Uber and GrabCar unimpressed by intimidation from taxi drivers, hope authorities will take action

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 6

Despite rogue taxi drivers taking matters into their own hands by conducting “arrests” of Uber and GrabCar drivers, Uber has stated its stand – it remains unintimidated. The company says that vigilantism by these drivers will not see the ride-sharing app pulling its drivers off the streets, The Malay Mail reports. Meanwhile, GrabCar has also expressed its disappointment over the incident.

“We strongly condemn the use of intimidation and violence against our driver partners, including holding our driver partners to ransom by assaulting them and damaging their cars and even intimidating and threatening riders,” Leon Foong, general manager of Uber’s Malaysian chapter said.

“We are confident that the local authorities and judicial system will take note of these incidents and take immediate action against those indulging in violent and unlawful activities,” he added. Foong assured however that the company will carry on providing its services regardless of the setbacks.

Meanwhile, GrabCar released a statement on the matter, saying that, “we are disappointed by the recent incidents of taxi drivers taking unilateral action against GrabCar drivers. We are concerned about the safety of our GrabCar drivers and passengers, and urge the authorities to ensure that crimes like assault, harassment and vandalism and any organisation that supports such disorderly behaviour, are not tolerated.”

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 1

Both Uber and GrabCar said that they are offering Malaysians in general, an alternative option to get around. “All transport operators, whether GrabCar, taxi operators or other public transport operators, should similarly strive to provide safe rides, trusted drivers and cars in good conditions for the benefit of commuters in Malaysia,” GrabCar said in an e-mail statement.

Meanwhile, Karun Arya, Uber’s head of communications for Southeast Asia and India said that there is an emergency helpline in place. Should Uber drivers face harassment or hostility of any kind, a distress call can be made. Upon response, a security team will be sent to the driver’s precise location. This was set up a few months ago, and the company is exploring other safety solutions, according to Arya.

Both apps are facing hard times – from local protests which saw taxi drivers ambush a GrabCar driver to requests for both apps to be disabled and more recently, rogue “arrests” of Uber and GrabCar drivers around KLCC by taxi drivers. The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has urged that taxi drivers improve their services and image instead of going on protests.

Today, the police has come out to warn taxi drivers not to take the law into their own hands. So folks, what’s your take on this issue?

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• TeksiBusuk on Oct 13, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Cuci kereta you orang bersih2 baru cakap. BUSUK!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
    • SPAD Sole Cause of Problems on Oct 13, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Actually, the big problem is SPAD. SPAD is allowing all this protest to go on. Why? Very simple.

SPAD’s chairman Albar’s wife owns many teksi companies. When Uber and Grabcar came into Malaysia, her companies lost a lot of money and is losing a lot of money.

So, SPAD, as any husband who is scared of his wife would do, quickly ban Uber and ban Grabcar.

You see, in Malaysia, there is no such thing as CONFLICT OF INTEREST.

SPAD is now closing an eye to all this violence because Albar’s wife is not happy with slow business.

All these violence is approved by SPAD. Infact, it is indirectly sanctioned by SPAD.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 6
      • George Abdul on Oct 14, 2015 at 4:57 pm

True SPAD should take responsibility of this because as a Govt development of running the industry. Main concern start from them for not taking care of taxis policy and consumers feedback… Infact all they know are just blaming others like all the othera ministry department !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • Open Letter to SPAD on Oct 15, 2015 at 10:46 am

Pls confiscate all these drivers lesen. Do it immediately. There is a long list of people wanting to take their lesen and place immediately.

So many people want to be teksi driver cause easy to make money. So, pls confiscate all their lesen immediately

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Oct 13, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Tthese hooligans see their own PM act like hooligan, so, they think it is okey to act like hooligan. Leaders must show example first. Not break the law and get away with it.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.
      Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given Tunship.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get low spec lousy cars with super high prices. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe cars that are also reasonably priced.

This is why we get thugs threatening those who work hard like Uber and Grabcar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Malam Jumaat on Oct 13, 2015 at 7:39 pm

These are all lazy fellows. Don’t want to work hard. All the time wanting government help and asking discounts. All the time, they just think about makan nasi lemak, tidur, kongkek kakak ipar, kahwin empat and Malam jumaat.

Instead of working hard, they lepak in KFC and makan ayam goreng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Clever on Oct 14, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Stupid you. Lazy like you. Just recycle same comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • Balachandran Kuppusamy on Oct 15, 2015 at 7:32 am

I’m a taxi driver and I do everything that you mentioned except kongkek my own kakak iPar n kahwin empat.

• Jeanne Sim on Oct 15, 2015 at 7:45 pm

maybe we can get the red shirt to tackle the driver bullying uber?

