Driven Web Series 2015 #3: Battle of the powertrains – Camry Hybrid vs Ford Mondeo vs Peugeot 508 GT

As promised, Driven Web Series 2015 is back, and so is Harve! Powered by Petronas Primax 95 with Advanced Energy Formula, we’re setting up the battle of the powertrains, comparing hybrid, petrol, diesel and all-electric technologies to find out which one’s ideal for you.

Taking up the challenge are the petrol-electric Toyota Camry Hybrid, the Ford Mondeo Ecoboost petrol turbo and the Peugeot 508 GT turbodiesel. See how they stack up against each other (on paper) on CarBase.my.

All three D-segment sedans have over 200 hp, but with wildly varying torque figures – 213 Nm (engine) + 270 Nm (electric motor) for the Camry, 345 Nm for the Mondeo and 450 Nm for 508 GT. How would these numbers feel from behind the wheel, and how economical would each car be?

Find out in the video above. Stay tuned next week as we look at Malaysia’s most affordable cars. The Perodua Axia is a given, of course, but what other cars would we compare it to? Find out for yourself next Wednesday, October 28.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• those are 3 very different cars. A hybrid, a diesel long distance cruiser & a legendary compact executive with a robust engine and all the tech available

• if an engine is not reliable and easy maintaineance, i dont call it a robust engine.

its technically not robust.. need alot of care.

• alldisc on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:04 pm

1. Fastest 0-100
        2. Cheapest
        3. 270Nm torque at 0rpm.
        4. Most economical as tested
        5. Widest service network
        7. Best safety level, the most airbags
        8. Voted as the best by Driven. Priceless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • also the most ah beng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • mingc on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Lol race chipped preve beat all above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
          • Same L0rrrr on Oct 22, 2015 at 4:52 am

And the kapchai easily beat Preve. So what?

• Where is Najib's Promise? on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:42 am

The US Camry Hybrid only sold for Us$26k. Comes with 10 airbags. Our Camry Hybrid is tax free. Comes to Malaysia tax free.

Plus our Camry Hybrid is CKD…Made with a lot of Malaysian parts. the price should be much lower because of this.

So, how can a car costing US26k, comes in without tax, CKD in Malaysia, and stripped of many safety features, be sold for RM175k?

Where is Najib’s Promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

For sure UMw is making buta buta clean profit of RM100k for each Camry CKD Hybrid they sell in Malaysia

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:30 am

In terms of safety the Mondeo, Camry Hybrid and 508 are on roughly the same level.

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 21, 2015 at 5:53 pm

That’s why the title says “Battle of the powertrains”.

• oil_worker on Oct 21, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Does roadtax differs for hybrids vs normal cars?

• Camry lousy, got power window problem, 508 n Mondeo are the best choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
  • kington on Oct 21, 2015 at 6:09 pm

One thing missing… Sam Loo. HE ought to be happy with this.

Honestly, i too feel that the Camry asks for the least compromise here. Sure, i was waiting for the Mondeo with glee when i saw the specs but it is quite a thirsty car and the handling does a feel a bit short of Ford’s Focus and Fiesta.

I will always have a soft spot for Pugs and it started with the 405 SRI manual. I drove it once on the highway and i was sold. Loved it. I quite fancy the 508 estate and i think it’s the most user friendly estate you can get now.

• therealmaserati on Oct 21, 2015 at 6:21 pm

A 2.0 turbocharged car is always always going to be thirsty. Especially at 230hp .

• Unfortunately u wrong, the 2.0T more save than current 2.0 NA Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • therealmaserati on Oct 21, 2015 at 6:20 pm

I have test driven the Camry Hybrid and i was surprised at how bloody good it is! That explains the huge number of camry hybrids you see on the road.

It is really a very very very good car. For the price it demands, its a steal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
  • Went to check the camry vs mondeo, all I can say the camry is nothing near better than the mondeo apart from fuel consumption. The door itself is much more better yet the interior is much more beautiful. It feels like different class these 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • The price of Camry hybrid is the cheapest here. In terms of RV, i guess camry could be the highest too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • I dun think so the RV will be higher, dun judge it as previous model

• oiliee on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Comparing conti and japs car is absurd. Handling and ride are solid not sampan ones

• HeyDude on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:30 pm

i do agree with you. especially hybrid or even EV.. can not deny the goodness of hybrid, but everything do come on pro and con

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:33 am

The Camry does have that price advantage, it is a well speced car (surprisingly, considering it is a Toyota). The Mondeo is MUCH better looking, and overall better (apart from fuel consumption), but it is not worth the higher price tag IMHO, especially considering that the Camry will be easier to live with.

