3.6 mil VW 1.6 TDI cars need hardware fix – Germany

Volkswagen Jetta CKD 15

Around 3.6 million Volkswagen cars in Europe with the 1.6 litre TDI engine will require hardware changes in the company’s diesel emissions rigging scandal, a spokesman for the German transport ministry has said.

The snippet from Reuters confirms earlier work by the Wall Street Journal, which quoted VW tech spokesman Christian Buhlmann saying that hardware changes will involve cars with 1.2 and 1.6 litre TDI engines. It is necessary because a fuel injection pump has to be replaced to ensure a smooth ride. The 2.0 TDI will only need a software update for Europe, but US standards are higher and it’s not yet certain if a reflash is sufficient there, it was said.

The 1.6 TDI (EU5) was a popular engine for compact models and the 3.6 million units include cars from Volkswagen Group brands such as Audi, Skoda and SEAT. The group sold a total of eight million cars in Europe with illegal software, fitted on the EA189 type 1.2 TDI, 1.6 TDI and 2.0 TDI engines.

“At no time was the safety of our customers compromised. And above all: all EU6 diesel vehicles comply with legal specifications and environmental requirements. For Wolfsburg, that means production can continue,” VW Group’s new CEO Matthias Muller said.

In the action plan announced on September 30, VW says that it will first inform affected customers that the emissions characteristics of their vehicles will be corrected in the near future. Each affected brand will present technical solutions and measures to the responsible authorities this month. Customers will be kept informed over the coming weeks and months, and national websites will deliver updates.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Open Letter to Matthias Muller on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:48 am

What about Malaysia Matthias? What about the lemon DSG sold in Malaysia? Don’t Malaysian VW buyers deserve to be compensated for being sold a lemon?

Instead of recalling in Europe, why don’t you compensate all your DSG customers who have been suffering with their cars in Malaysia?

Be a responsible company. You have sold lemons in Malaysia. VW AG confirmed this. The DSGs cannot be sold in hot climate countries and with bad traffic jams.
    Do the right thing. Compensate your customers.

People bought RM180k thinking they are getting German quality not breakdowns every other month. Most DSG VW owners live in utter fear and just use their cars in the city and use their Japs for outstation travel for fear of the car breaking down.

So VW AG, pls, pls compensate all your customers in Malaysia. Do the right thing. Muller pls don’t forsake your Asian customers who are suffering too cause VGM is not bothered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Areyousure on Oct 12, 2015 at 11:57 am

If someone here follow the real-world test published by BBC. They were testing “2.0 VW turbo-diesel (Euro 5)” and “1.5 Ford turbo-diesel (Euro 6)”.

The Euro-5 but bigger capacity emitting not much higher than the smaller Euro-6 in real-world.

• I'm not sure on Oct 13, 2015 at 9:04 am

Yes, because of the dieselgate scandal by VW, the rest car manufacturer not so intelligence like VW do.

• VGM Pls Close Shop on Oct 12, 2015 at 11:11 am

Nobody dare buy VW or Audi in Malaysia. Don’t know what other lies they are hiding. They always say, for every lie told, there are 9 other lies hidden.

Not worth risking RM200k on a company that is compulsive liar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Same L0rrrr on Oct 12, 2015 at 12:00 pm

That’s why i told you, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Touran on Oct 12, 2015 at 12:55 pm

Driving my second VW in 3 years. First a golf, had 2 accidents in it. One really bad, a drunk driver in a 4 wheeler rear ended me at high speed. Thank God we were kept safe, wife was 6 months pregnant then. After 3 years, except for a written clutch which they replaced under warranty, no known issues. Just bought a X-Touran as a family MPV, cos feels safe carrying my precious cargo, my 2 little princesses. Was looking around for a family MPV and test drive all the popular Jap makes, but finally still settled back on VW cos safety and still affordable. Just speaking from my personal experience. Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Bodoh orang beli VW becoz of EGO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
      • Teacher on Oct 12, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Obvious that our education system failed. This fler can’t read English. Hehehe

• Orang putih on Oct 12, 2015 at 2:35 pm

No lah I think the guy actually meant to say if buy for other reasons it’s OK, like for safety etc. Give him benefit of doubt lah. Can’t be that dumb right cannot understand simple cakap orang putih? Hahahaaa

• Nothing wrong to be ego for “safety” and “performance”. While Japanese being too ego for “profit”

• Touran on Oct 12, 2015 at 2:57 pm

My wife and I to this day both agree that our first daughter while we were expecting, was kept cos we were in a VW, when the pick up knocked us from behind. Since then there have been many times when we both had said that if we had been in any other car, we can’t imagine what would have happened. For that we are thankful, but of course God’s grace was also watching over my little family I’m sure. Any car, has their strengths and weaknesses, but always drive safe. I really think that the government should make it compulsory for all cars to come with 6 airbags and ESP at least.

• Das Autar on Oct 12, 2015 at 7:00 pm

From the way you wrote, I guess you’re a VW Salesman trying to clear existing Touran stock. Since you own a VW for 3 years, please don’t tell us that you never send your car back to your own service center, and you should speak about that experience instead of your “sales” experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • Arbiter on Oct 12, 2015 at 9:30 pm

He did say in the 3 years he had a worn clutch replaced under warranty, if u read carefully. Doubt he’s a salesman as he didn’t try to hard sell about VW performance, power etc. So please show some courtesy to the other users of this space instead of trolling and intimidating with accusations. It only shows that u had bad breeding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Das Autar on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Yes, thank you another salesman breeding here. Must be certified recently on selling lemons to all of us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
          • Arbiter on Oct 12, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Learn to speak like a decent human being. U may make your own value judgements as you read but it’s unnecessary to make accusations or deride with derogatory remarks just because other users here share their personal experiences and hold opinions different from yours. Why wear your prejudices and show hire petty you are? Give yourself a little more respect than this.

• Das Autar on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Yeah, I like your comment too. Don’t forget, it’s also my personal opinions like everyone else. You can save your last sentence to yourself and stop selling lemons in Malaysia and go back to Germany. If you don’t have lemon, go and buy one. It’s damn great experience that you never forget.

• Safety first on Oct 12, 2015 at 3:16 pm

Being a car producing country we should set higher standards of safety for all cars. I think the government should make it compulsory to have 6 airbags and ESP in all cars.

• Gomen on Oct 12, 2015 at 4:03 pm

In the words of a Singapore diplomat, u must be ‘delusional’ to think that GLC owned car companies will make that compulsory when it would cut into profits. But good wishful thinking. Lol