Tokyo 2015: Honda Odyssey Hybrid makes its debut

Honda Odyssey Hybrid TMS-2

Sitting quietly in a corner in the Honda stand at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show was the Odyssey Hybrid, which premiered at the show. Given the scant details available for it, the debutant almost looked like it was there to make up the display numbers.

No technical details beyond the mention that it features an updated Sport Hybrid Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD) powertrain. The literature says that the system features a new power control unit with a compact and concentrated structure for outstanding power density.

The automaker adds that the Intelligent Power Unit – comprising the battery and PCU (Power Control Unit) – is now for the first time located beneath the front row seats, saving up cabin space.

No numbers were touted either for the vehicle, which bears an Odyssey Absolute moniker, so the assumption must be that the vehicle’s Sport Hybrid i-MMD system is likely made up of the 141 hp/165 Nm 2.0 litre i-VTEC petrol engine, twin electric motor and 1.3 kWh lithium-ion battery combo as found on the Accord Hybrid. On the latter, total system output is 196 hp and 307 Nm.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Why buy this junk when you got Exora? Far better car and most importantly, Buatan Malaysia. We can trust it and it is reliable yet affordable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
  • xxxxxxx on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:09 am

Nice, CKD this sell for $170k please

• CrazyMobilo on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:23 am

Looking really sporty & vicious !!
    I am a great HYBRID fan. I really hope we could get this HYBRID here . But sadly thats not likely to happen.

• mr1031 on Oct 29, 2015 at 10:53 am

i’m interested in the new Odyssey..however, the n.a engine is a let down unless Honda went for turbo path or hybrid..

• Honda Malaysia selling locally Pagoh-assembled Odyssey Hybrid @ CKD Price 148K

• iampro on Oct 29, 2015 at 11:17 am

anybody buy honda hybrid is bodoh.

remember those pathetic jazz hybrid/insight 1.3 ?
    or the also lousy 1.5 civic hybrid?

YEAH YEAH THEY ARE OLD.

THEN LOOOK WHAT HAPPEN TO THE NEW GEN IN JAPAN. HOW MANY RECALLS TROLLOLOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • FIST (Member) on Oct 29, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Dang, from the first pic, I thought it was an Exora

• Carl Wong on Oct 30, 2015 at 11:18 pm

I love my Insight. Wondering if they will come out with a Gen 3 Insight in the future with the ultra efficient Earth Dreams Hybrid drivetrain + plug in option which should get 30km/L++ pretty easily :]…

• Everyone hv their own preference either local or imported cars, cbu or ckd, na or hybrid and etc.. Regardless of the price tag, its ur own finance that u use to purchase wht u like. I just cant understand y in this era, there are still people who prefers to condemn brands/wht others people view.