Road deaths in Malaysia above world average – report

Crash accident collision

The rising rate of road accidents have brought with it more fatalities, and the statistic of the latter in Malaysia is now higher than the world average, if a report by the New Straits Times is to be believed.

According to deputy health minister Datuk Seri Dr Hilmi Yahya, the nation’s traffic-related death-to-population ratio stands at 23.6 to 100,000 people, compared to the world average of 18 to 100,000 people.

The report noted that, by comparison, Australia has just four road deaths per 100,000 of its population, while the figure for the United Kingdom is 14 fatalities per 100,000 people.

At this rate, Malaysia would, said Hilmi, require many more emergency physicians within the next five years, to cope with so many road incidents – there are currently just 205 registered across the country.

“We need more well-run, efficient and effective emergency medical and trauma services,” he told reporters. “With the country having such a high number of deaths caused especially by road traffic accidents, we certainly need a higher number of emergency physicians from the present 205.”

Malaysian Society of Traumatology and Emergency Medicine president Prof Datuk Seri Dr Abu Hassan Asaari Abdullah agreed with Hilmi, adding that Malaysia is expected to increase the amount of its emergency physicians to around 600 in the next five years.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:19 am

Duh, even a monkey can tell their human counterparts are dying like flies on the road. Just look at how dangerous everyone is driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Gargantia on Oct 13, 2015 at 12:40 pm

Soon will be 0.6 % because every Rakyat will walk to work and can’t effort to own a car… Except AP cronies and ministers more then 10 cars per person and sure find more ways to force Rakyat bankrupts !!!

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Told you those ASEAN NCAP 5 stars are nothing but just marketing huuhaa. Crash test conducted at 60km/h then the Proton fanboys thought they are invincible and hit the tree/signboard at 160km/h.
        Yet they forgot their pathetic Iswara/Saga/Wira/Savvy have no airbags, no ABS, no TRC, no impact absorption chassis, no VSC.
        Those 5 star Proton are only available in showroom or warehouse, coz no one even bother to buy them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
        • what about those cars which are caught in accidents WITHOUT safety features in it? how can Proton cars alone account for road accidents? come on bro, make your arguments real,.learn to give concrete facts so no one can fault your thoughts.
          btw, at least later models of Proton cars have safety features

*a lot of problems in the country is because of the lack of enforcement..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrrr on Oct 13, 2015 at 5:32 pm

You are able to afford Suprima S (best safety features in Proton), but not able to afford Camry Hybrid (best safety features in Toyota).

Then you claim Proton is safer than Toyota, because you can only buy a Vios with SS price.

Where is your facts and logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • caveman on Oct 13, 2015 at 4:08 pm

innovation is there to make our life better and safer. you must be the kind of guy who hate 5/6 speeder, cvt and dual clutch because your 4 speeder works fine :)

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 13, 2015 at 5:29 pm

We have 4 speed auto, CVT, 6 speed, E-CVT etc other gearbox. We are the largest car maker in the world WITHOUT cheating devices. When you can’t afford CVT, E-CVT, 6 speed auto, due to Proton protection, you blame us only have 4 speeders. How hilarious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Nonsense Logic on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Only allow Volvo cars to be sold here.

Others cannot and banned forever.

• hailthepurist on Oct 13, 2015 at 5:01 pm

we have to rush to the petrol station before midnight before end-of-month for the good-or-bad news..

• malaysian got alot of noob drivers

the other day pass the toll after pay..was driving, wa…u see alot of cars racing out from toll…duno why always like dat the mentality…1 day sure got a few cars will come together…toll got > 8 lanes i presumed…imagine all squeeze into the 3 lane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • 4wheeler on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:30 am

What,require more emergency physicians due to more road accidents??Anticipating more road accidents is not the correct way of solving this matter.This health minister should know that prevention is better than cure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • NiceGuy on Jan 31, 2017 at 2:47 pm

Exactly! They should first of all stop the corruption that is, asking for bribes to get their license the easy way. Allowing even stupid assholes to drive on the road after paying a few hundreds after failing 5-6 times for the jpj test. Ffs.

• Lanhb on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:32 am

Driving test syllabus should promote defensive driving…

• jobless on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:33 am

blame it on tbe sky high car prices..brainlesss ah beng driving cheap 1.5 liter car but becoz of the xcise duty he tink he is driving prestige powerful car (only the price powerful) so drive like mad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Grabdrebar on Oct 13, 2015 at 12:39 pm

People driving super expensive, by your logic must be driving 1.5 liter car or higher, are equally responsible. Often you see these luxury cars being driven like mad as well when they should be the one setting the example for others. Owh wait. That must be their ah beng driver doing that. Menyusahkan orang!

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 13, 2015 at 5:39 pm

BMW i8 also 1.5 liter engine, RM90 road tax but RM1.2mil price tag. Now you know how ignorance you are.

