2016 Hyundai Tucson spotted on trailer in Malaysia

2016-hyundai-tucson-spotted-in-malaysia

Not too long now before the Malaysian launch of the 2016 Hyundai Tucson – a trailer carrying several units of the third-generation SUV has been captured by Sean Woo with said photos appearing on the Hyundai Tucson Owners Club Malaysia, recently. Of course, this isn’t the first time the car has been spotted in Malaysia with a heavily-camouflaged unit first making its appearance way back in August 2015.

According to Hyundai, the all-new Tucson is set to debut in Malaysia by the end of 2015 and, according to the photos here, should hit the showroom floor in two flavours. A closer look at the white and dark red units pictured here reveal the absence of fog lamps and LED daytime running lights on the former. The front grille on the low-spec white car also misses out on the chrome accents.

Click to enlarge images.

Although not visible in these photographs, the white car is expected to feature smaller wheels compared to the multi-spoke units on the dark red car to further differentiate its trim level. Unfortunately, those are about as much as we can deduce from since the cars were shot within a trailer.

The 2016 Hyundai Tucson first made its global debut at the 2015 Geneva Motor Show in March before going on to premiere in the US at this year’s New York International Auto Show (2015 NYIAS). Globally, the third-gen Tucson is available with five different engines – two petrol and three diesels.

2016-hyundai-tucson-spotted-in-malaysia-3

On the petrol side, a 1.6 litre GDI engine with 135 PS is offered alongside a turbocharged 1.6 litre T-GDI mill with 175 PS – US models are equipped with the latter and a 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol unit. As for the oil burners, three turbodiesel mills are present, a 115 PS 1.7 litre, a 136 PS 2.0 litre and a 184 PS 2.0 litre.

As for its looks, do you prefer the bold styling of the 2016 Hyundai Tucson? Or will it need more than a pretty face to sway you away from the Honda CR-V, Mazda CX-5 and Kia Sportage – let us know in the comments.

GALLERY: US-spec third-generation Hyundai Tucson

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:32 am

The foreign reviews noted quite an improvement from the old model so that’s good news. The bad news is back here in Bolehland the spec list is usually crap especially when compared with its sister brand KIA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • TAK NAK. I am Uncle so i prefer Uncle japanese car. most young women prefer rich and matured uncle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
  • Same L0rrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:40 am

Finally.. now we have more dai lan ngongs queueing up at my showroom just to trade in their 2015 kimchis for 25k.

I have been busy signing trade-in documents since morning.

Want a reliable SUV without worrying parking far far away when you visit your relatives? Buy our Rush.

As I always say, you will never go wrong with sushi. Buy Toyota better, good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 60
    • Still Lying Same Lorrrr?? on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:19 am

2014 Camry 2.5 now selling Rm98k, down RM82k. Original price is RM180k. In less than 11 months, car can drop so much.

2013 Altis 1.8 selling for RM65k. Brand new Altis now RM139k.

Both cars accident free and low mileage.

This alone shows, Same Lorrr has been lying to us for years trying to bad mouth Korean cars.

Hello loser, even Korean cars got better RV now because all Malaysians know about VSC and how UMW has been cheating people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Low Budget on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Now a days, Korean girls are prettier than Japanese girls too due to improve plastic surgery technology in Korea, not just cars.

• Proton on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Are you sure??

I wan to buy the 2013 Altis if it’s only 65k can you gimme the contacts??

• Sam noob on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Uncle Sam, wake up!!!! We’re in 2015 now, not zaman komunis!!!! Your Toyota give me free i oso dun wan… Just a peice of Shit to me!!!!

• xxXxxXxx on Oct 08, 2015 at 10:19 am

Not bad not bad, price increase?

• DonkeyKong on Oct 08, 2015 at 10:56 am

Good thing that Euro 5 diesel and Euro 4M petrol are now widely available in Malaysia, enabling car companies to provide us with more engine options compared to before.

The local importers & distributors can now bring in low-capacity high-torque turbodiesels which are definitely very frugal; and turbocharged direct-injected petrol engines which are powerful, smooth and fuel economical.

Compact SUVs such as these would do well with small turbodiesels. Hopefully the new Tucson is available locally with the 1.7-liter turbodiesel engine!

• wow, copy HR-V front grille.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Muhammad on Oct 08, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Starting from RM70K in USA, North Asia, Europe and Australasia but comes to Malaysia becomes starting RM130K with 2 airbags. All thanks to Dr M Proton we rakyats have to suffer buying foreign cars at extreme high prices with income among the lowest in rhe world.

• Fong Dann on Oct 09, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Regarding that statement about Toyota no resale value is not really correct la. It still does have good resale value. Better than Hyundai and Kia still.
    Regarding this car, the Hyundai Tucson, all the Youtube videos showed the American and Australian specs. The Wheels is damn good looking. However, when they bring the car into Malaysia, the wheels are different.
    I couldn’t wait for this Hyundai to come in as the ringgit was falling. So, I quickly bought the Toyota Camry Hybrid which now I am so happy with. The drive, man. It’s the way it drives. It is a damn powerful car and very nice to drive. And later when I sell it, I will still fetch a good price……..I had to forgo the Mazda 6 which CKD had not come yet and this Hyundai Tucson…..oooooothe moonroof is unbeatable. Tucson is good.

• dozy8888 on Oct 10, 2015 at 12:27 pm

1.6 CC TURBOCHARGED 175PS PLEASE!

• Christine on Nov 22, 2015 at 12:35 pm

I want the model Hyundai Tucson 1.6T Limited 7 speed , but Malaysia only has 2.0 executive and elegance now, hopefully will have the model I want it in the coming year 2016 .