Police take delivery of new Proton Inspira patrol cars

New-Polis-Inspira-2015-02

The police have taken delivery of the first batch of 1,200 new patrol cars it’s set to receive over the next few months. The cars will replace existing fleet vehicles that are older than eight years.

The Shah Alam police headquarters was the first department in Selangor to get the new cars, theSun reports. The department took delivery of 17 Proton Inspira 2.0s – which will be utilised for crime prevention rounds and community policing – to replace its old mobile patrol vehicles.

The vehicles were received by Shah Alam police chief ACP Shafien Mamat, who said that with the new acquisitions, the logistics department of the Shah Alam police will now have 85 mobile patrol vehicles, compared to 75 previously.

The report adds that the new Proton Inspira patrol cars are kitted out with additional equipment and new technology, and livery will include green reflector strips on the side and bonnet as seen on existing patrol vehicles – the latter is said to represent the force’s Go Green concept.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Why the old inspira? Why not the indigenous designed game changer Preve or Suprima?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
    • Tidur Tidur Malaysia on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:22 pm

News cars still won’t change their attitude of makan nasi lemak beramai ramai kat kedai kopi for hours, tidur kat balai walaupun ada kerja dan rokok dalam balai walaupun ada sign Di Larang Merokok for the public.

Nothing changes with news cars. They are still lazy, like to sleep, and all they think about is kahwin empat and Malam Jumaat and always waiting for Gomen to help

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 75
    • Manusia on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:30 pm

Proton already delivered Preve for PDRM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Now you know, Proton sales are 80% to Spanco and Polis, Bomba, JKR and other departments.

Actually Proton sales on its own very very bad. Spanco alone buys abut 100,000 Protons a year to lease to Malaysian Government for few hundred million per year

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given Tunship.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?
        It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get low spec lousy cars with super high prices. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe cars that are also reasonably priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
      • Yea… First was the Inspira, then the Preve. Why now revert back to Inspira?

• Manusia on Oct 10, 2015 at 10:33 am

Police in USA not using only one type of car.
          Mustang GT, Dodge, Ford Lincon, Ford Everest, Dodge Viper and many other car.

In Malaysia, PDRM using Perdana V6 for highway patrol and then replaced with Evo 10.
          Main PDRM car is Proton Waja and will be replace with Preve.
          PDRM also own a Volvo SUV, Volvo Sedan, Honda Civic for another use. Polis Bantuan using Nissan X-Trail. PDRM K9 using Toyota Hilux.

Another police in another country using many type of car. In UK, their police using supercar for highway patrol

• Honestly, Preve isnt as reliable.

• pdr1mdb on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Lebih cekap dan cepat..
    mintak settle tak pakai helmet

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Hmm the police forces I’ve seen so far in other counties I visited always get their vehicles which are still in the market but here in Bolehland they’re getting obsolete cars. Wouldn’t the Preve be the logical choice?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Not sure where is Bolehland, but in Malaysia the police have a large fleet of Inspiras. It would be quite logical to continue using and servicing them as long as possible and also more variant cars means more difficulty for parts inventory. While it no longer open for public sale, there might still be some complete components for the final 1200 vehicles.
      Either that, or the cars were made quite some time ago, but took a while to custom fit interiors to police requirements (lights, siren, perp barrier, gun racks, radios, datalink, etc).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
      • You mean clearing unsold stocks?

Btw, talking inventory problem on different hardware, do you really think the gov care? If they really care we won’t be having MIG, SU30, FA18 and now looking for Typhoon or Rafale while a much richer neighbour only operating F16 and recently added F15 to their inventory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
        • Ooh I luv it when someone bring military to a car forum, especially with massive misconception.

With computerisation, mixing of inventory for lightly used hardware is never a problem (how often do the planes fly compared to patrol cars? The service rate for planes wun be as high as p.cars, right?). Even USA SOC forces mix n match hardwares and non-std bullet sizes depending on mission, same goes with RMAF.