• John lee on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:34 am

As long as we prefer speeding, weaving in and out of traffic recklessly and completely disregarding traffic laws like the two boys in Penang whose car got clamped for illegal parking, the we will continue to enjoy third world road fatality rates with third world mentalities. Grow Up Malaysia. Please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Leafable on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:38 am

Tell me something new please. Everyone know that not one follow traffic rules in Malaysia. Rules are there to protect each others.

• tokmoh. on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:44 am

Becuz people buy Perodua, Toyota. They increase price also so many sheeps still buy. They die accident also need have good RV to cover cost of funeral.

People should buy Volvo of Asia. Always got discount, carnival, good value for money. Safety, well their HPF is even stronger than Volvo’s boron steels.

Latest Volvo XC90 keeps breaking crash test records as world’s safest car, so imagine if Proton goes in. Sure will make that Volvo look like tin milo.

Buy Volvo of Asia. You won’t need to have funeral anymore, so no need RV also doesn’t matter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • That’s y i said Perodua is rubbish, Toyota moving to coffin.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok
        What model does Proton sell the most? Saga.
        Does Saga has:
        1. VSC? No
        2. HPF? No
        3. Traction Control? No
        4. 6 airbags? No
        5. ASEAN 5 star? No
        6. ABS? No
        7. EBD? No
        8. BA? No

You can imagine your Proton F22 or StarTrek spaceship whatever you want, but it is NOT SAFE after all. Be a man, swallow the fact!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • U talk cock ar? Currently the hotsale models are Viva, Axia, Myvi and Vios. Juz look at the most driver’s attitude like rubbish thinking never bother other people on the road. Be man, dun talk cock.

• A Malaysian on Oct 13, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Lol you take saga as an example? Saga has been in Malaysia for so long. How about take the recent models, and compare it with Perodua’s recent models. Take Suprima and Iriz, Axia and that refreshed useless Myvi. Now go check their safety specs! Well it’s the attitude on the road after all. No need to mention the crazy Myvi drivers or wtv, if you own a Volvo and still drive like a dumbass, its either you risk yourself or you risk others’ life. Malaysian drivers just need more awareness and better attitude on the road. Yes safe cars help a lil but how you handle the car is the thing that matters the most.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:44 am

It’s all a part of natural selection. They ride/drive like assholes, they die horribly and will no longer be a nuisance on the roads.

Considering the large number of morons still on the roads who are endangering other road users, I’d say that our death rate is still not high enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Grabdrebar on Oct 13, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Stupid. Doesnt make any sense. Natural selection my ass.

• Especially Viva, Myvi and Vios drivers. U can count among other brand.

• Captain Obvious on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:37 pm

It’s ok if they kill themselves, but the problem is they always drag some other innocent people along with them.

• DPCraft on Oct 13, 2015 at 12:09 pm

haizz.
    1st G tax cars until price sky high
    then majority ppl go buy Myvi, and some go buy Vios
    2. Both cars have no VSC
    3.If noob driver drives those cars, got high chance of getting accident.

• FlamingFox88 on Oct 13, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Are rempits considered here also?

• Stop buying Viva, Axia, Myvi and Vios will decrease rate of road accidents.q

• Fafau80 on Oct 13, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Malaysian drivers a hyper-crazy when being on the road..being both motor biker and car driver, feel’in traumatized. Rules are made to be broken…

• i was threaten twice and nearly assaulted by some Malaysian Indians for driving slow at LDP and Sprint Highway. One of them block my way and grabbed my door and asked me if i want to get punched. Not to be racist, maybe it’s just coincidence. i was travelling with my 1 year old and disabled father on board at the time. He then left without a sorry.

• Cikgu BM on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:29 pm

That person have very bad attitude and rude!

• Ollie on Oct 13, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Why need to refer to race? we just saw two guys going to court for abusing the officer in penang

• should have stayed on most left lane, no one will angry then.
      drive slow at right and middle lane, everyone also will rage

• Roadhero on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Disregard the traffic laws, impatience, Q jumping and worse of all motorcyclist ride their bike like Valentino Rossi ! Some Malaysian parents even put their kids in danger, kids without wearing seat belt and baby sitting on the lap of the mom act as an “air bag” for the mom !

• Malaysian drove poor safety car…. Government taxing on safety features as luxury not necessity.

• Shaekey on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:04 pm

1. Malaysian still lacking in terms attitude towards safety. They put on seatbelt just to avoid a traffic ticket instead of to ensure their safety if accident happens. That’s the same reason you see many motorist don’t wear a helmet when they ride within their housing area or close to their house – to them the severity of an accident is relative to the distance from their house.
    2. Emergency service can’t get to the accident location fast enough. If you see 911 tv program from the US, the program basically shows how many life they save including many accident victims. They can get to the accident location very fast and potentially safe lives before it’s too late. Malaysian 999 tv program shows how many accident victims they put in body bags.

• safetyFirst on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:12 pm

I think quite a big numbers of fatality from motorcyclists. Do we have figure comparison among SEA contry that also having a lot kapchai on their road? Next would be our poor safety awareness also poor safety features on our vehicles.

• Black Dog on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Blame it on the lack of enforcement and ‘minum kopi’ by the traffic cops. Now its like a free-for-all. Even aunties driving recklessly!

