PDRM to add Proton Iriz, Suprima S to patrol car fleet?

pdrm-proton-iriz

The Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) could be looking to add the Proton Iriz and the Proton Suprima S into its fleet of patrol cars soon – photos of the said units have been uploaded on the Friend of PDRM Facebook page. Information revealed on said page states that the Iriz is set to replace the Perodua Kancil patrol cars while the larger Suprima S models should see duty at larger police stations.

Should that be the case, expect the handover ceremony to take place as soon as next month. The move should be seen as one of the many efforts conducted by the force to help improve and elevate its image amongst the general public. Recently, the force will also refresh its fleet by adding a total of 1,200 new patrol cars to replace units that are over eight-years old.

pdrm-proton-suprima-s

The new Proton Iriz and Suprima S patrol cars – of which photos have been circulating on Facebook recently – appear to sport the latest graphic that are seen adorning the new patrol vehicles, as well. The livery now adds on reflective green stripes on the bonnet, flanks and even the tailgate from the looks of said cars.

Also, PDRM could be looking into the possibility of equipping its patrol cars with the C4i system – said platform involves the business of directing, controlling, communication, coordination and information, with Global Positioning System (GPS) technology.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Aaron on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:42 pm

……yet still cannot catch real criminals

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 30
    • Untung Manyak Wang (UMW) on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:04 pm

They cannot clean their image lah. Even with foreigners, everyday, they go harass the bangla for money. Stop one bangla, can get Rm100. Stop 10 bangla, already RM1000 lah free money.

Stop Indon women, can get other things free also!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 22
      • VGM Pls Close Shop on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Don’t worry, the company to put the sticker Polis alone on the side of the car already can make millions.

this is how contracts work in Malaysia. Polis always change cars or uniform. One day blue lah, one day black lah, one day. New contracts….billions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
        • National Police Cars on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:47 pm

We should be proud that Malaysia is 1 out of the 15 countries(total 196 countries) to have their national car as their police cars

Japan – Toyota Crown
          Korea – Hyundai Sonata
          China – Chery QQ
          India – Mahindra Scorpio
          Germany – BMW 5 Series
          Italy – Alfa Romeo 159
          Spain – Seat Leon
          Sweden – Volvo V70
          France – Peugeot 308
          Russia – Lada 1500
          Czech Republic – Skoda Octavia
          UK – Vauxhall Astra
          USA – Ford Crown Victoria
          Australia – Holden Commodore
          Malaysia – Proton Iriz

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 15
          • You can scratch Aussie out soon (no more Holdens) and Seden as well (V.Cars belongs to Geely)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • the archbishop of banterbury on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Swedish police should swap their volvos for Saab. At least Saab is 100% Swedish.

• Hard to please on Oct 21, 2015 at 12:12 am

When PDRM use foreign cars, you guys say waste money la, no confidence in national car la. But when PDRM use our national car, you guys say Proton no sales la, clearing stock la. Sigh.. You keyboard warriors are really hard to please

• OMG…Polis feels very happy bcos so fast they can have new model like Iriz and suprima…In another way, it shown Proton struggle selling these two models here…very tak laku…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
          • Ollie on Oct 20, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Sorry proud about what? State the source of your information.

Why should we be proud that our police are using failed cars!?

If Proton was on par with Alfa 159 or BMW 5, I would have no qualms. At least as reliable as the Ford Crown Victoria so needs minimal service hours.

Keep producing junk and you wanna be proud of junk? Probably you don’t have ambition in your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 54
          • Well said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
        • Albert on Oct 21, 2015 at 12:03 am

This shows how desperate proton is trying to clear lots of unsold stocks.Since Gomen guarantee payment,no need hassle get financing from banks.Now 2 out of 10 Proton applicants,approval rate given by banks.
          Sad,sad episode from Shambolic Protong.

• Stop complaining! without police you are dead now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • trollmaster3000 on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:44 pm

with police you get blown to pieces.. still the same ending anyway.. so your point is moot..

• hailthepurist on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:07 pm

pdrm needs serious donation..

• Qaziom on Oct 21, 2015 at 12:45 am

Mr hailthpurist you are talking nonsense and totally empty. We Malaysian are very proud with the police. Please do official report for any wrongdoing by them rather than keep blaming the whole organization. Congrates to the police and keep it up :)

• Same L0rrr on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Proton have bad RV! No profit! Buy Jazz better than junk Iriz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 50
      • MPV high RV on Oct 20, 2015 at 5:21 pm

pdrm shud use Vios, hi RV, can sell back later with hi sentimental value what more if the vios patrol car carry Najib

• gila rv on Oct 20, 2015 at 5:22 pm

police car where got rv. ask them use totota also no use.
        it’s good move actually to use a cheap car with decent performance with good reliability for police car. though i bet not so cheap when sold by crony…

• Kenneth Fook on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:04 am

Good reliability?! You might wanna consider looking up the dictionary for the word “reliability”

• Undi rahsia on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:32 am

Reliability as a cash cow for certain people. Also reliability right?