As for the planes, we go for open market cuz we are non-aligned and dun wan US Congress hold our balls cuz cannot fire missiles until they approves. Somemore SU30 with EU tech is much much much more capable than SG F16 & F15, just ask USAF & USN fighters!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
          • How dumb you are? The reason the US can afford different hardware for different mission is because they have more than $500bil defense budget. How much budget Malaysia have? No wonder the country is at this sorry state. Puny budget but want to spend like the big boys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
          • I will say your knowledge in military shows otherwise. Unlike army grunts, RMAF tailors their plane selection and loadouts to the mission profile. You dun send interceptors with only AA missiles to bomb Sulus now do you? SU30 is a very capable multi-role plane but its main strength is air-to-air. You still need Hawks to do ground attacks.

• First of all, sending fighter to attack the sulu is already wrong. Rich country can have combination of f15/16 or f22/35. For not so rich country, having multirole is good enough. Even aus or canada only having one type as mainstay.

• First of all , what’s our defense budget for?. Are we going to be a superpower in the world like the Russians and the Americans?. Nope. So SU-30 is more than enough to take up the role. SU-30 is a multirole fighter jet and is 4++ generation and it’s one of the best fighter jets in the world. Seen the reviews of SU-30 whopping F15 and F22 in a mock dogfight. The government are also looking for Rafale to replace the aging Migs we have as Air superiority fighter. For me, I would hope they have gone for Sukhoi T50 instead.

• Btw, you said you love military topic in car forum but your knowledge in military said otherwise. Anyway what discuss here is not even military. It’s day-to-day commonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • Bacalah u punye comment. Lu dah challenge orang tentang military. Lepas tu dah kantoi, pulak kata takde kena mengena. Lu bodoh ke banggang?

• I never said i love military. You said it. Keep your puny knowledge. Fighter for sulu konon. Hahahha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • Memang bodoh betul. Lu sendiri dah keluar topik, pulak kata orang. Dei! Bacalah siapa start dulu.

• Attention Seeker on Oct 09, 2015 at 5:39 pm

john and rba john are the SAME person. This john is nothing but an attention seeker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Letstorque on Oct 10, 2015 at 10:12 am

Ask RAAF F/A-18 pilots about RMAF MiG-29 Smokey Bandits. Go search in the internet.

• Letstorque on Oct 10, 2015 at 10:07 am

I think your military knowledge only limited to US or western hardwares.

MiG has many models. Even MiG29 has many variants.

Su-30 itself has many names and code which can be confusing. Do you know that Russian still classify latest Su-35 as a variant of Su-27?

Do you know that F/A-18 has A, B, C, D, E and F variants?

Do you know that F-15 family is older that F/A-18 family?

Do you know that F-16 dont qualify as front line fighter for TUDM because it is single-engined?

• DonkeyKong on Oct 09, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Preves with green reflector stripes are already being supplied to PDRM.. These Inspiras are probably to clear off the unsold stock that remains since production was stopped back in April this year

• symusty on Oct 10, 2015 at 2:40 pm

I’ve travelled all over the place in Asia, Europe and North America. Sure, some police forces do have cars that are currently in the market, but its not nationwide.

In Germany, for example, you can still see some Opel Vectra police cars. In Canada and the US, some forces still use the Ford Crown Victoria. In South Korea they still use older generation Hyundai Sonatas. Of course this is all alongside the Opel Insignia, Dodge Chargers/Ford Taurus and Hyundai Genesis…..

Plus, as the Crown Vic proved, maintaining a fleet of similar cars can be beneficial costs and efficiency wise. If these Inspiras can be maintained well for the next decade…..

