Taxi drivers harass Uber/GrabCar vehicles at KLCC

It would appear that the intense hatred harboured by Malaysian taxi drivers towards ride-sharing services such as Uber, GrabCar and the like has escalated to a whole new level recently. Two videos showing a group of taxi drivers harassing Uber/GrabCar vehicles have surfaced online and are now making their way around on various social media platforms.

Both videos begin similarly enough with the “narrator” of the clip explaining to viewers on the fate of the cornered Uber/GrabCar vehicles. In the first video, a white Perodua Myvi is seen pulling up to the entrance of Suria KLCC before a group of taxi drivers swarm around it, preventing the driver from leaving the scene.

The taxi drivers then begin to harass the Myvi driver. At one point in the video, it even looks like a certain degree of physical contact was imparted by the taxi driver onto the Myvi. However, the first video ends with the white Myvi driving away into the distance but not before a traffic cone was kicked into its path.

Moving on, the second clip paints a similar picture with another car halted on the road not too far away from the location of the first video. It’s pretty much the same story again with a group of taxi drivers cornering the Uber/GrabCar vehicle and asking for the passenger to alight from said car. However, the video finishes without the viewers ever knowing what happened to the car at the end of the whole incident.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Service is Key on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:50 pm

Local taxi drivers can get ready to close shop if this escalates any further, there are competition in every industry, it’s either you improve/excel or the other way is to join them. Meaning create another way to create another similar service to gain back customer. Don’t forget it it all boils down to customer service and competitive rates.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 3
  • Stupid Taxi on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:59 pm

This is a group of barbarian monkey that SPAD want to protect, welcome to mereshia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 7
  • Anonymous on Oct 09, 2015 at 1:00 pm

It is ridiculous, making jokes around. Fools around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • [insert racial remarks here]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • DeathBringer on Oct 09, 2015 at 1:34 pm

And they wonder why nobody rides taxis anymore….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Someone should have go and act like someone who needs a ride… Then ask the taxi how much. And oops.. Don’t forget to record it as well

• faketaxi on Oct 09, 2015 at 3:03 pm

yes.. go to klcc.. pretend u want to go pavilion.. check how much they want to sembelih… after they give price.. spit at them and say.. go fly kite lah! this is the reason i choose uber / grab taxi! you all like bloodsucking parasites! go buy 2 liter petrol, pour over yourself inside taxi and burn to hell with your old rotten taxi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Matchy on Oct 09, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Really give bad impression to the tourist… I wonder if the tourist will ever take taxi again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Didn’t an Australian tourist got beaten up by a taxi driver coz he didn’t pay for the over charged amount? Meter says RM28, driver charges RM60, he paid RM30, and got beaten up. Barbaric.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Wongxy on Oct 09, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Careful with your curse. Your grammar too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 20
  • Consumer on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Crazy Taxi Driver and Barbaric Action . I swear i will never use taxi ever again let them all facebrankcrupt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Grabdrebar on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Bagai menabor pasir ke dalam periuk nasik sendiri….bijak bijak. Few of them fellas making life more difficult for others. As if life not hard enough for them getting passengers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • hdhdhddh on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:33 pm

call for largest taxi boycott.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • agreed on this matter…

• Don’t talk like a macho fella behind the pc okay keyboard warrior. If you wanna boycott then work it out and show us something.

If talk everyone also can talk moron.

• francis on Oct 12, 2015 at 6:58 am

Yes,starting from the smart Pon to STOPthe few taxi trouble maker.
        Your monopoly for extremely bad service & oldie vehicle,stops here.
        Good,paying passenger for you stop here!

• Latuk on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:46 pm

this is also our government’s fault. the problem is cronyism. taxi drivers are forced to buy protons, pay a daily licensing fee of RM40 regardless if they drive the car or not and more.

the solution is open market, businessman and others should be allowed to operate Bus, Taxi, Newspaper as they see fit, not based on government’s policy.

but most people will not understand this, this includes BN and Opposition supporters, they want more government. Opposition wants more power to their own opposition gov and BN supporters wants more power to their BN gov.

the problem with this country is we have extremist in both opposition and BN supporters. the path to a better country is to be in the middle ground and see things from a middle perspective.

these taxi drivers are wrong, but they are a victim of the gov policy. without check and balance, if opposition comes into power, the same thing will happen.

look at Perak under DAP in 2008-2009. how the Nga Kor Ming awarded his own wife the lounge project.