• Silly…police car why need rv

• hailthepurist on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:51 am

toyota made excellent taxis..

• Bob_B78 on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Funny to see that VW jetta was not posted here. For there are some spyshots of Jetta tested by PDRM as well. If PDRM chooses Jetta, that will be very interesting. More interesting will be when it breaksdown by the roadside, I will be the 1st to tell them “Welcome To the VW Family!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
      • Have you ever seen a Jetta breakdown on the roadside? Well, I never seen it before. Was curious that you own a Jetta and you faced the similar issue before or you are going to tell me the story that you heard from somebody?

• Actually trying to clear out their so call “game changer” in the best way

• OMG…again…What to do? Proton have many Iriz and suoplimau stock in hand…so need Gomen help loh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Albert on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:58 pm

Iriz- patrol taska and kindy and taman/taman
      Suprima-patrol redlight district
      Inspira-patrol highways
      accordana-patrol VVIPs houses and harlems
      Preve-patrol shopping districts
      Canggih nya,Proton

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Help improve their image? Nope not gonna work when they are catching the wrong people who are defending the country’s name!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Songalp Ringgit Jatuh on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:58 pm

The day PDRM officers stop asking money from offenders to make the saman disappear, that is the day their image will be clean. Until then, nothing they do can clean their image la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Sell to police and public still monthly sales way behind perodua. Manyak kisian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
  • lokal on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:49 pm

naper x pakai P2 Axia or Myvi, jimat minyak beb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • Russian on Oct 20, 2015 at 5:05 pm

sebab Axia or Myvi tak power mcm Iriz dan Suprima

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • jinggo on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:09 pm

axia & myvi no safe, very tin kosong maa.. no VDC how to catch criminals? Iriz has VDC so the car is very safe, when the car is safe thus our cops can protect us, if no cops how to berniaga peacefully? Come on la tauke… pakai otak sikit la.. haiyaa!

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 20, 2015 at 1:56 pm

An effort to help improve and elevate its image amongst the general public? Haha..more like to help Proton clearing up unsold models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
    • Hampeh on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Kereta perutdua memang la jimat minyak dah berat body kerata ringan mcm tin kosong….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Saudi Arabia pakai Lambo, M5, Cayenne…. PDRM pakai Iriz, wow, aku malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 40
  • Ollie on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Slam Proton so much but still got coverage..laughable, but I salute the persistence. Well, short and to the point: crap cars for a crap force.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • Rusmah on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Good job PDRM.
    Change all fleet to Proton.
    Love your country , clear my stock

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Tejano star on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Oops overlooked putting in sirens!

• PDRM Kaki Tidur on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:54 pm

How to refresh their image? From sleeping in the Wajas, now they will be sleeping in their Iriz cars.

Have you not seen so many Polis Waja parked tepi jalan or under a tree. You think they are doing CSI surveillance work?

They are fast asleep after eating their nasi lemak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • Power on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:38 pm

please go Hartamas near soul out corner sure see a lot day time..

• syukurlah PDRM pakai kete ni. Boleh tangkap penjenayah dengan senang. syukurlah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • Iriz Super Bad Sales on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:37 pm

This is very simple. Sales of Proton are so bad. So gomen give directive to all Gomen departments to buy Iriz. Not just PDRM.

Yearly you see MAA figures so high, half of it bought by Spanco and the other half bought by gomen departments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • I can see the logic to using IRIZ but why Suprima? Boot space not as good as Preve

• Ugly livery is ugly.
    period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • areos on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:15 pm

if i’m the IGP… i will order 100 lotus evora and 100 lotus exige/elise..baru ada kelas n gain respect from people..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • WhereCan on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Where can like that,

Nanti mamat yg org puja masuk bersih tu xdapat duit dari gomen tender.

Dia start dia untung.

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Ya, buang bazir duit rakyat.

• If Im IGP, I will get 100 Abrams, 100 PT91, 100 Armata, 100 Humvees with 50 cal, and 10 Barricades(Bayformers version) to punish and enslave….

