Toyota S-FR specs leaked – 130 hp/148 Nm 1.5 litre direct-injected engine, six-speed manual only, 980 kg!

TOYOTA_S-FR_011

Specifications of the exciting Toyota S-FR concept have yet to be officially released, but it appears the juicy details regarding the production entry-level rear-wheel drive sports car are already out in the open, if S-FR Forums has got this one correct.

It seems that Toyota engineers have taken a page out of the Mazda MX-5 handbook, such are its similarities – and it starts with what’s under the bonnet. Powering the S-FR will reportedly be a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated engine – essentially the JDM Corolla Axio‘s Atkinson-cycle 2NR-FKE with D-4S direct injection and redesigned ports (it also shares its roots with the Avanza’s new 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i mill).

Output is rated at 130 PS and 148 Nm – that’s 1 PS and 2 Nm down on the JDM MX-5‘s 1.5L SkyActiv-G engine, but the S-FR should more than make up its deficit by being 10 kg lighter at 980 kg. What’s more, unlike the Mazda, the Toyota is slated to only come with a six-speed manual gearbox – there’ll be no auto option, not even if you wanted to. Fuel consumption is quoted at 20 km per litre on Japan’s JC08 test cycle.

Dimensions have also been given – surprisingly, despite the compact proportions, the S-FR is set to be slightly bigger than the MX-5, measuring 3,990 mm long (75 mm longer), 1,695 mm wide (35 mm narrower) and 1,320 mm tall (85 mm taller), with a 2,480 mm wheelbase (165 mm longer). Then again, the S-FR is a 2+2, whereas the MX-5 is a strict two-seater.

Other details include a suspension setup consisting of MacPherson struts at the front and double wishbones at the rear. Indicative pricing has also been bandied about, with the S-FR set to cost 1.5 million yen (RM52k), considerably undercutting the 2,494,800 yen (RM86,500) base model MX-5.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Then we will be having 100k++ roadster given malaysia tax structure… Lightweight, rear wheel drive and 3-pedals – a mouthwatering prospect

• donno on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:33 am

Ckd it here, slap on “perodua” badge for national car tax rate and you will have lots of willing customers

• Cukur lah! on Oct 12, 2015 at 11:01 am

Come to malaysia, the pariah UMW will take out VSC and just put 2 airbags and sell 3X the price.

Orang majority will cream cukur! cukur! cukur!

• Manual only. A whole lot of Perodua customers will pass cuz girls only know how to drive with auto.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 12, 2015 at 12:14 pm

When it arrive Malaysia, most of you may not able to afford this. THanks to your beloved Proton!
        When they can’t make a good car, they ensure no Malaysian can enjoy it.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 12, 2015 at 7:00 pm

just keep it under RM200k.

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:22 am

toyota should seriously consider to CKD this car and pretty sure it’ll qualify for EEV tax exemptions. Price it at RM70k and i’m pretty sure you’ll have a big winner in your hands assuming no other car brands dare to do this

• Henry on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:24 am

I hope this car will come in as an official import.

• tokmoh. on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:25 am

It’s even cheaper than Volvo Iriz top spec. Impressive Japan.

*breathing intensifies*

• 980kg…nice…can drift like ae86

• kington on Oct 12, 2015 at 12:03 pm

They did a pretty good job sorting out the balance for the 86, which although had just enough power to hold and attain drift momentum still felt under-powered by most.

This should be interesting. It weighs similar to the Mk1 Vios with a new rear double wishbone suspension.

Good to see that the boss really does want Toyotas to be fun again given that the new Vellfire/Alpahrd, the upcoming Prius and this baby drifter come fitted with rear double wishbone suspension.

• After CKD n G tax, UMW TOYOTA will sell u RM134k

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:55 am

It looks goofy to me, the upcoming Honda S1000 looks more enticing.

• Yeah.. This one I agree :) if upcoming S1000 takes design cues from NSX.. Then it’ll be more attractive.

• sepul on Oct 12, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Yummy! Swap the face please, Toyota.

• mujinkun (Member) on Oct 12, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Since when Toyota and Alfa Romeo collaborate on product design? Or did I miss something on recent news?

• JB King going to buy one.

• What a pity 148nm.

• Donno on Oct 12, 2015 at 6:53 pm

It would also be cool if Aston Martin could come up with a collaboration with Toyota ala the cygnet.

Theo could you please illustrate an Aston Martin version of this car please?