No DAP supporter dare to criticize. some say the amount is small compared to the millions and billions.

at the end of the day, this country got no hope because we have extremist in both parties. both will close one eye on cronysim if it benefit their own party.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Bryan on Oct 09, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Steven,
    From your post, you’re obviously a Cina Bukit Ah Beng…..just like the taxi drivers in the video…. Post your points properly lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
  • Expat on Oct 09, 2015 at 3:07 pm

You can take a monkey out of the jungle but it gets cranky if someone steals it’s taxi fares and gives good service..

• Elton Poh on Oct 09, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Dear Friends,

I was the one that uploaded the video.

Recently there has been a handful of local taxi drivers harasing Uber and Grabcar drivers. One of the video shows a foreigner as a passenger, also harassed. Mainly at mall pick up areas, KLCC(happens everyday), Tropicana city mall, hotel entrances, etc

If you do not have a car and would like to move around, please pick a better and safer method : UBER. Uber is a safe, cheap and reliable service that could get you anywhere and anytime and there will be no haggling, not fetching due to different destination, negotiations, etc. Charges will be directed straight to your credit card and there will be no cash involved!

We are offering RM60 off your first free ride as an encouragement to a safer environment and situation.

Kindly download UBER from your app store or google play, register, click the top left tab, look for PROMOTIONS, key in 8nfq9ue , and your first ride will be free up to RM60.00.

Passengers are also encouraged to sit in front to deter taxi drivers from suspecting that drivers are drivers.

Cheers

Elton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • no to uber and grabcar on Oct 10, 2015 at 4:59 pm

I’d rather use myteksi lah. They charge by meter and I pay cash. Extra RM2 for the calling service is not a big deal as long as they use meter to charge. No way I’m giving away my credit card info just to get a ride from point A to point B. And I’m not using taxis daily. Only when I need one.
      So, if I need a taxi, I get a taxi. At least I know I’m covered with insurance if something happened while using their services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • No to taxi. Yes to u on Oct 10, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Butthurt taxi driver spotted. “They charge by meter” funniest thing I’ve heard in a while.

You taxi drivers are missing out a lot on tips as your services are garbage. I and perhaps other people usually tip the uber driver on top of the normal fare charged as we are sincerely satisfied with the service provided.

But I can assure you, I WILL NOT sit a normal asshole red taxi in my life anymore. I’ll rather walk than getting abused in your pathetic car.

• Bscotch on Oct 11, 2015 at 2:16 pm

I see you shared no information on the source of the vid (taken from a group, shared from somewhere else, bff with the one who take the vid in the first place, etc).

I would love to spit on those taxi drivers who act like a big time thug, but in the same time I do not want this no-source vid to simply be a witch hunt over all taxi drivers.

Let Paul Tan knows more details on this, you’re not The Star who has been unreliable and keeps giving no source for their mostly one sided news.

• grabcar user on Oct 09, 2015 at 4:54 pm

bastard taxi driver, kalau perangai mcm monyet, kereta busuk, muka mcm perogol memang la takde sape nak naik. support uber and grabcar for life la wei! we as user and passenger ada ham untuk tentukan dengan siapa kita beli barang atau dptkan service. ini sudah mcm jalan di petaling street and dipaksa beli barang walaupun tak nak. tukar kereta baru, no smelly smell, muka tu kasi baik sikit, tambang kasi berpatutan la wei (kereta buruk busuk muka perogol rm20, kereta baru, no smell, driver polite, tak tipu harga rm30…baik aku pilih rm30). masalah nye zaman sekarang org boleh bayar berapa mahal pun tapi service kena la justify bagus atau tak!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Zen Lee on Oct 09, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Lawless and barbaric taxi drivers…the more they do this and post online,the more they lose customers…threat is not working in this century anymore..I will continue to support Grabcar and Uber in every country I go! Enough said…

• By this logic, if I open burger franchise, I should expect beatings from Ramli?

• Haha Malaysian taxi drivers they just sit around popular locations and just wait for people then they charge ppl crazy rates or actually slaughter Malaysian u should see what they do to foreigners or tourists . now they have competition and they are threatened . well work hard and and earn an honest living you won’t have to worry about the competition .