• raykat on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:57 pm

later being accused for bazir wang rakyat

• Ollie on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Excellent idea. This evora and exige lotus are very healthy vegetables. We can supplement the daily kangkung and bayam. Bitter gourd also I heard is good as ulam. Memang naik kelasifikasi and tambah respektasi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Bahasa mana kau ambil ‘kelasifikasi’, ,respektasi’? Klasifikasi adalah, sam juga dengan reputasi, respek.

• You want to make PDRM look funny ?
    Because that’s how you make PDRM funny.

• Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Proton must come to realise that there’s a big difference between its production capacity and MARKET DEMAND. Proton never seemed to learn that its lousy, low quality, fuel guzzling junk does not appeal to the market anymore, unless to people who are low on budget and has no choice but forced to buy lousy, low quality Proton.

Proton like to over-produce its junk and overstock its Tanjung Malim or Shah Alam factories. The solution? Simple. Just ask government agencies to take up those unsold stockpile or ask Spanco to clear up whatever junk left in the stockyard. Crony business as usual.

Proton is very much heading to 15% TIV this year. Albeit launching one model after another, Proton sales continue to plunged from 22% TIV in 2012 to just 17% last year. No amount of new model will save Proton if these crony vendors who make lousy, low quality parts continue to exist like leeches in Proton’s supply chain.

I am very happy to see Proton continue to plunge and struggle, and I’ll be equally happy to see Proton’s TIV drop to just 10% of the TIV in 3-4 years time, judging from its annual plunging rate of 2% of TIV, thus becoming a MINORITY in its HOMEGROWN market. No amount of airbags, CFE, Preve, Iriz, Suprima, Perdana or whatever junk could save this ailing crony leech, who had for decades, deprived Malaysians their hard earn money and create so many sufferings with its utterly lousy quality cars.

For fanboys, truth is hard to swallow, even more so if it’s backed up by facts and figures. If you love Proton so much, go buy 10 of its junks and stack them in your porch to show how patriotic you are. Talk is cheap, action is substance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • Ollie on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Nice one. Safety standards major violation also not enough to make the blind supporters see. What else.. give up on the Proton crazies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Proton is going up and up while your god company UMW/Perodua is going down and down. Talk is cheap eh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Ah, John the BN ass licker. You want facts? Here you are:

http://paultan.org/2015/01/16/proton-perodua-market-share-falls-below-foreign-brands/2014-malaysia-market-share/

Which of this graft show you that Proton is going up? You should go to the hospital to have an eye surgery. If you got no money for eye surgery, go ask from you 2.6 billion boss to donate some to you.

Oh ya, I’ve almost forget that you’re a fanboy, who can’t argue rationally with facts and figures but rather with your blind emotions and pathetic denial syndrome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
      • Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:39 pm

No, I back up my talk with facts and figures, your talk is CHEAP. Go buy 10 Proton junk and stack them at your front yard now, save Proton with your patriotism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • drMpower on Oct 20, 2015 at 2:58 pm

they should do the more powerful version of the cars. and perhaps 4WD version. that save us some 250k for the mitsu evo each.
    a 4WD, 350bhp supercharge patrol car for medium speed chase should be enough.

as for the high speed chase, i still want my supervolace lambo clad in police liveries

• Same L0rrr on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Proton have bad RV! No profit! Buy Jazz better than junk Iriz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • albag on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:03 pm

that “POLIS” font is very disappointing.. looks like some cheapo aftermarket design..

new car same attitude… same shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Hor Shen Hau on Oct 20, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Malaysian nowadays,when PDRM use kereta jenama luar negara,you said membazir duit lah,tak bangga dengan kereta lah.But when use our national car,you guys said no sales lah,clearing stock lah.Haizz….You guys kiasu lah.Oh ya,and for your information,PDRM also is adding VW Jetta to their fleet.I think VW also clearing their stock right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • Normal Guy on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Kasi you satu like. Was waiting for someone to say something like this. Bravo!

• Joker on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:47 am

Which place of Malaysia you are living? Current jetta is having promotion, lots of it are on the road. Don’t you see it?

• ben yap on Oct 20, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Now criminals will need at least a Golf GTi to outrun the police in a hot pursuit.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 21, 2015 at 1:26 am

Don’t be silly! For these proton, they only need Myvi.

• the archbishop of banterbury on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:40 am

No, Vios TRD will do the job perfectly. I thought a Toyota salesman will say that line.

• Richard Jonathan Lim on Oct 20, 2015 at 4:46 pm

PDRM should add a variety of police cars like the UK police.Sports cars,normal cars,luxury cars,etc,etc.PDRM did a great move by adding the Iriz as its smallness would be great for chasing criminals in back roads and rat runs which would be simple for the Iriz and not the Suprima and Preve due to the biggersize.