• For once I’m actually satisfied with the level of equipment & safety that is on the Camry. The only thing I don’t like about it is the looks. It’s kinda like an uncle trying to dress like a teen with all those body kits

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • I don’t see any bodykit on the Camry Hybrid. Care to show us what you are referring to?

• vios is king on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:38 am

yes, compared to the previous model, the new camry does looks very sporty that it is very different, no longer bearing that uncle persona, but it’s still acceptable, not as glaring as the vios TRD.

• Springfield on Oct 21, 2015 at 6:46 pm

The level of refinement inside the camry is pretty low unfortunately. It feels a little amateurishly put together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:07 pm

If Camry is made so refined, no one will buy a mark X or Crown, let alone Lexus ES.

Marketing strategy.

• lexusbiscuit on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:21 pm

At the end ofcday lexus is still toyota. Only toyota fans say otherwise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • kington on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:30 am

Only uneducated ones will never progress. Harping on old statements.

• anson8222 on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Between these 3 cars I was tested, I’m more prefer Ford Mondeo because driving comfort (even high speed), good performance, good audio system, solid build and the most concern for me is safety. According to fuel consumption, it still acceptable but the soundproof quality still need some improvement.

• tokmoh. on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:42 am

Safety wise, the Mondeo is the only one with auto brake (AEB) and lane departure warning (LDW). No BLIS or adaptive cruise control (ACC) though, AFAIK.

The Peug has BLIS, dynamic cruise control, which should be ACC? But no AEB or LDW.

When it comes to safety, trust the Contis. Particularly the Ford (well, the Mondeo is more European than Murica), as they previously owned Volvo, they must’ve absorbed some knowledge from the Swedes.

The Camry, who knows if it needs future recalls for airbags, power window, etc. UMW hasn’t been too generous making recalls relative to worldwide’s Toyota, so it raises doubt if all recalls necessary will be addressed.

The Ford has cheapest road tax too, 2.0L is about RM380+-, Peug’s 2.2L would be around RM580+-, while Camry around RM880+-. Mondeo may be thirstier, but this road tax cost advantage gives it quite a headstart.

That said, Ford’s and Peug’s after sales service seem to have bad reputation. Though, Ford gives 3-years free service, that can cushion the running cost a bit.

• Gothomas on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:28 pm

Plug-in Hybrid and Hydrogen or Fuel Cell vehicle ?

EV definitely will dominate the car industry end of the day once the charging infra in placed nation wide. Driving range around 500km will be materialized soon. Hydrogen Car will be the few mass production car in near future as interim solution.

• alldisc on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:23 pm

It will take 1 whole day for Nissan leaf to travel from KL to melaka… That is 160km.
      Let’s say the average distance possible per full charge is 150km, then need to stop and recharge. That may take 5-6 hours to get to 75% before you can finish the remaining 10km

• choice is yours on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:38 pm

My company in Melaka is using a Mitsubishi MIEV, an EV which can travel 100km full charge. Very scared to drive, hard to handling, underpower, scary enough to overtake and lastly took long hours to recharge.
        Better wait another 3 ~ 5 yrs for fully satisfied driving a new EV.

• policeman on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Great episode, but only up to 8:40.
    Mr Singh needs a haircut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Great Job on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Great video, who’s the cameraman? Who’s the producer? Love it. Show us more.. such as battle between Ute (pick up truck) off the road, who’s the king. let’s compare ours with Australia which recently make a comparison for 8 Utes.

Lastly, thanks to police patrol for supporting paultan.

• Gaviny on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Fact is a proper turbo petrol is still the best out there, powrband, smoothness, driving character, it’s the best.

• Ray (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Definitely agree that the Camry is the best bet among the trio with the least compromises, the only drawback being the looks. One crucial thing that I think you guys missed out though – comparing the interior design, interior room and boot sizes of the three cars. I get that the whole point of this video is on the powertrains but these are the main factors that consumers will take into account when buying a D-segment sedan.

