Malaysia vehicles sales data for Sept 2015 by brand

Driven Web Series 2015 Episode 2_ 001

Looks like there’s no letup to the slump in vehicle sales in Malaysia just yet – we’ve managed to compile sales data via the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) for the month of September by brand to put against figures obtained in the month before. On the whole, vehicle sales for the month of September 2015 totalled at 51,106 units – a slump of 2,346 units compared to the month of August 2015.

On the local front, sales of Perodua cars have slipped by 13.4% with a total of 14,479 units sold in September as opposed to 16,589 in August. Proton has also witnessed a bit of a slump with only 8,723 units sold compared to 9,040 in the month before. Not the case with foreign players, however – Honda moved a total of 7,519 vehicles compared to 6,853 in August which equated to a rise of 9.7%.

Also enjoying a good month is Mazda with 1,279 units sold as opposed to 1,192 in August – a hike of 9%. As for German manufacturers, both Audi and BMW appear to be recording healthy figures with a total of 126 and 747 units sold this month as compared to 103 and 700 units from August, respectively. As a result of said figures, Audi has seen a hike of 22.3% in terms of sales.

With that said, Mercedes-Benz and Volkswagen have both fallen with the former recording only a sales total of 1,023 and 441 units as compared to 1,033 and 663 units, respectively. The latter marque is the hardest hit of all major German brands with sales falling by 33.5%.

It has to be said that Honda remains as the top foreign player with 66,411 units sold year-to-date as of September 2015 when compared to its nearest competitor, Toyota. The latter managed only 62,097 units in the same period. For a more in-depth look at the figures chalked up by all brands, do refer to the chart below.

September-2015-Sales-Data-02

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Gargantia on Oct 26, 2015 at 4:37 pm

On the chart Toyota column arrow should be down(red) since the total less then August sales… why is arrow up(green)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 26, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Apologies, my bad. We’re fixing it now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
      • carlies on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Surprisingly Mercedes got the sales just right behind the top four Japanese car maker i.e Toyota, Honda, Nissan and Mazda, next? Merc!!!! wao! Tell me where are the poors?

• Where is Najib's Promise Aishah? on Oct 27, 2015 at 8:57 am

Where is Najib’s Promise to reduce car prices by 30%?? Datuk Aishah used to fight for lower prices for the consumer. Then Government gave her Datukship and now, she fights for higher car prices and maintaining the AP system.

Now, Datuk Aishah, instead of waiting for your Tan Sri award and your position in MITI as the Sec Gen, please ask your boss Najib, where is his 30% promise to reduce car prices??

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 26, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Total passenger cars sold as at 30/09/2015

Perodua 157,527
      Proton 78,836

Honda 66,411
      Toyota 43,658
      Nissan 31,033
      Mazda 9,651

HONDA BEATS TOYOTA BY 50%!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
      • Pakatan friendly UMW toyota loosing to DRB crony Honda? IMPOSSIBRU!! ALL MACAIS, QUICK! WE MUST SUPPORT OUR GLORIOUS TOYOTA BRAND AND BRING DOWN THE CORRUPTED AND BOURGEOIS CRONY HONDA! THE PEOPLES REVOLUTION IS CALLING FOR YOUR SUPPORT! NOT ONE STEP INTO HONDA SHOWROOM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 42
        • Why should they? The p2 is more than all your drb brands combined.

• George Abdul on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:13 pm

Some supporters can’t get enough attractions just let him be…

• Albert on Oct 27, 2015 at 5:12 am

Bradder John,do you know even the rice that you eat is controlled by cronies?The last time Tun dished out a list of cronies is when YAB Anwar’s chameleon macai accuse him of having cronies.
          In Bolehland,some dudes will change its color like chameleons to stay popular.
          Cronies are here to stay,you cant avoid it totally.They are scumbags,but lets move forward.Dont be impeded by cronies.

• Toyota is under UMW another government GLC.