• Jezza on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Paultan, can you compare with other country that have same climate like ours? Because in general, there are a lot of factors to consider such as climate, raining (and haze?) season, car’s quality (ehem… no vsc, abs), and standard of living (develop country vs developing country?).

• Ollie on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Boss. Go look at the data yourself http://gamapserver.who.int/gho/interactive_charts/road_safety/road_traffic_deaths2/atlas.html

We are so far ahead in road deaths nearing top 10 in the world, behind Iraq, Sudan etc. The numbers tell the story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • Jezza on Oct 13, 2015 at 4:49 pm

You means compare with the country that have war and many car bomb? Ntah mana ambik data tu. Dont trust internet 100% lol.

• Ollie on Oct 13, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Yes, exactly, we are the same as war-torn countries. World Health Org data. Mind-blowing the level of brain capacity on show here.

• DonkeyKongBodo on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:13 pm

SO donkeykong..
    if one asshole driver hit a car that your wife/girlfriend/daughter/son/boyfriend is inside and they die, so do you want more innocent people to die?
    do you think the death rates only accounted for asshole drivers?
    i bet you are one of those asshole drivers.

• The statistics is particularly bad when you look at IN FULL CONTEXT. In UK 60% of road death is ALCOHOL RELATED, in US, 40%. In a Muslim country, a higher number of road death indicate something systematically very wrong..

• Ollie on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:42 pm

I want to hear what the Proton minions have to say. Just yesterday I said blood was on their hands because Malaysians are forced to buy unsafe cars because of protectionism. Now the numbers tell you the story. With ESC, Euro-compliant crash protection, deaths would be halved. Even accounting for Malaysian’s poor driving skills, we are top 20 in the world. 70% of those deaths come from the cars, incl Perodua Viva, Myvi, Alza, Kancil and Proton’s caskets, and motorcycles. Why people have to buy moto? Because in the UK GBP1000 will buy you a good 2nd-hand car in an open car market, but here the cheapest driveable 2nd-hand car even Myvi is RM25000 because of distortion (Just an example, if you don’t know what market distortion is go google it or ask an Economics grad). Proton and its supporters are to blame for the deaths on Malaysian roads.

• If you can afford it, theres new Perdana.
      If cant afford it, theres Suprima.
      If still cant afford it, theres Preve.
      If somemore still cant afford it, theres Iriz
      If lagi still cant afford it, you deserve to drive a moving coffin.

• Jamie on Oct 13, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Ollie, im trying to digest where your anger is coming from,.certainly the fault cannot come from just one car manufacturer

we have these problems among Malaysians that contribute to road accidents (with regard to the topic of the story, that is)

1. no enforcement (or the lack of it)
      2. lack of education- and by this i do not mean a university degree or a list of As in every single public examinations- education here means, one who is able to:have respect for society, respect towards other living beings, respect for the environment,etc etc ie in summary having good a attitude./being a responsible human being

until then, NO SAFETY features in the world can guarantee a person’s safety on the road. they just serve to reduce the tendency for such occurrences.

• Ollie on Oct 13, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Here’s clarity: Proton is protected. The car market is distorted. People are forced to buy unsafe cars as safety features are not incorporated due to the high tax structure and to keep the cars somewhat affordable. That is why you see premium safety only in cars >RM100k, apart from some Korean makes. Is this not clear?

• P2 macai on Oct 13, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Proton cars are equipped with better safety specs than your macai’s cars. I think P2 caskets and its supporters are to be blamed.

• rally_fan (Member) on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:51 pm

i think too many people here harp on “safer” cars, safety features..etc. etc. yes.. they are great and can save lives.. but they are not the solution if PEOPLE continue to crash cars, bikes, trucks..etc. The problem is people. We have poorly trained drivers, huge numbers that do not even have a license, poor enforcement, poorly designed roads…etc…. Miros research in 2015 states that over 80% of accidents are due to human error. Better driver education and training together with better enforcement is probably the only way it can be done.. and only the government can make this happen.. in the meantime.. we ourselves need to check ourselves and make sure we dont contribute to the problem.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 13, 2015 at 3:37 pm

I know I’m not the only one who thinks us Malaysian drivers are getting worse with each passing year. More people are dying despite the fact that our cars have been getting safer.

5 years ago, there was no ASEAN NCAP. 5 years ago, most Protons were Milo tins, today, half of all Proton cars on sale have either ESC or 6 airbags, and all Perodua cars have 2 airbags at least.

Don’t blame the police or BN, for once, we are the guilty ones.

• JustDrive on Oct 13, 2015 at 5:12 pm

Waiting for Sam Lorr to come promote his godcar

• Crap cars, crap roads and ZERO police enforcement. Mostly its the 100% BN tax system that makes it ridiculously expensive to buy a REAL car. This govt is illegitimate.

• Purple Carrot on Oct 14, 2015 at 7:30 am

Too many drivers these days cant even gauge their safe braking distance. Malaysian Malaysian, tail gating kings. Ain’t the speed that kills, but unskillful drivers that think that they are drag kings.