you 45k. A couple of changes needs to be done and the rest is pnp. It is like Wira to lancer Evo 3 because Ralliart is using the same chassis as inspira. It is more feasible to convert inspira to Ralliart and boost it to Evo x spec.

• FIST (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:32 am

demmit, less than RM170k

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:07 am

So this marks an end to the legendary car that sticks on the road no matter how hard you push it…sad times indeed.

• Captain Slow on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:29 am

Don’t worry guys. Later Mitsubishi will come out with Advanced, SE, LE & Premium X Edition.

• Wan Junaidi on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:04 am

Proton should have just put the 18 billion
    to good use by buying over this company.
    Afterall it had a very long relationship &
    most importantly the branding was good.
    Offer them an equty stake & your R&D woes would be solved.
    Much better than forming JV’s
    with Honda & Suzuki.

• In some ways, that actually makes sense.
      Rather than buying Lotus which focuses more on a niche market, Mitsubishi has a wider scope of the automotive industry, ranging all the way from day-to-day cars to rally champions. And of course, this legendary masterpiece. It is sad to see it go.

• It is indeed very sad. These kinds of cars are fast disappearing.

• Just curious. With than amount of power I taught they will throw in 6 speed GB perhaps with overdrive. this will help to be more economical to run.

But they give 5 speed close ratio GB. Anyone can explain the + side of the GB compared to 6 speeder? (other than its cheaper)

• DonkeyKong on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:20 pm

If the powerband is wide enough, why would they need a 6-speed gearbox? Does having more ratios necessarily mean it’s better or faster?

If it can pull in 2nd gear from 2000rpm until 8000rpm effortlessly without you shifting to third and then to fourth, why would you need so many ratios?

This is quite likely a five-speed gearbox that doesn’t have close ratios, which will also make it a pretty docile everyday vehicle if you don’t need to floor the throttle

• blackbox on Oct 06, 2015 at 6:35 pm

If you been driving at Sepang F1 circuit you will know you hardly need to drive till 6th gear before you reach the next turn.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:59 pm

…and why the f@$* they can’t put a 6-speed manual trany?

• KangKelawi on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Mitsubishi Motors North America (MMNA) has had the privilege of of announcing the final details of its final Evo
    Typo sir, you’re using ‘of’ twice

• ben yap on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:18 pm

PDRM buying or not?

• anan rao on Jan 08, 2020 at 4:09 pm

evo 10 final edition how much ringgit mslaysia