• policeman on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Why Police have to use Proton cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • You expect them to use Lembukini kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • crony on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Police also have to bagi Proton songlap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Albert on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:30 pm

I think they have annual allocation for upgrading cars.Might as well give them Merc or BMW.Can beat ALL the bladdy Mat Rempits and Myvi Rempits.
      If they dont spend on these cars,they will spend on other ITEMS.TAXES are for spending…they dont care a damn.
      Shambolic .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • IF they buy Mercs/BMW as you said, they you hentam kau-kau for using luxury cars. We can see your tactics like mineral water. Do and be condemned, din do and will be damned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • Albert on Oct 09, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Bradder John,we dont hantam kau kau.
          Just get it straight.They will misuse your taxes anyway.If they save here,when they see the excess allocations unused,they will get approval to use the funds elsewhere.
          They have no remorse,no guilt.
          By the way,are u studying at St John’s Institution ,where the VVIP got a big Santa donation from…(Tun said it is a crime to talk about it).
          Myself ,Hafriz,Paultan….all from the VI.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 09, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Otherwise? Should they use Myvi and Alza?

Of course local agencies will tend to have a large fleet of locally-manufactured cars, that’s normal for any country.

• policeman on Oct 09, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Celaka. Come up with your own ID!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • I think they should use vios trd. Its a perfect car in every sense.

• fanofthisite on Oct 10, 2015 at 10:19 pm

why not? and who says PDRM only uses Malaysian makes? You can see Nissan 4WD trucks in use these days , Toyota HiAces are also common.

• BMW X1 on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Looks great for a police car however can this really catch up with the high powered cars in a car chase?. They would need to turbocharge their engine or something.

• For those cases they will bring out Helang Lebuhraya. Anything faster, theres Jetranger

• DonkeyKong on Oct 09, 2015 at 4:22 pm

This is real-life, not a game of Need for Speed..

• I am talking about real life situations whereby the amount of BMWs , Benz and other fast cars do exist in Malaysia. Do you expect this inspira to catch up with them?. Duh… Either they upgrade their engine capabilities or they couldn’t even see the smoke from these cars.

• fanofthisite on Oct 10, 2015 at 10:23 pm

toll, to toll, there are many ways to catch fast cars, crooks cars or slow them down wity flashing lights etc …chasing them down in order to overtake and force them aside Hollywood like will endanger others

• andrekua on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:49 pm

Woahhh… new car. Hopefully they use it according to the name, patrol car, not just carry cones to setup roadblock for donation drive.

• They should have added reinforced front and rear bullbars to deter ahbeng VW drivers from thinking our polis is like GTA police

• Mason_ on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Haha..go green concept..it is community friendly or thieve friendly…..
    Hope that crime rate will goinf downwards with more patrolling…

• DonkeyKong on Oct 09, 2015 at 4:24 pm

The Kawasaki Ninja 250 patrol teams are far more efficient at deterring crime than any car-based patrol squad. I’ve had many good experiences with the PDRM Kawasaki patrol squads. Usually in a bad incident, the motorbike squads will radio for these car-based squads for backup. Nothing like flashing blue lights and an officer wielding an MP5 visible through the open window to enforce some peace on our streets..

• RM2.6 on Oct 09, 2015 at 1:04 pm

Just hand over the key, dont waste money for unnecessary event. Give the key and go start decrease criminal, people already sick with this. Just my 0.02$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • So you are okay if when you buy new moving coffin, Sam Loo will just leave your new ride in front of showroom and ask you collect your keys from pak jaga cuz nak layan you is unnecesary event? After all, you alredi gip your money so better for him to move on to next potential victim…err customer, I mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
  • Krole on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Livery looks soft not garang enough

• talian hayat on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Clear old stocks.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:25 pm

in alot of countries , police cars are manuals and NOT CVTs….they are workhorse cars ….
    if im proton , seriously , iwd give them few preves and suprima s and assign few engineers to track n log all the data out of them , atleast they can have some reliability info since police cars are very hi mileage vehicles

i dono man , everytime i see police personal , i just cringe no end , but thats another topic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Assign few engineers? … luckily you are not Proton. The current proton is in a sorry state with unproductive people and you want to waste a few more engineers for other things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • policeman on Oct 09, 2015 at 5:34 pm

When the Preve breaks down on the way to catch a rapist that’s gonna rape you, you will blame the Police for being inefficient. That’s why they’re using Inspira.

