Toyota 86 facelift to be a major revamp, more power

Toyota_86_ 012

This year marks the fifth year since the Toyota 86 was introduced to the world. Its chief engineer, Tetsuya Tada said that the facelift of the two-door coupe will be “coming soon,” Drive reports. Well, that’s about damn time isn’t it?

As to what changes can be expected in the new-age Hachi Roku, “everything,” the chief engineer said at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show. “Engine, body, suspension. Everything.” What has been confirmed however, is a new optional lightweight carbon-fibre roof for when the facelift arrives. The coupe is expected to gain more power without the use of a turbocharger, which means it will stay naturally-aspirated.

He noted that the turbocharging route is too easy in terms of achieving more power. “I think turbo is a really easy solution,” he said. “I already say we try to show something new, something challenging,” Tada mentioned. He continued, “my personal preference, downsizing turbocharging engine is boring technology.”

According to him, the sound of the engine is a key factor. As compared to small capacity turbo mills with high compression ratios, Tada says that these sort of engine do not emit the same exciting notes as compared to the naturally-aspirated 2.0 litre boxer power plant found in the coupe.

While Tada mentioned that “everything” has changed, the spyshots that we showed you earlier doesn’t really reflect that, visually at least. However, as for everything else, if what Tada says is true, major changes that we can look forward to are all underneath that shell. So folks, are you getting excited yet?

Toyota 86 facelift spyshots:

Toyota 86:

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Pontan-HairStylist on Oct 29, 2015 at 5:19 pm

I hope they would change the dashboard design to something like the new audi TTS, existing design is as boring as a turbo bolted small engine..

• ABTguy (Member) on Oct 30, 2015 at 8:57 am

No Turbocharging, that means a VW Golf GTI can still easily tapau GT 86 !

Let alone Golf R.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:43 pm

I also can find turbo kancil on the road, what so special?

Wanna pure power and speed? Better get a Kawasaki sport bike!

NA boxter engine with Skyactiv can beat turbo engine in terms of power and emission, this is called TECHNOLOGY!

• thepolygonal on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:09 am

Yes together with that steering wheel.

• How well this so-called “sport car” doing in Malaysia? I rather call it a “fun-ordinary car”

• kington on Oct 29, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Awwww man….. it’s about time.

• gdhehshsg on Oct 29, 2015 at 6:13 pm

this car looks so boring in pictures, but in real life, infront of your eya so beautiful. especially in black

• nabill (Member) on Oct 29, 2015 at 6:17 pm

Oh crap, im smelling hybrid power.. If turbocharging is so called ‘easy option and boring’…

• safety 1st on Oct 29, 2015 at 6:36 pm

o really… more power from the 2.0 na? like 0.5hp extra?

• Sammy Loo on Oct 29, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Best sport car in the world with best durability and best RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4