• Albert on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Congrats,Resurgent Honda.
        Where is Divergent Toyota?Even with commercial vehicles included,they cant beat Honda.Same loor,what happened?My friend,senior manager at Lexus…said you have not ordered your fifth Lexus.
        For poor national car Protong,they can roughly sell 105,000 units by year end.
        Perodua will be the champion,nearing 210,000 units.
        Proton will be staring at another huge loss of at least Rm500 juta come march 31,2016.Mark my words.I wonder how Protong can endure 3 years of successive losses crossing rm2 Billion easily.Maybe they are waiting for the ‘special’ donation to bail them out.LAZY and SHAMBOLIC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • camtakpro on Oct 26, 2015 at 7:23 pm

No amount of push-start buttons and DVD-AVNs will replace VSC, TC and 4 more airbags.

Right now Honda just have to careful with the CVT they had and don’t screw up again.

• BUllshit!!! on Oct 27, 2015 at 2:36 pm

This table is totally wrong!!!!, not all car brands in there…., wrong and unverify info?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 27, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Hi, this table is based on sales data released by the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA), as stated in the story above.

• ben yap on Oct 26, 2015 at 4:37 pm

how come toyota sales went up?

the sales for august is higher than september.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 26, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Apologies, my bad. We’re fixing it now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • ????? on Oct 27, 2015 at 1:04 am

Why some brands not there? i.e Mahindra, great wall….etc? even only got ZERO sales will be still in the table right? This is not complete…

• Hahaha on Oct 27, 2015 at 1:06 am

yeah, I saw some GWM M4 on the road, don’t tell me those cars smuggled from china???

• Albert on Oct 27, 2015 at 8:50 am

Hafriz,being a fellow Victorian….please check your articles before you shoot it online.
        Anyway,you are a gentleman by sending your apology.

• Infiniti?

• BUllshit!!! on Oct 27, 2015 at 2:44 pm

infiniti, mahindra and great wall are junk metal and not considered as cars by paultan so they don’t even bother to include them. Don’t publish this kind of wrong information anymore, so malu as primary car information website in malaysia…

• The moment... on Oct 26, 2015 at 4:49 pm

The moment when honda sell as much as proton…

if they really bring in Brio… BOOM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • maodesong on Oct 26, 2015 at 5:14 pm

you do realized that honda and proton under drb hicom right?

• kzm (Member) on Oct 27, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Honda Malaysia is control by Honda Motor (51% shares). DRB (48% shares) control Honda manufacturing plant.

• Toyota salesman on Oct 26, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Honda leave behind Toyota because lack of pick up truck.. Toyota hilux still the best selling truck in malaysia, no esc 4speed . I don’t care ..
    See ford Isuzu.. 1000 delivery also cnt get in a month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • karam singh on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Half bought Hilux back because Hilux easy to get stolen,
      ;P
      Some are total lost insurance cover because lack of ESC,
      also Hilux easily lost control/roll over.
      FYI, Hilux failed on moose test btw.

• Toyota salesman on Oct 27, 2015 at 7:51 am

So I just seating at kedai kopi and wait customer find me.. Honda salesman standing at trafic light to give promotion about HRV.. Come kedai kopi we discuss about joining Toyota salesteam

• So pity sit at kopitiam, no wonder last time i saw Camry 2.5 hybrid launched at shopping mall only got 1 visitor. The funny thing is SA look at me thought i want walk in but i juz passby, hahaha

• According to some macai, car prices should be cheaper cuz it comes without rims.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • wiwiwiwiw on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Unfortunately they wanna make more profits by squeezing us to buy their cars with low safety but more on ugly bumpers bodykits, unnecessary large rims and thin profile tyres, pay more for USB radio unit, etc.

• Sam Taik Loo on Oct 26, 2015 at 7:15 pm

According to some macai, Toyotaik car prices in Malaysia should be cheaper cuz it comes without anything good and build quality is like taik.

• Tapau on Oct 26, 2015 at 7:17 pm

At current rate Proton should start looking for its buyer (eg.China carmakers) as sales way below target. DRB could no longer bleed more cash too.