• Good. Let hope we see more petrolling cars moving around and not parked under trees taking a nap or used for buying take-away food.

• kumari on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:38 pm

ini kete baru gomen beli pakai taxpayer money!
    tlg tangkap peragut, mat rempit, triple parking tengahari jumaat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Captain Slow on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Don’t worry, later just install the Evo X halfcut with 6 speed transmission.

• First you should ask what happened to the 25 units of real evo X handed to them in the first 6 months.

• You dun bring a machinegun to a knife fight, when handgun is good enuff. Same principle applies.

• People talk because they have something to tell. Others talk because they have to to talk.
          What is your point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Do you bring a 300Bhp twin-scroll turbo AWD with max 270 kmph highway cruiser to patrol your neighbourhood jalan, crawling at <10kmph?

• DonkeyKong on Oct 09, 2015 at 4:26 pm

The Helang squad are still patrolling the north-south highway regularly. Just because you hardly drive out of your little town doesn’t mean that those cars aren’t there

• You should check the number of cars that still running. Seeing 1 same car everyday not same as seeing all the cars.

• How do you know it was the same car. All of them do look alike.

• Captain Slow on Oct 09, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Yeah, sad to see those Evos being totaled.

• Horizon Sailor on Oct 09, 2015 at 3:04 pm

Please change the body paint to more aggresive looks like in 70s-80s. Dark blue + white.

• Polis nowadays wanna be friendly to pipu. I says they should have focus to putting fear of polis into the rakyat. Just colour it black and white with big Decepticon logos on the doors and emblazoned with “To Punish and Enslave” on the body

• 85 patrol cars entire shah alam … hardly seen on the road!

• Khalid on Oct 09, 2015 at 3:45 pm

meanwhile, a couple of police stations located in the town i live are still using their tiny kancil

• fanofthisite on Oct 10, 2015 at 10:27 pm

practical and pragmatic. they are not meant to be chase cars

• tokmoh. on Oct 09, 2015 at 5:24 pm

> Green livery to show go green
    > Use non-EEV fuel-guzzling car

Kek.

• Can someone please enlighten me why the police aren’t wearing their safety belt? In the picture you clearly can see all occupants in the inspira are unbuckled! Perhaps it’s because of their weapons which restrict the seat belts? Is it because they can exit faster to arrest robbers? I really want to know why..

• mustafa on Oct 09, 2015 at 6:21 pm

I thought inspira already discontinued….must be old over run stock ini….

• Jobless on Oct 09, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Wat happen to Supima Turbo

• MentalKar on Oct 09, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Tahniah Polis dapat kreta baru. Harapan sy tuan2 dapat menjalankan amanah dgn penuh dedikasi. Jangan biarkan nila setitik merusak susu setong. Jalankan amanah dan takut sama Tuhan.

• Evo XI on Oct 09, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Why not Mitsu Lancer instead of Inspira?

• Evo XI on Oct 09, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Thdy should have delivered the Lancer instead of Inspira.

• jclark on Oct 10, 2015 at 10:25 am

clear old unsold inspira for proton :D

• Alex L on Oct 10, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Yes, fleet over 8 years. Just take a look a Alam Damai police station. It has 4-5 persons on duty max. Yet it houses over 30 units of unused Waja and at least 20 bikes that were delivered brand new. Just a dumping place for Proton to make profit and for top cops to enjoy side benefits.

• ben yap on Oct 10, 2015 at 10:13 pm

2.0E (Executive), 2.0P (Premium). Police car is 2.0S, what does the “S” stands for?