Ford Ranger – RM4k price increase for pre-facelift

ranger-3.2-main

The focus may be on the Ford Ranger T6 facelift, which makes its Malaysian debut later this week, but here’s an update on the outgoing one – prices of the original T6, which will continue to be on sale until stocks are exhausted, will be increased as of tomorrow.

We came across a bulletin announcing the price increase, and have since confirmed it with the folks at SDAC – prices of the old Ranger are set to go up by RM4,000, across the board. Never good news to hear of an increase, but the company says the higher pricing is unavoidable, the hike being put down to the effect of the Ringgit’s performance against the US Dollar. This isn’t the last you’ll hear about it on that front, as carmakers begin increasing prices as a result of the forex.

Post-GST, pricing for the 2.2 litre line-up ranged from RM76,453 for the 2.2L XL 4×2 Lo-Rider manual and the single cab 2.2L XL 4×4 Hi-Rider manual up to RM101,415 for the 2.2L XLT 4×4 automatic.

Currently, the 3.2 litre model line-up consists of three variants, the 3.2L XLT manual (RM103,411), the 3.2L XLT auto (RM110,504) and the range-topping 3.2L Wildtrak 4×4 auto, which goes for RM122,985.

The Ranger T6 made its local debut in June 2012, and three 4×4 versions were available at point of launch, these being a 2.2L XLT in manual and automatic forms as well as a 3.2L XLT Wildtrak.

In 2013, new variants arrived – there was the 2.2 XL manual, which featured a slightly detuned Puma ZSD-422 2.2 litre commonrail direct injection oil burner, as well as two entry-level workhorses, the XL Lo-Rider and Single Cab variants. A regular XLT derivative was also introduced for the 3.2L model.

ford ranger se 1

The final pre-facelift variant came about in August this year, when the Ford Ranger Special Edition, a limited run of 100 kitted-up units based on the 2.2 XLT Automatic 4×4 Hi-Rider, was announced.

The T6 was last updated for the Malaysian market in May 2014, where all variants were standardised in terms of safety kit, equipped with electronic stability control (ESP), five (as opposed to four) three-point seatbelts, plus a centre headrest and two ISOFIX anchors for the rear bench seats.

It remains to be seen how much the facelift will go for. We already know that pricing for the new truck is set to be higher than the current one – back in August, it was reported that prices were due to be around 3% higher than presently, but now that the old one has also had a price hike, it may turn out to be quite a leap for the facelift. We’ll have the entire lowdown on the T6 facelift when the time comes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Fair driver on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:29 am

This look so old already, new pick up truck all have DRL build in inside the head lamp, the first one is Triton now the Navara next will be Hilux, without the DRL it really look like a blind man at the day time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:11 am

Orang Malaysia sudah bayar harga kereta termahal di dunia sampaikan kami bayar 3x harga dunia.

Semua brand kereta di Malaysia milik kerajaan. All Government owned. For example, UMW is owned by PNB, EPF and Khazanah alone about 65%.

Sekarang, Kerajaan nak naik harga lagi. LHDN/KDRM sudah pungut RM50 billion dalam tempoh 3 bulan dari GST sahaja. Tidak termasuk income tax lain, corporate tax, Bank Peribadi Petronas dan lain lain.

Sedarlah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Ford 3 moths Wait on Oct 07, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Already Ford owners have to wait 3 months for parts and have the worst service experience. Now, they increase prices again?

they lie a lot at service centre. Say service your car, go home and check your oil, still dirty black oil despite car only 1 year old.

I go back and ask why? They tell me lupa nak isi minyak.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 12:08 pm

BMW 3 series is only US$30k
        BMW 528i US$40k
        BMW X5 US$50k

BMW 528i BMW Malaysia sell here for RM430k despite CKD Made in Malaysia.
        X5 is US$50k but BMW Malaysia sell here for RM590k.

That alone shows how greedy Sime Darby is. Don’t forget, when you CKD a car should be cheaper here in MAlaysia. And tax and excise duties max out at 130% for CBU

• Areyousure on Oct 07, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Why are you dreaming also want to talk bad about BMW? This is a Ford Ranger post, get up and wake up whiner. Even your girl friend now attach to BMW onwner, you can go for another girl, get over it.

• stock clearance mode still want to price hike?