• Runway on Oct 27, 2015 at 8:09 am

John is rather dimwitted. Forgive his poor reading skills.

• ionlaw on Oct 26, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Wonder what isuzu passenger car model sold in Malaysia?

• Soonowninfiniti on Oct 26, 2015 at 5:53 pm

Infiniti???

• areos on Oct 26, 2015 at 5:55 pm

very surprising..proton down only 3.5% from the previous month whereas produa down by 12.7%…

• camtakpro on Oct 26, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Gov is helping Proton to clear stocks, why not? However that alone won’t sustain the onslaught of shitty economy. Not even Perodua.

Be prepared for massive lelongs coming soon…

• cabbie on Oct 27, 2015 at 12:00 pm

since when govt help Proton clear stock? from what i heard Proton has no support from govt,. let alone govt buying Proton cars.

• kyosho on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Volvo sales is lowest than Porsche…

• Sammy Loo on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Where is Great Wall?

• Firdaus on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:20 pm

What about Great Wall? I thought they sold a couple of thousand cars right!

• can knw sales by car brands but NOT by individual car models..wats wrong wit the people at MyCC

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 27, 2015 at 9:27 am

Cannot show Greatwall sales despite having few models like Wingle, H5 & M4 ?

• Taulpan on Oct 26, 2015 at 7:23 pm

What happened to Citroen?

• Gaviny on Oct 26, 2015 at 8:35 pm

Here I am just counting pennies and the rest are busy car shopping. What the hell am I doing wrong

• You listened to an uber economist called George Abdul

• Normal Guy on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:32 pm

Stop queuing up at the iPhone launch locations and oh ya, spend within your means. LOL.

• SavingMore$$$ on Oct 27, 2015 at 12:41 am

Sob…Sob….Me too…
      Still driving my 10yr old Honda….
      But on the bright side, stop paying car installments for 5years….more money in my pocket….hehe

• Salute you bro..me too not gonna buy car brand new even i am affordable to pay monthly installment..
        i rather saving then buy cash secondhand car..by buying cash u may even get some discount..like u i rather have more money in my pocket

• ah wi on Oct 27, 2015 at 12:31 pm

do any one think the report maybe not really real (some one manipulate the number) ?

• intermilan on Oct 28, 2015 at 10:43 am

2015 is certainly disaster in the making particularly for Kia, VW, Peugeot, Suzuki and Chevrolet.

A lot of brands might fare better but will still miss their sales forecast / target that were announced earlier in the year.

A lot of brands under Naza Group are performing poorly. Bad products, after sales are the major grouses.

Fear that brand like Peugeot will whittle away for good. Excellent package ruins by MAJOR critical defects that is unforgivable and unforgiving (to the owners). What a waste, after all the sales expansion efforts of the past.
    Prince engine (the double-edge sword) RIP please.

Most shockingly is Kia free-fall in 2015. Probably suffer from combination of product cycle – end of life and poor product mix issue. They shouldn’t
    have let it happened. Bad planning from NazaKia. Its a pity, as they have being growing since their resurgence in 2010. Should be a blip rather than prolong downturn. Cerato is too expensive?
    And Kia need an excellent compact SUV fast. A B-segment sedan should be considered too. Just copy Honda product listings la.

VW keep struggling with poor image and reputation due to DSG gearbox and engine reliability and quality issues. The shocking worldwide Diesel Gate nightmare didn’t help either.
    Could repeat the hard landing suffered in 2013. This will be the THIRD years IN A ROW that sale decline YoY. Take out the chopping board (again).

Suzuki… beside the facelift (again and again) Swift being generally ignored by the market, the decline should be due to winding down of local operations in preparation of JV with Proton. But it seems that a lot of people isn’t aware of this.

• Jomblo on Oct 30, 2015 at 12:36 pm

right. all manufacturers had to face decrease sales this year. it was related with current economy situation which is people can’t to spend too much money because they’re burden with other issues like petrol prices and toll got hikes. VW keep struggling because i think many people didn’t know about DSG issues which it all had been resolved by VGM.