Berjaya Auto to maintain Mazda prices for now – report

Mazda MX-5 15

Berjaya Auto Bhd will not be looking to raise the prices of Mazda cars for the time being, according to a report by The Edge Financial Daily. This is despite the increased production costs and unstable foreign exchange – the same situation has seen the likes of UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) raise the price on both its Lexus and Toyota models while Honda Malaysia has hinted that it will likely follow in the UMWT’s footsteps.

However, Berjaya Auto CEO, Datuk Ben Yeoh, has told the English-language daily that it might consider hiking the prices of Mazda cars should the ringgit breach the 3.8 mark against ¥100. “(As we move) towards the end of the year, we are trying to hold back for customers. There is no point for us to increase the price under the current economic environment,” said Yeoh.

“If (the price of) everything starts to increase, it will not be good for the economic environment. (So) we will maintain the current selling price by reducing other expenses,” added Yeoh. So while the group’s profit margin is currently under a fair amount of pressure, Yeoh has remained adamant that “the group will only revise the selling price should the rising cost exceed its limit.”

M2_NewColours_23

Additionally, an analyst has told the publication that Berjaya Auto has already hedged against the yen at RM3.15 to ¥100 and, as a result, should be well guarded against volatile currency fluctuation. “I see Berjaya Auto having limited exposure to the foreign exchange rate,” commented said analyst.

As mentioned, come January 2016, prices of both Toyota and Lexus models will see an increase of between 4% to 16% – more affordable models are expected to receive a small hike while CBU models, like the Alphard, will probably witness a more significant jump in price. On a brighter note, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has stated that it will maintain the prices of its car into 2016.

GALLERY: Mazda MX-5 launched in Malaysia

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• They have already priced their cars a cut above from the rest.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 13, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Good to hear that Mazda not increasing price. But their RV still low.

• Gargantia on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:34 pm

As long as not belong to AP cronies UMW will stay for awhile…

• Nonsense Logic on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Already overpriced of course lah maintain it same price only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • lantis on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:15 pm

What makes you think it is overpriced? With the spec and list of equipment available for our market?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • kkzoom on Oct 13, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Well, looks like your name reflects the same… talking NONSENSE. For once in your miserable life ….
      do some checking before you utter NONSENSE again!!!

• madany on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:45 pm

should reduce prices la..summore with EEV tax rebates

• Johnny on Oct 13, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Mazda MX-5.

– No Turbo
    – Small boot space
    – Less 2 doors
    – Less 2 seats
    – 4-Star Euro NCAP
    – 2.0l engine = expensive road tax
    – Price = expensive insurance

Yet price is more expensive than a Golf GTI and Renault Megane RS. What bull….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • old dog on Oct 13, 2015 at 8:45 pm

japan QE drop the Yen to 3.0-3.3 for 100 Yen and they earn like hell without making any sounds..

• are you sure on Oct 15, 2015 at 3:36 am

Are you sure? How do you like Najib’s Malaysia QE for you? You making more money now?

• Stupid Bermaz on Oct 13, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Lol…. Those prices aren’t even cheap too begin with…