VIDEO: Mercedes-Benz pays homage to Back to the Future with a series of clips featuring the F 015

mercedes back to the future

Toyota isn’t the only automaker paying homage to the highly-acclaimed Back to the Future movie trilogy – Mercedes-Benz is also getting into the act with a series of short video clips to celebrate BTTF day on October 21, 2015. Anoraks will of course note the significance of the date.

Starring the F 015 Luxury in Motion concept, which made its debut in January at the 2015 CES in Las Vegas, the three short ditties work the heritage angle with a new twist – there’s the nod to the hoverboard and the automatic dog walker, and the F 015 re-enacts the DeLorean time machine appear-out-of-nowhere act, presumably at the magical 88 mph mark.

Short and sweet, the videos are a perfect way of saying thanks to Dr. Emmett Brown for the inspiration. All 1.21 gigawatts of it.

Mercedes-Benz F 015 Luxury in Motion concept, San Francisco

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I saw someone using the “floating board” from Lexus in the clip! Hahaha

• xxxxxx on Oct 16, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Thats not from lexus la, how old r u?

• Chris bangle on Oct 16, 2015 at 11:40 pm

He is clearly clueless about the reference.

• You all think you are so clever ah? I am more clever than you lah brother. I got a degree from UiTM you know!

• Eh? I thought you got degree from Communist China? Din you tell me you specialised in being DAP macai?