Highways experience dip in traffic due to toll hike

Karak-highway

Following the announcement that toll rates for 18 highways will be increased on October 15, 2015, it was revealed that there has been a drop in traffic on these highways of between five to 10%, as motorists look to alternative roads to avoid paying toll.

Speaking to Nanyang Siang Pau on Wednesday, Association of Highway Concessionaires Malaysia (PSKLM) president Datuk Zainudin A. Kadir said that this reaction from motorists is to be expected as they are unhappy with the toll hikes, and would therefore aim to avoid tolled roads.

“This is probably the beginning. Given the ease in the use of navigation apps installed on smartphones, such as Waze, the figures may go up,” he said.

However, the Prolintas Group chief executive mentioned that not all highways are making profits because they still need to finance hefty loans, where it will take at least 10 to 15 years to recoup their capital. He added that a drop in traffic volume on the highways will also cause concessionaires to experience a reduction in income.

Datuk Zainudin also pointed out that the prevalent haze, which resulted in school closures could also have contributed to the dip in traffic volume.

On another note, PSKLM committee member and Ekovest Berhad managing director Datuk Lim Keng Cheng pointed out that almost all new highway concessions are loss-making, save for the older ones, citing the Duta-Ulu Klang (DUKE) highway as an example.

The saying “highway concessions are sure to make profit” applied only to the first batch of concessions according to both Datuk Zainudin and Datuk Lim. “Those who jumped on the bandwagon later on do not enjoy such guarantee of profit anymore,” they said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• This is temporary lah, soon they will all be back on the highways. Orang kita mudah lupa.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 3
    • la la on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Yeah will be a temporary thingy as there aren’t many other alternative routes that are not already congested.

• Normal Guy on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Nowadays a lot of sensible people commenting on paultan. I totally agree with you. Kasi u satu like!

• Well people, plan your journey. Don’t use highway if is not necessary. Don’t fall for Barisan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh. on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:49 pm

Tol naik tidak membebankan. Ia bagus untuk menggalakkan rakyat naik pengangkutan awam.

Rakyat mampu makan kfc, beli Merc, queue iphone, mana rakyat tertekan?

Love,
      cukurian 3.85

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • alldisc on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:20 pm

not making enough money? easy.

reduce company expenses. no company car for directors or general managers.

deduct 10% salary from CEO and MD. which is small should the CEO is earning 20k a month. ok, deduct another 10%.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • CEO’s earning 20k a month? are u kidding bro? at LEAST 100k lah bro..

• hahaha ceo earning 20k….hahaha….u cant get the necessary talent for ceo post wt that kind of pay, mgr level can ler…aiyoo

• thats why..in my company senior mgr pon dah 20K +..very small company bleh la 20k..

• Lolol on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:22 pm

Not sure where the %increae comes from as the increases I calculated range from 30% to 66%

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Petrol price increase.
    Toll increase.
    Yet need to spend hundreds ringgits every 1~2 months repairing the junk car?
    Now you know why so many ppl opt for Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 64
    • SAM Taik Loo on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Not surprising many youngsters that own a Toyotaik like ‘sudah jatuh ditimpa tangga’ – no car and falls into bankruptcy. Firstly, it’s super overpriced with shitty spec, second, it’s quality like taik, third, when no more money left to pay monthly installment (usually 9 years) to bank for few months, their car repossessed and still need to pay few ten thousands differences to bank after their taik cars auctioned off or the other way, simply crashed their taik cars (it’s much more easier because no VSC) with purpose to claim their insurance to realise it’s good RV, however, need to spend much more extras for their funeral or worse, lifetime hospital bills.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • From my experience, toyota is not reliable as mazda & Nissan. Hilux is nothing near durable than Dmax. I even got a friend of mine, a lady drive camry change all shock absorbers every year for 3 years before trade with mazda with low rv.

• Toyota no need repair, one time only go SC. Helping country save money, no need waste money to unuse people.

• applegreen on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:31 pm

Dear government, please show me road from shah alam to putrajaya without toll plaza

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
    • Potong saga on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:42 pm

There is a way only if you use helicopter, lol

• Mr Google on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:46 pm

ask google map…in fact u can travel all e way fm shah alam to Port Dickson without paying any toll

• Mr Google on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:46 pm

ask google map…in fact u can travel all e way fm shah alam to Port Dickson without paying any toll

• ben yap on Oct 23, 2015 at 9:53 am

Drive towards Proton at seksyen 27 shah alam. as you approach the LDP between puchong and USJ, make a U-turn and turn into the Kampung Bersatu road that leads to Puchong Perdana. You will exit at LDP and continue your way till you reach Bandar Bukit Puchong. Exit at Bandar Bukit Puchong and head towards another kampung road at Kampung Pulau Meranti. Finally you’ll exit at Cyberjaya and you can head all the way to Putrajaya without any toll.

