Tokyo 2015: Subaru WRX STI S207 unveiled for Japan

Subaru S207 Tokyo 2015 18

Fuji Heavy Industries (FHI) will be launching the limited edition Subaru WRX STI S207 in Japan soon, and it’s now on display at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show. Only 400 units of these will be made. Based on the WRX STI, the S207 features engine and handling upgrades along with unique interior and exterior enhancements.

At the heart of it, the S207 comes with a boost of power, 328 PS in total (20 PS more than the JDM WRX STI). It receives a new ECU, twin-scroll ball bearing turbo and an STI-designed silicon intake duct, among the long list of upgrades. It’s also fitted with a performance muffler with lowered back pressure and a rear exhaust pipe down the back.

Handling has been enhanced through a quicker steering gear ratio of 11:1, while it also gets original STI bits such as a flexible tower bar, DampMatic II adjustable damping for the front suspension and front-rear active torque vectoring. Also fitted are Brembo six-pot brakes up front and four-pot brakes in the rear, complete with mono block opposed-piston brake calipers and drilled rotors.

Exterior enhancements include a large spoiler for the front, a mesh-type front grille with cherry-red stripes and air outlets in the rear bumper, also lined with a cherry-red stripe. An “S207” label is tagged in the rear as well. On the side, it is decked with a black side garnish with STI emblems and metallic side sill add-ons.

Inside, the S207 comes with an STI-spec Recaro front bucket seats, black semi-aniline finish with silver stitching and accents on the main panels and side panels, the latter with an STI logo embossed onto it. The black leather rear seats also receive silver stitching, along with the door trims. The instrument panel comes in red with an S207 logo, while the side sill plates also receive the S207 marking.

Furthermore, the instrument panel gets a luminescent effect, while the central instrument panel visor and the steering wheel is wrapped in leather, again with silver stitching. The start/stop button also features an STI logo, and same goes to the leather wrapped shift knob.

On top of all this, Subaru offers two additional Nurburgring 24 hour race-inspired packages. The NBR Challenge Package consists of an ultrasuede-wrapped steering wheel with silver centre marking and red seatbelts inside. Outside, it comes with a rear emblem, a dry carbon rear spoiler with an S207 logo and STI-designed BBS 19-inch forged aluminium wheels in black.

The other option is the NBR Challenge Package Yellow edition, which gets slightly less enhancements. The package consists of black side mirrors, yellow side sill plates with the S207 logo and black side sill mouldings.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• neonceejay on Oct 28, 2015 at 9:18 am

As a subaru fanboy, see this and I’m rejoiced!!!
    But then, down to the earth where now S206 still cost a eye watering, wet trousers 300k++….

….I back to sleep lah.

• The design really impressive. Use for mountain roads sure very satisfying.

• xxxxxxx on Oct 28, 2015 at 9:45 am

Nice subie, love the AWD.

• safety 1st on Oct 28, 2015 at 11:40 am

No dual clutch tranny? feels like the 90’s :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • neonceejay on Oct 28, 2015 at 5:00 pm

want a dual clutch tranny…Go and buy volkswagen lah…
      I prefer subaru stays as subaru.

There’s a lot of way to help those Left foot diasbled, such as bosch E clutch, or what ford did to ford focus rs, anti-stalling system.

Car’s are already fast enough, and if you’re one of those number freaks that said DSG could shift faster than Manual and thus make the car faster…

And all I can tell you, driving manual is about the satisfaction to pump the clutch, throw the gear lever and punch the throttle, rather than flick a paddle and that’s it.

Cars are dying. Let manual live their way out!

• safety 1st on Oct 29, 2015 at 5:06 pm

I am just saying since golf r, a45 amg, m2, they offer a dual clutch tranny…if the japs (other than gtr) could just produce an option of dual clutch…it will give people like me more option to choose. Had my share of dumping the clutch 10 yrs ago…now its time to move on.

• pondan spotted on Oct 28, 2015 at 6:08 pm

pondan spotted

• safety 1st on Oct 29, 2015 at 5:11 pm

why so insecure? need a manual to be a man..need to smoke ciggie to look macho? duhh…i just need a fast car that could pops and crackles between gears. U guys must have not tried the new auto/twin clutch of todays performance cars that u think manual is the only way to enjoy the car….grow up college boy!

• Say something on Oct 28, 2015 at 12:11 pm

May I know, what is the difference between twin scroll and twin scroll ball bearing?
    I tried googling it but i got no answer.

• neonceejay on Oct 28, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Basically, it’s the same thing.
      well when twin scroll turbo,as you know have a small turbine fins and a big turbine fins,
      they did have a lot of design.

some is single bearing which mean, both turbines are using the same bearing.
      while in this case, it might refer to they have two bearings for two different turbines?

(P/s: It’s my assumption. So if anyone found out that this is absolutely bullshit, sorry and I’m willing to learn. PEACE =) )

• brisance on Oct 29, 2015 at 11:37 am

Almost right. Twin scroll just means that the exhaust flow is optimized to minimize any perceived “lag” (not really “lag”, but the full explanation would take a lot of space). The “ball bearing” part just means what it is, instead of “normal” journal bearings.

• safety 1st on Oct 29, 2015 at 5:26 pm

this isn’t a new tech…bmw have been using this on prince engine and all of its line up long ago…same with the golf gti…to increase the speed of the turbo spool n reduce lag…LAG that the subi n evo are famous of!

• Diesel Power!!! on Oct 28, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Sorry to say tht, this subaru design not that impressive, when compare to honda, peugeot, citroen, seat…it look like never progress from the previous generation..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • The Stig on Oct 28, 2015 at 7:08 pm

Japanese boy racer cars are so yesterday news. Its now the era of conti hot hatches. Renault Megane RS Cup, VW Golf R & Merc A45 AMG are the benchmarks. Love the facelifted A45 AMG, 0 – 100kmph in 4.2s !!! Insane!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • camtakpro on Oct 29, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Conti hot hatches? See you in service centre.

• Stienthusiast on Oct 29, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Worry nothing since you wont afford neither japanese boy racer machine nor the continental hot hatch.

• hazamiey on Oct 28, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Proper machine.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 28, 2015 at 8:56 pm

noticed the shadow on this pic? http://paultan.org/2015/10/28/tokyo-2015-subaru-wrx-sti-s207-unveiled-for-japan/subaru_wrx_sti_s207_3/