Audi TTS launched in Malaysia – 286 hp, from RM390k

Static photo Colour: Tango Red

Static photo
Colour: Tango Red

Continuing its blitz of new model launches, Audi Malaysia has rolled out the Audi TTS Coupe, with prices starting from RM389,900 – a cool RM105k over the regular TT’s RM284,900. This is the first official “S” model from the local distributor to debut here. Could this open doors for more “S” models? We’ll see.

For now, here’s a closer look at the hotter version of the TT, equipped with more power and a few exterior and interior party tricks unique to the “S” model.

Starting with its power, the Audi TTS Coupe gets a 2.0 TFSI four-pot turbocharged engine that makes 286 hp and 380 Nm of torque between 1,800 to 5,200 rpm.

You may notice that there is a slight drop in its power figures from the Euro-market TTS’ 310 hp/380 Nm, but Audi Malaysia has confirmed to paultan.org that it has had to compromise the performance of our local-spec model slightly to accommodate the demands of our local fuel quality and hot climate — it was a similar case for our local-spec Volkswagen Golf R, which also had its local output figures compromised.

Nonetheless, the TTS’ unique engine components are left intact, continuing to feature reinforced aluminium pistons, connecting rods, bearings and crankcase, as well as a high-performance air-to-air intercooler system.

Also, despite the dip in horsepower, Audi Malaysia still claims a 0-100km/h sprint time of 4.7 seconds – a total 1.2 seconds faster than the regular TT Coupe. A six-speed S tronic wet, dual-clutch transmission is equipped, while power is distributed to all four wheels via the brand’s proprietary quattro all-wheel drive system – comparatively, the local-spec regular TT was only available as a front-wheel drive version. To best exploit all this power, the Audi TTS is equipped with the same five drive modes available on the regular TT: Auto, Comfort, Dynamic, Efficiency and Individual modes.

On the exterior front, the TTS is standard-equipped with several unique items that set it apart and above from the regular TT. These include TTS badges all around, a TTS-specific body kit that adds a sportier front and rear bumper and diffuser, a TTS-specific radiator grille with aluminium design elements, four-oval tailpipes and TTS-exclusive 19-inch forged aluminium wheels. There’s also an active rear spoiler that pops up at speeds above 120 km/h.

While LED headlamps and tail lights come as standard on the TTS, you could specify the optional Matrix LEDs for a cool RM5,000 extra.

The interior of the Audi TTS Coupe also adds the Audi Virtual Cockpit 12.3-inch driver-biased instrument panel display screen, as well as the cool air-conditioning vents which have integrated displays on them.

Unique to the TTS, however is a set of electrically-adjustable S sport front seats, TTS sports contour leather-covered multifunction plus steering wheel with shift paddles, various “S” badges, a honeycomb-like laser texture on the dash, and an impressive, 680 watt, 12-speaker, 14-channel Bang & Olufsen sound system. And yes, these are all included as standard equipment for the TTS.

Audi TTS Coupé

Standard convenience and safety features include a Comfort Key, Electronic Stabilisation Control (ESC) which includes Traction Control (ASR), Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD), Electronic Differential Lock (EDL), Anti-lock Braking System (ABS), and four airbags.

Optionally, you could add a further two airbags and a parking aid plus with selective display system, but Audi Malaysia hasn’t yet revealed prices for these items, that are most likely to be a part of a package deal. It has revealed that the optional rear-view camera will set you back RM2,500.

Eleven colour options are available for the TTS, being Glacier White, Scuba Blue, Tango Red, Floret Silver, Monsoon Grey, Nano Grey, Brilliant Black, Mythos Black and Daytona Grey with pearl effect, along with TTS-exclusive colours, Vegas Yellow and Sepang Blue with pearl effect.

Audi TT Coupe

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• derrick on Oct 28, 2015 at 2:18 pm

WTF RM100K difference

• freeworld on Oct 28, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Not exactly bro.
      The base model is kosong. If you add those wheels, Headlights, Soundsystem… it comes out to about 350k already… so the difference of 50k for performance upgrade and options not available to the TT is not too much.

• Legoland on Oct 28, 2015 at 3:55 pm

True. Additionally, the TTS looks like a good option for a sporty vehicle vs say a Bmw 428i m sport.

• freeworld on Oct 28, 2015 at 6:38 pm

stiffer competition from the Merc stable, such as GLA/CLA/A Class AMG. All with better practically then this little coupe.

• hmm golf R or even subaru wrx sti has more power but cost much cheaper..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • tohellwithplagiarism on Oct 28, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Slowly when the TT filled our roads, there’ll be a lot “TTS” “TTRS” or even “R8” wannabes with some conversion made. N then claimed theirs is “that” particular specs. Mudah sellers proven. Be proud of ur ride n don’t be smtg that u can’t afford to n that, makin ur self disgraceful .. Btw, it’s an Audi already for f sake.

• freeworld on Oct 28, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Is a free world lah bro. People can patch whatever makes them feel happy about their ride. You susah susah for what?
      I personally quite like the TT mod to become R8 lookalike. is nice. If you don’t like then don’t mod yours lah.
      People like to mod their 5 series to M5 also is their freedom lah…

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:34 pm

…and there’s also people who put ///M badge into their 3-series. even my teacher put a ///M badge at his old E36.

• cheaper by 270K compared to Boxster GTS. Same sprint 0-100km/h in 4.7 seconds

• gaviny on Oct 28, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Doesn’t even look the price it costs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Using the same 6 speed wet clutch gearbox and even same engine as Golf R Mk7. However, the cost difference is RM100k. Moreover, I personally feel that the Golf R has an upper hand on road holding.

• freeworld on Oct 29, 2015 at 11:44 am

Biasa lah bro. One is VW, one is under the premium Audi branding…
      Camry hybrid also share same engine and gearbox as Lexus hybrid. Price also different lah.

• hazamiey on Oct 29, 2015 at 5:48 am

Autocar uk has tested this S model and it proven to be a much sportier setup than the standard model. This could be a good proposition in our market, considering its performance, and brand quality. For most petrolhead that are mortal like us, its real-world performance is more accessible especially in daily drive compared to other Rwd sportscar with NA engines. Enthusiasts might cringe with its 4wd setup and turbo four, but seriously i think 4wd roadcar will provide better confidence to normal drivers. Never had experience with audi’s quattro before, but my experience with JDM 4wd (evo, sti) has enough to spark my confidence on tearing the tarmac (even the road is not enough for those last decade JDMs). The nissan GTR with 4wd got lot of praise here in malaysia and I think the TTS (with similiar setup) should receive the same treatment from enthusiasts and not been labeled hairdressers car, save for the FWD standard TT.

• Inked up thuggin on Oct 29, 2015 at 7:47 am

Honestly i think the tts should have been the base model

• The TT is all about style. If performance is what you’re after then a sub RM300k Golf 7R makes more sense. The extra RM100k+ saved can mod the 7R kaw kaw… But if you must hv the TT, then fwd TT is one to have. TTS only for those with deep pockets

• Can anyone advice where about can I get an OEM Audi TTS Coupe full sets bodykit? Thanks.