Construction of Pan Borneo Highway (Sarawak) begins

Pan-Borneo-Highway

Construction work involving phase one of the Sarawak portion of the Pan Borneo Highway has commenced, Bernama reports. The news agency has reported that work on the 43 km-long Nyalau-Bakun Junction Road in Bintulu is already underway – the Sarawak portion has been marked with a ceiling budget of RM15 billion.

The 43 km-long stretch is expected to be completed in around 30 months’ time. Following that, construction and development work for the second phase should commence soon after – said stretch will be the 33 km-long Teluk Melano-Sematan route in Lundu.

Safri Zainuddin, permanent secretary of the state infrastructure development and communications ministry, confirmed that the tender for the construction of the Teluk Melano-Sematan stretch has been awarded. “The first bulldozer is expected there by next month,” he added.

To recap, a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) pertaining to the construction of the Sarawak segment of the Pan Borneo Highway was signed in July 2015. The signing saw the introduction of Lebuhraya Borneo Utara as the appointed Project Delivery Partner for the Sarawak portion of the highway. The firm will be responsible for supervising and managing construction works regarding the 1,090 km-long stretch of highway.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 09, 2015 at 11:02 am

Hopefully the tenders are corrupt free – hah!

• Najib Very Happy on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:28 pm

You know why Najib is laughing??? Cause in his mind he is thinking, he can sapu another RM2.6 billion. Ha Ha Ha.

He is saying, “real suckers”. Rm15 billion will bloat to RM30 billion. That is UMNO style because the UMNO contractor also will songlap big time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • alldisc on Oct 09, 2015 at 11:24 am

he is back??

• According to righteous, corrupt-free, justice rakyat (esp Selangor pipu), all highway are bad news and must diBersihkan.
    So if Sabah & Sarawak pipu dun protest and demo to stop this project, then they are uninformed ulu pipu who are BN lapdogs, alwiz blindly vote for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • tokmoh. on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:40 pm

You maslan?

Why do you think Sarawak is called BN’s FD?

• You nak jadi Rapizi pun at least gip some fake info. ofcoz everyone knows Sarawak BN FD.
        My point is “educated” and “enlightened” pipu (like in Selangor) listen to their dear leader and says all highways are bad news and must be protested and demoed kau-kau. So if S&S pipu dun protest like them, meaning they are not “educated” and “enlightened” like those in Selangor, and will always vote BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • PM points to a number indicating his integrity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
    • Nahh! More like his chances of being taken down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • I think those that disliked your comment doesn’t know what ‘integrity’ means..lain kali explain la brother.. :P

• Those disliked his comments cuz they dun like RBAs bring their politics here without relating to the article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • trollmaster3000 on Oct 12, 2015 at 3:50 am

nahh.. more like telling that he’s got zero balls.. and will continue to hide behind his circle of cronies..

• Sii Pai Gong on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:16 pm

1. Started but when will it be completed ??
    2. Been using the Sarawak ” Highway ” many times, just want to know the QUALITY of the road built.

• Anonymous on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Do u actually read the news article…? Its only in the 2nd paragraph statating it is expected to be completed within 30 months time.

Quality… u need to let them finish it first and try it out.

• Shawal on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:42 pm

I’ll pray that the highway is completed within the stipulated time, trouble free and benefits generations of sarawakian n sabahan…

• we need this since 30 years ago.. huh.. finally Borneo will get economic boost from proper a highway

• perutdua driver on Oct 09, 2015 at 1:21 pm

Make it sure it completed on time, can wait to test my axia turbo on the new road.
    Make sure dont damage the environment too much.

• Kenneth Fook on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:33 pm

My idol is back on the camera. Hope that he gets through all the hardship he is facing now and regain his support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • mmm..do I smell sarcasm here? Definitely..At least he walked the talk, what have you contributed?

• As usual, it was awarded to a minister brother with a new company that dont have the experience to built one.
    They just advertised tender for subcontractors for the contract.