• Noah Idris on Oct 09, 2015 at 6:12 pm

Taxi drivers should beef up their service standards. Do not cheat customers for charging excessively and not using meter. Please treat customers politely. Maintain your car properly. Your reputation is already bad among users. Now you show this video harassing the Grabcar. SPAD should take action against these ‘gangster’ which taking the law into their hand. Malaysian cannot tolerate these acts of lazy drivers that shamed the nation as this already involving foreigner. Be gentleman… if your service is good and reliable…. customers will line up… you judge…

• albert on Oct 09, 2015 at 6:18 pm

this is like the famous looters went into the store, grab a TV and then came out and did an interview. Don’t they know this is evidence against themselves?… oh, I forgotten, they are Malayisian, they think very little of the law, just look it ‘up’ you’ll see what i mean

• Lain kali bawa je Hilux, baru tahan belasah.

• Anonymous on Oct 09, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Perangai dah camni siapa la yang nak guna teksi lagi, tambah pula teksi kat Malaysia ni dah la lama lambat pula tu kalau jalan jam mahal pula tu…grabcar and uber la jadi pilihan ramai..

• once taxi user on Oct 09, 2015 at 7:34 pm

I once desperate for a ride fr klcc to subang..taxi driver refused to use meter n charge me without basis..since then..lost respect to taxi driver at klcc area..now mcm gangster sudah..suruh customer turun konon..

• anonymous2.1 on Oct 09, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Eh guys. remember that guy who said this is the result of using grab car and uber. When see him, says this to him. you are the shame of all taxi drivers. Want customer? act like one good services, not trash car and over charge taxi. i can see uber and grabcar charge reasonable price then you monkeys.

• Malaysians should vote for what is their preffered service, and if the majority chooses Uber over Taxis, gov should legalize Uber..service should be something we want, not what the gov wants

• BOIKOT Teksi KL..Yang mengaut keuntungan atas angin adalah pemegang permit..pemandu teksi tak displin, servis buruk, suka tipu, ambil untung berlebihan, kereta buruk, kotor, busuk dan macam2 lagi masalah..BOIKOT dan tukar pemerintahan..wujudkan pasaran bebas bersaing secara sihat..Bukan kronisme yg tidak adil!

• Richard liew on Oct 10, 2015 at 1:00 am

nobody dare to sit on malaysia taxi,just becasue malaysia taxi never follow the law,drive like shit,no signal,suddenly cut lane,no follow meter to pay money,midnight come out fetch people count tripple price,harrass people like this just shame on yourself,shy to be malaysian,dirty malaysia

• Ng Tang Yang on Oct 10, 2015 at 10:14 am

Not all taxi drivers are like this. I can say most of the taxi drivers I met and used their services are friendly, clean and goes by the meter. Taxi drivers should boycott the black sheep among them and post the numbers of their vehicles on the internet

• Uber changed our life! We fully support Uber. Be strong UBER!

• if they did that shit to my car i run them over.

• serct on Oct 11, 2015 at 1:08 am

bapak hijau.. dh lh teksi mahl gila..bodoh org teksi buat mcm tu.

• Sharon Wong on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:51 am

I’m so relieve after using Grabcar as my usual transport `to & fro’ for work and I do not need to depend on the poor service of the taxi anymore. I hope the government or SPAD will to listen to the public of their opinion and to legalize the service of the Grabcar according to the law.

• Vaughn on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:44 pm

This is the first time I’m watching this video. As a regular grabcar user, I am truly shocked!! I hope the authorities & grabcar/uber will come to an understanding to legalise their services as surveys has clearly shown that we prefer grabcar/uber than the regular taxi drivers.

I suppose this is what the taxi drivers have to pay after years of abuse of their licence. I have had my share abuse by taxi drivers years ago. I was travelling along jln Sg Besi when I heard over the radio taxi that there is customer wanting to go to KLIA. My taxi driver immediately responded to the call & pretended that the taxi was out of gas & dropped me by the roadside. I was shocked by the move…

Lets all show our support & download the grabcar and uber app to get our rides…

• in Penang taxi refuse to use meter but protected by gov as licensed driver, this is Msia lah :)

• Tanph on Aug 22, 2016 at 9:15 pm

let this bloody taxi gangster try it on my car, I assure you a few of them will be under my car by then.
    useless Taxi drivers, bullying the public. They only dare to do this when they are in a group, one to one they are like mice.
    I am just waiting for my turn to run over a few of them, and I will claim I did it in selfdefense as I really felt my life and that of the rider was in danger of being physically abused.