Volkswagen Australia announce dieselgate recall – 83,593 vehicles affected, but no fix available yet

Volkswagen Jetta CKD 15

Volkswagen Australia has just issued a recall for its vehicles affected by the global dieselgate scandal – particularly, passenger and commerical vehicles equipped with the EA189 2.0 litre EU5-compliant four-cylinder diesel engines.

“The relevant government authorities have been advised of this action and VGA will continue to work closely with them as it awaits further information from the head office of Volkswagen,” Volkswagen Group Australia said in an official statement.

A total of 83,593 Volkswagen and Skoda-badged vehicles have been confirmed for this recall, but apparently owners of affected vehicles can’t bring their cars in for a fix, because there simply isn’t one yet.CarAdvice reports that owners of affected Volkswagen vehicles may have to wait until next year for a technical solution from the Volkswagen Group.

diesel-cap

Of the 83,593 units recalled, 61,189 Volkswagen passenger of them are Volkswagen-badged vehicles, including the Golf, Polo, Jetta, Passat CC, Passat, CC, Eos, and Tiguan, all of which were manufactured sometime between years 2008 and 2015.

A total of 5,148 Skoda-branded vehicles that also use the EA189 2.0 litre diesel engines were confirmed to be affected, among them the Skoda Octavia, Yeti, and Superb. Their manufacture years range from 2009 to 2015. The remaining units are Volkswagen commercial vehicles, being the Caddy and Amarok. These totalled to 17,256 affected units.

The recall is of course part of the great Volkswagen action plan set forth by the carmaker in a bid to rectify some 11 million cars globally, each fitted with the infamous “defeat devices” used to achieve targeted results during emissions tests.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• All the salesman off from office already.

• Big Liar company on Oct 10, 2015 at 3:09 pm

What Malaysians can do at the moment, refrain buying Audi and VW. The company cannot be trusted. Remember, for every lie, there is 9 other lies hidden.

How to trust paying RM200k in Malaysia to a company that is compulsive liar?

you see, Mat Salleh buy Passat, when he find out it is a lemon, it is no big loss for him. What is US20k for a Mat Salleh? Even Mcdonalds workers make that amount in 4 months working.

But to Malaysians, RM200k is big big money. How to pay so much to a company that lies lies lies and lies? This dieselgate, they denied for 1 whole year before they had no choice but to admit.

DSG also, they denied for years. Finally with the law suits, they had to admit. Still no solution to their faulty DSG which is happily sold in Malaysia!

• VGM Pls Close Shop on Oct 11, 2015 at 5:47 pm

We Malaysian cannot stand your lies VGM

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 12, 2015 at 12:11 pm

That’s why I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.
          No cheating device like VW, no unreliable parts like Proton, comfort, fuel saving and the best part – Best RV!

• the white stripes on Oct 12, 2015 at 1:25 pm

are u the one the salesman? looks like u knew everything. hahahaha

• Rakyat: Pls kolos shop now! Oh wai… its Mat Salleh. We must kow tow to them. So pls dun kolos shop!

• 2014 Passat Owner on Oct 10, 2015 at 3:36 pm

My 2014 Passat I bought in March 2014. In 18 months, my car has been in SC for 5 times. Each time, they said they replace the DSG.

Each time they hold my car for 3 weeks…never buy VW in Malaysia anymore!

• According to macais logic, if its Proton then its kroni Proton fault. Lousy shit cars by unqualified locals.
        But if its from Mat Salleh then its tiptop engineering, very perfect one. Yours is user problem. Must kowtow, jangan persoal.

• Uncivilized on Oct 11, 2015 at 5:46 pm

What rubbish are you talking now? Troll bodoh. Pergi tidur dan makan nasi lemak bro

• Tun Teja on Oct 12, 2015 at 1:28 pm

why need to close while sales getting high and better. haha.

• Diesel on Oct 09, 2015 at 10:19 pm

To achieve euro 5 emission, so much thing need to improve for the EA189 engine for example 4th generation commonrail injectors, more precise range of intake pressure maybe biturbo & proper redesign of engine top. If they do minor changes only, surely the emission level will critical after a year or 2.

• jiang on Oct 10, 2015 at 8:16 am

Dun need to crack mind. Use p2 or Tokota engines. Reliability is guaranteed by same lorrr. High RV too

• Van Diesel on Oct 11, 2015 at 1:14 am

But there don’t have euro-5 diesel engines, there petrol engines less frugal less efficeint less reliable than clean diesel engines.