Mind you, the distance will be much longer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • andrekua on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Of course they are not making money, its just that they are making a FORTUNE. That’s right… a fortune. For most of us who work 9-to-5 or more, we are making money but nothing comnpared to the fortune or what we would refer as Durian Runtuh in Bahasa Malaysia.

• arhusin on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:01 pm

Building highway infra budget should come from gov. It is not supposed to be profit making business in the first place. It is a public necessity and gov shouldnt charge anyhting

• public interest on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:22 pm

not making profit? who will believe if the concession contracts are kept secret? they should be revealed, as they involve public interest anyway…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • Gojeng on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:36 pm

“Those who jumped on the bandwagon later on do not enjoy such guarantee of profit anymore,” they said.

So why don’t u conduct any feasibility studies before gatal-gatal want to venture into highway concessionaires?
    U still think rakyat believe that bullshit? What, u think u’re some other politicians that think they can spew lies and people would take it wholeheartedly?
    U think rakyat stupid kah?

• George Abdul on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:37 pm

If not making profit… So just close the damn Tolls la !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Keris Jawa on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Sebagai rakyat biasa, kita:
    1. Bayar cukai pendapatan
    2. Bayar cukai jalan
    3. Bayar GST
    4. And yet kena bayar tol
    Kezaliman yang melampau…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • klguy on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:09 pm

seriously is that guy hinting that waze is causing them to suffer? whats next….beg the govt to ban waze? just like the taxi drivers asking for a ban in uber

• paanjang16 on Oct 23, 2015 at 8:36 am

Better ban google maps and google earth. Now rakyat can study alternative routes anywhere for whole Malaysia. Next ban Nokia here, Nokia drive, apple maps as well.

• FIST (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:38 pm

Jerebu and sekolah tutup, of course laa lower number of users

• pojie on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:44 pm

tamak!

• Hashbrown on Oct 23, 2015 at 6:15 am

Well they have also been closing schools due to the haze. So a dip in road traffic is not so surprising.

• Singaporean on Oct 23, 2015 at 6:39 am

Boleh land gomen tactic to rob more money from its own ppl.. Nasi lemak management.. This is what u get for choosing nasi lemak ppl to rule a wealthy nation… Muahahahaha

• Angry Rakyat on Oct 23, 2015 at 7:51 am

Kepala butoh!

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 23, 2015 at 8:16 am

Schools closed for a couple of days. Of course lah lower toll collection – since less vehicles on the road.

• Leonardo on Oct 23, 2015 at 8:17 am

Care to share/declare their P&L records?

• They should not make profit anyway … this is not a business … road, water, transportation and electricity is a mandatory things that Gov should provide! We should back like old days!

• paulz on Oct 23, 2015 at 9:00 am

Many of them forced to take toll highway everyday until runs out of touch and go credits….no choice but to squeeze along the crowded cars in federal highway. Thanks to our PM who janji never to increase all the tolls after GE13 election. But how unfortunately this incompetent leader gave sweet speeches every time just to buy our heart.

• Toll hike other expenses like petrol have to reduce!!! Everything price up, Malaysia will getting poor. G pls think about it!!!

• Malaysian's on Oct 23, 2015 at 9:28 am

Turunkan jelah harga tol tu. Menyusahkan orang je. Buat semak

• pikir positif on Oct 23, 2015 at 9:58 am

Tol naik, concession untung naik
    Concession bayar cukai naik
    Kemudahan Rakyat lebih baik

• Why don’t you & your cohorts go through and pay your tolls 100 times a day. Mebbe then can cover up the 5% traffic loss.

• FcukupG on Oct 23, 2015 at 10:23 am

well, fcuk u if toll doesnt make profit. Even primary school student can figure it out.

• Mark Chong on Oct 23, 2015 at 10:56 am

We all are “money maker machine” for Highway Concessionaires. Non-stop producing money for each of them… super duper sad!

• nubie on Oct 23, 2015 at 12:22 pm

so untung those riding bikes instead of cars, toll free and less fuel consumption. i do see more ppl using bikes due to the toll hike to save some $$. wish i know how to ride a bike too. no tolls & no jam.

• sakithati on Oct 23, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Seriously, if no money then reduce company`s capital and not seriously burden the public.They only take the easiest route and scam the Malaysian Public.Freaking cronies!

• Sam BuLoo on Oct 23, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Now only I know the reason why many companies wants to take over the highway conssessionaires… It is only for a PROFIT…. Nothing more than that…. Pity MALAYSIAN.. Sigh!!

• Levin on Oct 23, 2015 at 6:23 pm

I have a better idea. Why not increase the petrol price to RM5/L and then claim 50-70% reduction of road traffic.
    Highways were built using tax payers money for the betterment of the citizens. It is already bad enough that we’re forced to pay ridiculous amounts of toll to use these highways while at the same time having paid hefty roadtax fees for our vehicles. Didn’t they announce decades ago that these toll booths will be closed down once they have collected enough? Seems like its “never enough” huh?
    Wake up and smell the coffee fellas!