All-out ban on Uber, GrabCar services uncertain – SPAD to continue blacklisting private car owners

uber-x-car

It’s not doom and gloom for loyal users of ride-sharing services such as Uber and GrabCar just yet, The Star reports. Despite calls to ban such platforms, the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has signalled that it is still looking at possible methods to regulate the service – a move no doubt aided by the public’s growing support for such ride-sharing services.

“We understand the solutions provided by Uber and GrabCar, and the sentiments of the people towards it,” commented SPAD CEO, Mohd Azharuddin Mat Sah. He said that while ride-sharing services offered by Uber and GrabCar “did not fit into the commission’s legal framework”, the body is hard at work looking for ways to pinpoint a solution “towards this new technology.”

Azharuddin also noted that a new legislation to amend public transport laws to incorporate ride-sharing services is being discussed between the commission and the Attorney-General’s Chambers. With that said, not everyone is too keen on the notion of having ride-sharing cars share the road with general taxis.

Datuk Aslah Abdullah, president of the Federal Territories and Selangor Taxi Association, was quick to state his disagreement on any form of law that allowed such services to operate. “That is something wrong. If you allow illegal taxis… it’s like the law of the jungle,” he commented.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 1

Relatedly, a report by theSun confirms that while SPAD is willing to mull over ways to allow Uber and GrabCar to operate, it will not tolerate the presence of illegal taxis. The commission, along with the Road Transport Department (JPJ), will stand by its decision to blacklist private car owners who provide transportation services without a valid permit.

The suspected drivers will be identified from a digital log and their illegal activities proven via video and/or photographic evidence. Following that, the drivers will be called in for an interview with the commission. Should the driver fail to turn up or submit his/her car for inspection after numerous notices, they will be prevented from renewing their road tax.

“My enforcement officers are doing what they are supposed to do within the law. Until there is change in the law, we cannot go beyond what the law applies,” added Azharuddin.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Lousy Vios picture again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Uber and GrabCar are haram. PERSIM is halal. Most taxi drivers use Proton. Support our taxi drivers. Support Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
      • Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Why need to support Proton? Ask your beloved leader share donation with it lar. Simple.

• trollmaster3000 on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:00 am

better to hapuskan these daylight robbers instead..

• How about we change a bit…
    I call for share ride through uber or grab car
    Instead of pay we call it duit minyak because the driver willing to fetch me from point a to point b.. Same like we ask our friend to fetch us. The main problem in uber or grab car from spad point of view is we are the paid customer.. So just change the term do not call it fare/payment just call it duit minyak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Albar Zulkifili Yap on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:41 am

This is common sense. Albar, SPAD chairman’s wife got so many cab companies under her name.

If SPAD don’t ban all these private owners, his wife rugi.

Simple economics lah. you don’t need to be a Professor of economics to see how SPAD works

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:06 pm

songlap sikit tak apa, janji negara makmur dan maju! Cukur! Cukur! Cukur!

• Jay Law on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:56 am

Kroni oh Crony

• Mowgli on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:14 pm

If you allow rude gangster taxis… it’s like the law of the jungle also.

• Joyrider on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:19 pm

The picture of the taxi drivers (Protesters) look more like gangster and threatening [compared to UBER driver?]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • budleee on Oct 08, 2015 at 6:27 pm

love uber! so far they are really nice, it’s like riding with a friend

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2015 at 6:31 pm

uber need to operate underground for while. only entertain to regular riders. allow new riders if only recommended by existing user.

the trap is simple – SPAD officer join as new rider. request for a trip and BANG!! driver get caught.

• Jobless on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Hapuskan taxi xguna meter

• FarizY (Member) on Oct 09, 2015 at 10:13 am

Regulate uber and stop (BN) cronies monopoly of taxi permits so that taxi drivers aren’t working as slaves. Rakyat wins that way, we have more choice and competition will increase servicr quality.

• Ollie on Oct 09, 2015 at 5:06 pm

this Datuk Aslah Abdullah is a taxi driver? So rich and famous from taxi driver to datuk? All the taxi companies making money from taxi drivers until they got no money to eat. SPAD! you said taxi drivers get their own license to drive their own taxi! What happened!!?? Yest, first time in a year i took taxi from KL Sentral, cos my phone died and coulndn’t get Uber. Smelly, creaky, Waja. But I really pity the driver. he told me his fare yesterday couldn’t cover his RM55 that he pays to taxi company. Its a pitiful situation, I’m an Uber driver, but I only drive when I feel like it, its not my livelihood. The fare I paid for the coupon in KL sentral is not even enough to cover his actual meter reading even at 12am when no jam at all. SPAD??!! What are you doing??!! taxi drivers dont even want fare increase. KL Sentral every night got 50 taxis waiting for passsengers for 3-4 hours, hopeless. Because they cant cover the fee to the taxi company. And the Datuks get rich. Great going