• IGP is Super Scared on Oct 13, 2015 at 7:46 pm

IGP is so scared. How to arrest these guys? All the teksi licence all given to UMNO big hats. If they lose money, that is the end of IGP. He knows that. He dare not touch these teksi gangsters.

He was so scared, he just give them gentle warning yesterday

• ben yap on Oct 13, 2015 at 6:53 pm

is uber security team going to come arm with weapons to clash with the drivers? or just come to talk and nego?

• Nasi Lemak Management on Oct 13, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Please arrest malaysia taxi drivers n sack SPAD. Eventhough SPAD taking crap grabcar n uber is illegal but they cant take serious action against gangster teksi 1 malaysia taxi drivers. I support UBER n Grabar oni.. They are honest, cheap n safe… As long as there is a nasi lemak management in our country, there wont be any gud progress in our system!

• Teksibiadap on Oct 13, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Selamatkan sendiri dengan:
    1. Pakai meter
    2. Kereta bersih
    3. Sikap bertamadun
    4. Tolak ansur di jalan raya
    5. Jujur
    6. tolong Naik turun bagasi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 4
    • jamal on Oct 14, 2015 at 7:53 pm

i often use normal taxi to and from airport as i travel alot interstate. most, i say 9 out of 10 times i come across honest and nice taxi drivers.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 13, 2015 at 8:20 pm

If they can’t fight you, they rob/arrest you. What’s difference between this and the toll hike? I don’t see any.

• Kepot on Oct 13, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Hahaha…. Improve your service and take care of your car. Bukan macam kereta family…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • old dog on Oct 13, 2015 at 8:38 pm

this is exactly the reason we dont like this taxi so much, bunch of gansters running them..

• shame_loo on Oct 13, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Look at your poor service, poor car quality, no comfort, no safety, dirty and the worst, passenger is afraid of being robbed, raped by taxi driver!!!

• Taximan on Oct 13, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Why don’t they just use their time cleaning up their taxis and doing an honest day’s work rather than wasting time and money printing those banners and rioting? Rubbish

• BomoSiam on Oct 13, 2015 at 9:36 pm

Go Shah Alam and try to get a taxi that agree to use meter. Good Luck… padan la dgn muka korang drebar2 teksi ooi…

• mbsa team on Oct 14, 2015 at 7:36 pm

True enough..to be more specific.. Batu 3 komuter station..

• Anonymous on Oct 13, 2015 at 10:23 pm

The ball is definitely in SPAD’s court.. what is SPAD gonna do…? How long must SPAD take to make a decision…? Hey u at SPAD… everything hinges on you now…! Buck up and do your job..!

• IkutPeraturan on Oct 13, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Start QUE at traffic light. Kebanyakan yang potong que is taxi, Orang lain pun cari makan. Every morning sakit jiwa tengok taxi berderet celah kiri di Trafic Light Dengkil.

• Yohanes on Oct 14, 2015 at 8:23 am

I prefer Uber when in KL. A lot better than the local Taxi. This day and age, it is mind boggling to have to negotiate the fair, when there are meters available. Local Taxis often refuse to use the meter, instead setting a price to be negotiated. Very few countries that still practice such behavior. Malaysia needs to clean up it’s government and the local taxi system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • leonardo on Oct 14, 2015 at 8:25 am

I also have friends who are taxi drivers. You cannot get customers by intimidation and force. You get customers by being honest, courteous and helpful. And keep your taxi in good and clean condition.

• Mohd Ismail on Oct 14, 2015 at 2:49 pm

It seems almost obvious that some of the posters in support of the taxi drivers are probably in the taxi business already.

People are fed up with the taxi business and this is why people love uber.

Why did it take for Uber to exist before beck taxi decided to make an app to make it convenient for users to get a taxi?

With Uber you don’t have to worry if your car will be dirty, if the driver smokes or worse, if the driver even showers. One of the last times I had to take a taxi because my phone was out of power, I got in a taxi and the guy smelled like he hadn’t showered in a week and it was disgusting.

Toss aside experiences of rude taxi drivers, with Uber everyone is accountable. If your uber driver tries to take you for a joyride to jack up your bill, well you can rate them and say they were not the best at navigating.

The drivers in uber genuinely try to get you to where you want to go. Taxi drivers seem to have no problem taking a wrong highway exit or misunderstanding where you have to go.

I feel safe in an Uber car.

The reason why the customers don’t have sympathy for the taxi drivers is that they have put up with a low quality service for a long time and thankfully Uber is here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 14, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Ask yourself this questions, will you trust your daughter to take taxi driven by these protesting hooligans? The answer is so simple. The more they protest & take the law in their own hands the more public won’t take taxi. It has nothing to do with Uber or Grabcar or any other company.