UberXL introduced in Malaysia – seats up to six people

uber xl main

Despite being under siege from taxi drivers, Uber Malaysia isn’t showing any signs of slowing – indeed, the transportation network company has announced the launch of its newest service offering, which is called uberXL.

The new service sits between the regular uberX and the premium uberBlack price-wise, but there’s more to than just the ringgit and sen, of course – the service utilises people movers, which presumably means MPVs (er, yes, that’s a SUV in the graphic), with room for up to six people.

Pricing for the service is RM2.50 for the base fare, while the running tariff is 75 sen per kilometre or 40 sen per minute, which is slightly higher than that for uberX. Rates for uberX – as currently listed on the Uber website – are RM1.50 for base fare, and 60 sen per km or 30 sen per minute.

uber xl 2

Incidentally, the rates for uberX is different than that reported in May, when Uber announced that uberX fares were being hiked to RM2 per base fare and 70 sen per km/35 sen per minute. As it stands, the website’s listed tariffs should be the going rates.

The minimum fare for uberXL is RM2.50, and a trip from KL to KLIA will cost RM110, while an excursion from KL to Genting Highlands is RM160. In comparison, uberX’s rates are RM90 and RM140 respectively, but if you’ve got a party of five, going with uberXL is cheaper as you don’t need to get two uberX vehicles.

As for making a request for the service, it’s pretty much how you’d go about it for other Uber rides. Fire up the Uber app, slide right to uberX and tap on the uberXL option, tp on ‘Set Pickup Location’, confirm your request and that’s it.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• hepaflt2 on Oct 19, 2015 at 1:30 pm

better jalan kaki from paying rrrrrrmmmmm 110 from kl to klia… So expansive wow (spellin expensive)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
    • past&purious7 on Oct 19, 2015 at 3:35 pm

good …..your family dies from heat stroke (KL is hot) :::REMEMBER, 110 for six person. Not for you alone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • GG airport taxis

• hepaflt2 on Oct 19, 2015 at 1:36 pm

for second tought, our malaysian taxi is going to kill this wheaeber uberr

• brianxyz on Oct 19, 2015 at 2:43 pm

I guess Uber will not care less if any of their drivers’ car got smashed by the small minority of samseng taxi drivers. Uber will only get all the profit but no risks because their drivers will bear them all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • This is the responsibility of PDRM and SPAD!!

They so free to disturb peaceful assembly for free and fair elections and so free to teman VIPs to escape traffic jam!!

• brianxyz on Oct 19, 2015 at 8:19 pm

@Sd, yes you’re talking about the ‘ideal’ world. However, you should be aware we are NOT living in an ‘ideal’ and ‘utopian’ world. If your car got smashed or confiscated, you’re on your own.

• Tamiya motor on Oct 19, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Bkt bintang to KLIA just rm90 for Toyota innova

• Anthonio on Oct 19, 2015 at 3:20 pm

RM 110 for 6 persons? Definitely reasonable..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Anthonio on Oct 19, 2015 at 3:21 pm

RM110 for 6 persons? Definitely reasonable…

• Hugo Andore on Oct 19, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Another blow to cabbies..they will go apeshit for sure

• William Chen on Dec 29, 2017 at 4:48 pm

How much is the approximate fare from KLIA2 to Puchong using Uber XL for 4 paxs with bags?