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:39 am

Sime Darby is fully owned by Government. So, the Government wants to increase car prices despite Malaysia having the highest car price in the world.

Each car, their profit margin at least 200%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • iampro on Oct 07, 2015 at 7:49 pm

WTF 200% what a donkey. some more still got DONKIES thumbs up your dumb comment.

whatever shoots government = thumbs up dumb ass rakyat

• iampro tu macai bodek on Oct 25, 2015 at 1:18 am

iampro…Dey !
          Pordah !! Pi hanyut dalam Selat Melaka kau pro-Lanun–

• Satu lagi hadiah dari BN kepada rakyatnya. Semua rakyat sekarang akan berkata…Bercukur! Bercukur! Bercukur! Negara Aman dan Damai

• ProtonGSC on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:39 am

When drop price RM 500 – RM 0.50… when increase price start from thousands RM 4k. BN Govt and ajib “2012 promise from reduce car price to 30%” Now 2015 car price increase to 5% – 10% !!! NEVER BELIEVE GOMEN !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:01 am

Ha Ha Ha. But all the red shirt monkeys bilip the Government when they said Ringgit Jatuh very good. Now, what the Red Shirt monkeys doing? Apple ipad also gone up over RM500 across the range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • theylovePM on Oct 07, 2015 at 1:34 pm

PM already said they use kapcai jee… they r no impact for all these prices increase…

• Orang kampung pun da meluat skrg on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:49 am

Thanks najib for all this…it was a “good news” for us…

• kami orang kampung bercukur dapat makan, tidur dan tengok TV 14 inci kami

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:54 am

Wow Sime Darby just had to do it. The facelift is about to be launched n they still had to increase the price of the old model. Shame on u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Good luck on selling the pre-FL Rangers…

• SamLoo on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:56 am

THANKS LA. I STILL CAN SELL MY HILAX WITH 10K DISCOUNT

THANKS BIJAN LOSMAH!

• Thanks you najib for your excellent management and 1MDB a great development for our nation, all goods price increased because of the two of you had a great rubbish skill of management.

• JB_KIA on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:19 am

please increase price of Focus, Fiesta, Kuga, Mondeo as well….

• eVaz88 on Oct 07, 2015 at 12:01 pm

How idiots keep thinking that Vehicle company want to increase the price for their own sake while they dont even think of the impact of USD to MYR. Sigh. Haters gonna hate, when Toyota increase, complain only. BE HONEST, its due to forex currency and lets face the facts. UMW first to reveal instead of hiding on the price increase.

• paanjang16 on Oct 07, 2015 at 1:25 pm

I wonder if they made a mistake, by right the price increase should be for the post facelift model and not the outgoing model. Its like the wrong info was passed down when the memo was issued.

• Richard Jonathan Lim on Oct 07, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Why did Sime Darby had to increase the price of the pre-facelift Ranger? The facelifted one is just around the corner.

• When our currency drop, government said those our neighbours also the same, drop in economic. Why have to compare with others instead of solving what is the problem of our nation faced! So neighbours fail, we have to fail too? 1mdb case really hit hard on us caused us down.

• Rawfi on Oct 07, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Just accept it Malaysian. We’re the one who made all the current problems. Yes, there are a few not vote for them but still they win the election.
    So next time make sure NOBODY vote them next election so current situation are not repeated. But Malaysian has memory problem, they will forget what happen last 5 years after get fruits, BR1M, makan-makan, free concert, free this and that.
    Don’t believe me wait for the next election. I can guarantee you they still have chance to win again and again.

• regretbuyingaford on Oct 08, 2015 at 5:17 am

BRAVO SIME DARBY!

WHAT IMMACULATE LOGIC YOU HAVE.

to increase the prefacelift until stocks are exhausted? thats the exact f@#$%g opposite of what you should be doing. wheres the bloody stock clearance discounts?

Sime Darby AutoConnexxion – We’ll F@#k You Until You Love It

• regretbuyingaford on Oct 08, 2015 at 5:21 am

on another note, the stock that they have currently must have come in some time back, maybe a month or 2 before they decided to increase the price. i fully expected them to price the t6 facelift at a ridiculous pricing point, but to take a model meant to be phased out, that you stocked up before the price crash just means that SDAC wants to jump aboard the “naikkan harga, tekankan rakyat” bandwagon.

Sime Darby AutoConnexxion – We’ll F#$k You Until You Love It