• No one wants the junk, so Police got to be DBKL.

• SALES R SO BAD.. so it is obvious that P1 need 2 clear its stock.. simple as that. siapa lagi mahu tolong? govt. lorr.. i would like to suggest that P1 do a promotion 2 govt. officers, give them HUGE discount, sure LAKU! KIPIDAP PROTON!

• Should use the new Perdana

• nabill (Member) on Oct 20, 2015 at 7:57 pm

And u let taxi gangs attack uber drivers bcos lets face it,there really is no law around,police cars being Ferrari or iriz,no difference…we r stll not safe..its just BS all around

• Power on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:36 pm

yup, thats your 2016 budget spent before announce..

• Aero (Member) on Oct 21, 2015 at 1:56 am

They look like older build models. The Suprima S has a 2013 plate, the Iriz has a 2014 one.

If so, then it’s good that Proton plans to rid of their old stock in a purposeful manner. At least now the PDRM have more 5-star safety rated cars in their fleet.

• Ollie on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:29 am

When you’re going for blindness treatment?

Like all the Proton crazies, keep praising the failed junk cars to the sky. As a proud Malaysian, I want Proton to produce good, reliable, safe cars and compete; not junk. You and all Proton crazies don’t know what is patriotism; you are the same junk Malaysians who caused MAS to fail because your ‘proudness’ can’t see its weaknesses. Enough about 5-star safety when its proven zero assurance that the real car is same as the NCAP test cars. Enough of your nonsense.

• Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Oct 21, 2015 at 12:55 pm

Chill, he’s just a collage boy who drive an old Saga inherited from his parents. Let him graduate, find a RM2,000 fresh grad job, then put maybe half of his hard earned salary onto one of Proton’s junk, see whether he’ll still be the Proton fanboy who praise those junk in virtually every auto site.

Let’s pray his lousy Proton which he is going to buy will fail him and burn a hole in his meager fresh-grad wallet by experiencing “alamilah kerosakan Proton”. Or maybe he’s just a hypocrite, still driving his parent’s old saga without buying a new Proton himself after he graduate. Meanwhile, thousands and millions of Malaysian still forced to buy Proton with their hard earn money and suffer from the lousy quality and never ending problem car. Aero is just a fanboy who live with Proton wet dream by visiting Proton carnival without using his money to buy a single Proton, he has no merit to speak for millions of Malaysians who has been deprived, cheated and abused by lousy, fxxcking Proton for the past 30 years.

• SiapaAku on Sep 03, 2016 at 8:59 am

A classic example of a “keyboard warrior” here. Shame you

• 2019 Toyota Yaris on Apr 14, 2019 at 3:51 am

If you are still alive, I am from 2019 – the future. I don’t think you ever driven a Proton before, judging from how you comment here. I bet you are driving a Mercedes Benz or any other foreign brands and talk cock. What a pathetic human being you are, no sense of patriotism to our very own brand. Regardless of Proton or Perodua – both of them has their own ups and downs, and Proton has gone through their downs in 2015-ish. I am pretty sure they are improving now in 2019 – with new models such as the X70, 2019 Proton Persona and 2019 Proton Iriz, and the upcoming X50. If you still want to say that Proton is useless because they are rebadging again – well at least they tried, instead of just sitting behind the screen and shooting with keyboards like you, single most pathetic human being on earth. Or come out with your own car producing company. Pussy boy.

• SiapaAku on Sep 03, 2016 at 9:12 am

How come the produced cars are different than the one which have been certified by NCAP? You think NCAP institution is your grandma’s company? Hatred is blind too.

• Andrekua on Oct 21, 2015 at 6:31 am

Both entities cannot clean their name anymore.

Why I would never buy Proton again has something to do with my past history with its service center attitude but also the fact that Proton are more willing to sell cheaper outside of Malaysia than to fellow Malaysians. So I just wait until they bust ‘again’ or begin to appreciate Malaysians more. We are not obliged to buy Made in Malaysia when it’s overpriced.

• VW Diesel Scandal on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:10 am

Iriz & suprima sure can tapaw myvi racers in the future..

• MentalKar on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Kalau Polis pakai Proton KAU kata tolong abiskan stok.
    Kalau Polis pakai Perodua KAU kata tolong tambah sale.
    Kalau Polis pakai Jetta KAU kata tolonglah rosak.
    Kalau Polis pakai Ferrari KAU kata tolonglah kesian duit rakyat.
    Waktu rumah KAU masuk PEROMPAK KAU kata TOLONG-TOLONG tak kiralah apa Polis nak pakai kreta apa pun.