SPIED: Nissan NP300 Navara spotted undisguised!

NISSAN-NAVARA-SPYSHOTS-0001

The public will be able to view the new Nissan NP300 Navara in full at roadshows starting next Thursday, but it appears the new pick-up truck is already making the rounds on the roads fully undisguised – as seen by reader Shawn Loong, who sent us these pictures. Thanks!

As you can see, this is the top-spec VL variant, which features LED projector headlights with boomerang-shaped LED daytime running lights, 18-inch machined-finish alloy wheels and a rear spoiler. This particular unit is painted in the international hero Savanna Orange hue, which pretty much confirms it as one of the colours that will be offered here.

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has confirmed provisional specs – the D23 NP300 will use an improved version of the current D40 Navara‘s YD25 2.5 litre diesel with common-rail direct injection and variable geometry turbocharging, producing 190 PS and 450 Nm. It’s mated to a seven-speed automatic transmission with manual mode – a six-speed manual gearbox should also be on the cards, at least on lower-end variants.

Under the skin, the Malaysian-spec NP300 utilises a multi-link rear suspension with coil springs – a first for the pick-up segment – for improved ride comfort, although it retains a tough, durable solid rear axle.

NISSAN-NAVARA-SPYSHOTS-0002

Elsewhere, kit bandied about includes the ultra-comfortable zero gravity-inspired seats (first seen on the Teana), keyless entry, push-button ignition, a multi-function steering wheel, Bluetooth connectivity, dual-zone automatic climate control and rear seat air vents.

Safety-wise, the NP300 Navara will feature Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), traction control, four-wheel Active Brake Limited Slip (ABLS), Hill Start Assist (HSA) and Hill Descent Control (HDC). In certain markets, the truck is available with up to seven airbags (including one for the driver’s knee), so here’s hoping we’ll get the whole lot too, at least on higher-end models.

As mentioned, interested members of the public will be able to take a closer look at the NP300 Navara soon, as it will be on display at Nissan roadshows around the country from October 15 to November 22. They can also visit the official website to register their interest and receive a test drive invite, as well as view Nissan’s pick-up heritage stretching back 80 years.

Of course, we’re plenty familiar with the Nissan NP300 Navara; last year, we not only covered the international launch in Bangkok, but also drove the truck in Chiang Mai – you can read on how it fared here. As always, we’ll update you with the latest information on Nissan’s new pick-up as soon as we have it.

UPDATE: The Nissan NP300 Navara is now on display in Malaysia – details and gallery here.

Nissan NP300 Navara in Chiang Mai

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 09, 2015 at 1:25 pm

The one to challenge the Ranger Wildtrak in spec list is here and hopefully at a cheaper price too.

• Agreed. 1st thing I really hope is they improve this YD25DDTI. On current version, I tested the showroom unit & the power was terrible,I have to be honest. The engine ‘roar’ but doesn’t get the 407nm feel. It feels slower than 136hp triton! I brought my friends there & they all reject it. Salesman told us could be that particular test car has been aging & need service. I really shock. 2nd, I heard numerous complaints from rural people about the injectors problem due to the contaminated diesel at their old village petrol stations. The injector are very sensitive with the dirty diesel & they got no warranty over the fuel supply systems. 3rd, I have 2 friends who owned navaras had complain of overheat engine during acceleration. They said that is normal on navara. 4th, I had a good friend of mine who recently spent more than rm10k for 1 injector failed & cracked engine top.

• Kakikereta on Oct 09, 2015 at 11:11 pm

Every car has horror stories even the ranger has problems with the fuel pump. Let’s not forget Hilux and it’s transmission issues. Just have to see your luck…

• Letstorque on Oct 10, 2015 at 10:29 am

I’ve driving Ranger for a decade now. No problem with the fuel pump.

But the engine is the biggest problem. Change whole engine at 150k km. Then change head at 250k km.

Prone to overheating when pushed hard. Even when properly maintained by Auto Concessionaire and then SDAC.

• Hadi75 on Oct 09, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Been using navara for the last 4 years with mileage close to 250k km…so far so good..
        1st…the power is there…
        2nd..contaminated diesel or low quality diesel….not a problem…just make sure you change the fuel filter every 10k km..
        3rd….never had any overheat during acceleration unless you’ve done something to the engine
        4th…in the 4 years that i own the navara and joining the club….i’ve only known of one unlucky fella owning a navara…his car really got lots of issues…..maybe it’s just his luck to get a bad one…

• Navara sabah MNC on Oct 11, 2015 at 8:52 am

But many people complain the overheating issue.. Stock radiator was too thin, TC will add more silicon in clutch fan, after this claim new radiator with 15mm thick.. Last use aftermarket synergy radiator 40mm..
          2nd.. Manual trans flywheel problem
          3rd turbo outlet plastic pipe melt( before rubber pipe, after turbo outlet)
          4th ori turbo problem (miaw miaw sound after 10km claiming new from TC)

• Most of my friends are long distance travellers. Kuching to Sabah but always stop for business. Honestly not insulting navara drivers, they themselves said engine are quite fragile compare to other brands. So far toughest still the Dmax. 1 of them bought navara for their power & he is parts supplier. He advised me hilux lower arm are most laku.

• Letstorque on Oct 10, 2015 at 10:24 am

I agree with you about the injector problem. I think this engine is too sensitive to dirty diesel.

• AntiTCM on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:03 pm

No way I’m gonna invest whilst Nissans are distributed under blood sucking TCM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:16 pm

This year looks to be the year of the truck again.

Mother Trucker vs the RV King vs Wildtrak? Get your popcorn folks, the games are about to begin.

• Rusmah on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:36 pm

No matter what brand you buy.
      Still goes to my hubby pockets :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Richard Jonathan Lim on Oct 09, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Yup:).I wanna see which is the best.Best on paper is this.This year is like 2005.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:29 pm

the Ranger is the obvious one competing , for me not so much the spec , they got to be close on that front , i think,personally,it wd be whether the rear multi link suspension on the navara makes any difference compare to the bouncy nature of the leaf axle on the Ranger…test drive here i come !

• I saw leaf spring UBolt

• Actyon 4×4 equipped with coil spring if you consider it as Pick up

• Diesel on Oct 09, 2015 at 10:34 pm

18 inches wheels, safety controls. Wow, it is great Nissan. But sure this has no choice for roll bar. Sport truck. Mother truck is back!