Ford ends that thought, says no plans for a Fiesta RS

Ford_Fiesta_ST_Malaysia_ 002

The rumour mill has been on overdrive for a while now over the possibility of this one becoming reality, but time to lay that particular thought to rest – Blue Oval enthusiasts are going to groan in dismay, but Ford apparently won’t be building a RS version of its Fiesta, making the Fiesta ST as hot as it gets where the seventh-gen B299 is concerned.

This was recently revealed by Jamal Hameedi, Ford Performance’s global chief engineer. Hameedi told Australian publication Drive that the business case for a series production Fiesta RS would be a difficult one to construct.

He explained that while some Ford Performance models still had a regional scope, future products had to be conceived with a global market perspective in mind, and something like a Fiesta RS – with its limited purview and appeal – wouldn’t fall into that line of thinking.

Ford-Kuga-Adelaide 52

“We’ve talked about it (a Fiesta RS) a lot, and there’s a debate on whether it’d have a lot of customers. Certainly, the hard-core guys would go for it, and it would work in Europe, but we’ve now prioritised projects that we think would have a more global reach,” he told Drive.

However, a performance SUV has been confirmed as being something the brand is deliberating on. “We’re having that conversation,” Hameedi revealed, lending credence to the mention last week of the possibility of a ST variant of the C520 Kuga coming about.

While stating that the innate traits of an SUV and the aims of a performance vehicle were somewhat at odds, he didn’t discount the likelihood of a souped-up Ford SUV showing up in the marketplace at some point. “I think there’s probably a market for an ST (rather than RS) crossover,” he explained. So, we might see a Kuga ST sometime in the near future.

B299 Ford Fiesta ST

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• It making sense, prioritize the global big market first before throwing so much efforts to RS everything that might not really making good return.

• Absolutkev86 on Oct 10, 2015 at 12:50 am

i believe it is more of protecting the Focus ST’s market share.

• Big Liar John on Oct 10, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Soon John will come here and give his stupid comments.

John and RBA John are the same person. he is creating 2 personalities because he wants attention. He wants publicity.

Ignore John’s comments totally, then you will chase away this troll. Small SPM boy, still cannot piss straight but want to play with big boys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Oho. Did I rile you enough that you chuck your impostor ID and attack me personally, eh RBA john?
        Well, at least you finally showed some originality and true colours as an RBA. That I would give you credit.
        Here’s a hint Little Brother john. If you wanna post something, relate it in someway to the article. Go back and tell that to your other RBA colleagues. Cuz I hunt their irrelevant comments down, and I will counter post on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
      • Uncivilized on Oct 11, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Admin, pls do something. This john guy is disrupting everybody and writing nonsense here all the time. Uncivilized.

• I’ll believe it when I (don’t) see it. Why would they cannibalize the hype of the Focus RS with the announcement of a Fiesta RS? They have a business case, the FiST is living proof.

• Absolutkev86 on Oct 10, 2015 at 11:55 pm

Fiesta RS and Focus RS will be miles apart in price and performance so they will attract different customers.

Meanwhile Fiesta RS will be close to the price range of Focus ST thus luring the more hardcore enthusiast if it offers AWD and a lighter chassis.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 10, 2015 at 11:06 am

If Fiesta RS is for real it will join super superminis like Audi S1 & Mini JCW.

• Too hard to make my ass, in other words – “Make them buy the more expensive focus rs”. Typical, the same reason mamak shops refuse to sell roti canai during lunch, they want people to buy the more expensive food.(I know cos my friend owns a shop lol)

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 10, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Great Ford products but sucky Sime Darby Malaysian distributor.

I am a Ford Escape owner and their after sales service is horse crap.

First they made you wait on their telephone “press 1, press 2, our operators are busy please call again”.

Secondly, you have to book your car for service since they do not entertain walk in customers; how if your problematic Ford needs a repair?

Thirdly all the service centres in Klang Valley are fully booked the next 10 days (I am not kidding).

Forth, Their technicians or service people don’t even know what they’re doing, the problem is still there.

Call them don’t know how to pick up the phone, put operator sommore. Call main line, very efficient terus pick up the call because they want sales. Don’t believe me try and call them 03-77181256 (Sales); 03-77181273 (Service).

That’s the problem when a car distributor focuses on SALES SALES SALES and not on AFTERSALES.

No more Fords for me unless they IMPROVE their aftersales.

• Fiesta, 3 Doors, rear biased AWD, turbo 2.0L, rear LSD, 4 wheel steer, 6speed manual or pedal-shift CVT. Make it happen.

• Maverick2091 on Oct 10, 2015 at 11:50 pm

This is because too many Malaysians got no money to spend on nice things.

• Santan Assana Bohkia on Oct 11, 2015 at 1:29 am

It ain’t matter no Fiesta RS, people prefer Ford goes for Ranger RS.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 11, 2015 at 6:54 pm

but they already made F150 SVT Raptor! why need ranger rs?

• Anyone has this 6DCT250 on ford fiesta/ focus 2011 onward, please check how many complaints….
    https://www.change.org/p/ford-ceo-mark-fields-ford-recall-faulty-focus-and-fiesta-transmissions