Toll rates for PLUS highways due for hike in 2016

NKVE_KM15

On October 15, a total of 18 highways experienced a toll hike, where Class 1 passenger vehicles were required to pay between RM0.20 to RM2.30 more.

None of the highways listed in our roundup included those operated by PLUS Malaysia Bhd, which stated that toll rates on all its highways will not be altered further, as it has been since 2005.

However, that could all change come 2016 when four out of its five highway concessions is scheduled for an increase in toll rates by 5%. The Star reports that the Government will determine if this toll hike will come into fruition.

Following the expected toll hike in 2016, PLUS will then review its toll rates every three years. According to the concession agreement, the Penang Bridge will be excluded for such a review for the entire duration of the concession.

The highway concessions which are operated by PLUS include the North-South Expressway (NSE), New Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE), Federal Highway, Seremban Port-Dickson Highway, Elite Highway, Malaysia-Singapore Second Link (MSSL), Butterworth-Kulim Expressway (BKE) and the Penang Bridge.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I am very happy it is going up. I hope all others go up again in 2016 despite going up in 2015 recently. the government needs the money for our own good.

We as citizens should give freely and should stop complaining. Work harder like me. Don’t be lazy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 63
    • dirtyoldmen on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:17 am

if you are truly happy, then why you always whinging when other people voice out their complaints?

Pandai Tak Boleh Diikut, Bodoh Tak Boleh Diajar

• someppllovedtobehated on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:14 am

I’ve been following your comments for a while now and I have come to two conclusions – either you are a BN cybertrooper or you just love to troll and be downvoted.

For your sake I hope you’re the former because I can’t understand your reason if it’s the latter. Must have had a terrible childhood, for you to be this attention-seeking all the time.

• ganni on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:40 am

do u really meant of what u were saying or u just being sarcastic??

• joseph on Oct 21, 2015 at 12:59 pm

cybertrooper john strikes again. quite sure he is over the moon, all these cost increase burden being paid by the rakyat, mean he still has his wretched job!! seems like his is tasked to spew his ‘wisdom’ in this website; and does not have the initiative to ‘attack’ other sites. keep it up….

• Huat ahhh

• Ahmad on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:37 pm

this is the best part of living in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • BNaik on Oct 20, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Thanks for supporting Umno and the ministers in the BN… serve Rakyat right.

• Happy malaysian on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Woohoo! Me so happy, just can’t wait for it to come

• Jimmy on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:35 pm

I propose a hike in my price, and if you ask me to postpone for 5 years and, in return, you extend my contract for another thirty years, then I will agree not to increase temporarily.
      Yahoo, I can see my future, my durian-runtuh will last till 2938.

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 20, 2015 at 7:38 pm

The fare should be reduced just to bare the maintenance cost and upgrading since the cost of the construction already paid off long time ago. Instead they plan to increase it. Thank you jibon.

• I think its about time for me to get the magic carpet Sam Loo was offering to me in a toyota showroom the other day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Well done Malaysia, Well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Allen on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Please raise the toll charge, reduce the concession period. Else even my grandchildren will need to pay for the toll

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Amat malang on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:41 pm

I am thinking to add on 6% GST on top of the hike rate..

• bukapintubayartol on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Who owns KESAS? any news regarding any proposed price increase on the KESAS
    ?
    BTW I must say that I’m grateful KESAS dropped the price from RM 2.20 to RM 2 a couple of years ago.

• sick&tired on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:04 pm

manyak bagui! Beribu-ribu tahniah!

• sick&tired on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:04 pm

kipidap!

• Kancil Hybrid on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:51 pm

I hope it will be RM2.00 minimum. Please PLUS, don’t wait until 2016. Do it now! Rosmah really need that money.

• WaJib on Oct 21, 2015 at 12:08 am

Ok wat.. Janji ditetapi Rakyat didahulukan

• Nenek on Oct 21, 2015 at 6:52 am

I’m trembling with unbelievable joy

• Megane on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:39 am

Jangan kata Ayahanda Rani tak payung Touch N GO cards kauorg ..nanti ayahanda buat polis report ke 900 tahun ini . #Dongibap # Najibangang

• CarmenTung on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:25 am

It’s a good move…

• “NAJIS” Betul!

• Why only RM0.20-RM2.30 more? Make it RM5-RM10 more … even better Rm10-RM20 more so that the 42% know what it means Barang Naik! ….

• ganni on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:43 am

sometimes i do wonder why our gov need to increase the toll price? compare to the other country some of it dont have toll but still the road is better than us…hhmmm..

• So devastated upon knowing that there is high possibility the toll hike would be in 2016. It should be implemented this year, 2015 instead. Mmm..why this year ? It should be increased once we achieved independence in 1957. Aaahhh..Thats better!

• ben yap on Oct 21, 2015 at 4:39 pm

nowadays with opening of South Quay ramp at Sunway, people tend to skip LDP’s RM2.10 and opt for Kesas RM2 toll instead.

I wonder will LDP revenue drop?