Well to be honest, being a loyal fan of Driven, I’ve been trying very hard to like this season but yeah, I do agree with a lot of previous comments that there’s something missing in this season. It is somehow, lackluster compared to the previous two, and although the hosts are doing a much better job right now, Driven 2015 somehow fails to spark my interest as much as they do previously. Nevertheless, I still look forward to the upcoming episodes and all the best to the Paul Tan team!

• Ray (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Also, Greg has done a fantastic job in the X-Trail and Iriz videos, but here? Uhmmm I’m not so sure about the playful character that he’s trying to portray but I personally like him more in the X-trail and Iriz reviews. Don’t get me wrong Greg, you’re a great host!

• Might As Well Lah on Oct 22, 2015 at 2:17 pm

I own the new Hybrid Camry & the older Camry/Aurion and these is what I have to say:

Hybrid vs Petrol
    The new Hybrid is more responsive and have more toys than the petrol even though it cost less than the older Camry. On highways, overtaking feels rapid as long as you are within the legal limits as compared to the older Camry. The transition between the motor and engine is smooth, as there isn’t any lags of power.

The downside of the Hybrid vs the Petrol would be the sudden jerk it gets when the petrol engine kicks in, as you know the hybrid car keeps the petrol engine off until it’s needed, and because the battery runs out pretty quickly, while driving or parked (15 minutes max) the petrol engine’s jerk would be quite intimidating as it feels like the car is moving forward while it isn’t.

Comfort?
    I’ve bought the hybrid because it’s a variant that seems to be most economical in the medium-long run. And other makes doesn’t have a d-segment hybrid below RM200k so I didn’t have much of an option. Therefore when I was test driving the car it didn’t bothered me much that the head-rest is stationary, nor the seat padding wasn’t as comfortable as the older Aurion version. But after using the car for 5 months now, I have to admit it has become rather annoying. After an hr drive and my lower back starts to hurt, I do sit quite straight because I prefer to be able to see the bonnet of the car while driving. And because the head-rest aren’t adjustable, I couldn’t rest my head while driving neither (I’m 176cm tall), I did went on a search for a head rest but there wasn’t one that is thick enough to rest my head comfortably so I use an arm pillow instead. Compared with the Aurion version this is a major setback when comfort is concerned, my parents who often sits at the rear did complained that the rear seat was too stiff and the suspension was rather hard, as they put it.. “older one feels like being chauffeured around, this one feel like sitting in a LaLa Cai car” I couldn’t help but to laugh my head off when they said that. I assume that the harder suspension of the car does make it far less comfortable than the Aurion version and then there’s the seats. So yes, I don’t use the car for long distance driving, which is quite a shame because I work from home and when I brought it up for the 3rd month service it was barely 500km because it only went on a trip to Ipoh and that’s pretty much it.

Speakers?
    I’m an audiophile, and these speakers on the Hybrid although JBL is incredibly disappointing. Especially when compared to the Aurion’s speaker, it lack clarity and the bass is distorted, wearisomely to enjoy an immersive listening style the unit has to be turned up quite high, Aurion was vol 16 while the hybrid is at 38. I brought it over to an accessories shop my friend owns and he recommended me to not alter the system, because the car runs on hybrid power, which means any bad wiring or if the capacitor unit of the audio system fails, there would be an incredibly expensive bill to fix things.

Don’t get me wrong though, the Hybrid system is great, handling is good as well. but the rest of the car… rather disappointing indeed. It’s as though the car was built for the sake of technological advancement instead of actual daily commuting. Well, another 4 and 1/2 years till loan are re-payed… So I guess I’ll keep it less than 30,000 km range for better resale value then.

Hope you enjoyed my comparison,

• Holofanboi on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:04 am

Howdy super old comment. Your review is of great value to me as I am interested in the “new” but old internals Camry. Figured I would also read reviews of the previous Camry and lo and behold, I came across your little gem.

Growing older I’ve begun to shun the harsh, low ride of most D segment sedans. My own car, the Kia Optima have been put on hold for an upgrade since 2017! Was very interested in Mazda 6, but the car was simply too low! (Try getting in and out of the car 12-16 times a day in a hurry)

The Camry is, unfortunately the ONLY sedan I see that would suit my newfound ‘uncle’ tastes now…. :(

• just when i tot i din see greg with his overacting in this video i was happy, but then he appeared ^^

• All are junk cars