Free bus service in PJ area getting thumbs up – MBPJ

pj-city-bus-public-transport

Since it started in May 14 last year, the free bus service provided by the Petaling Jaya Municipal Council (MBPJ) is receiving positive response, The Malay Mail reports. In addition, a survey notes that the service has even converted motorists into commuters.

The survey, conducted back in September 14 and 18 by the council’s Urban Transportation division, found that one-fifth or 19% out of a sample of 400 participants, previously drove their cars or rode motorcycles. Since the service started, the busses shuttle an average of 9,000 passengers each day. The survey details that 86% of passengers are students and low-income earners.

Lee Suet Sen, MBPJ councillor said of the survey, “this is very positive news to us in MBPJ as one of the main objective for the PJ Free Bus (initiative) is to create awareness of public transport usage and further improve the mobility of PJ residents in the city.” This, in addition to reducing traffic congestion and lowering transportation costs for residents.

petaling-jaya-one-way-loop

Lee however said that the service could still be improved, particularly in terms of decreasing waiting time. “Currently, 45% of them wait for less than 15 minutes and 47% waited for 16 to 30 minutes,” Lee said, adding “our target is 15 minutes of waiting time. To improve this requires an increased number of buses, of which MBPJ has already included in its 2016 budget.”

On top of that, Lee, who is also the city’s Master Transportation Plan Committee chairman is calling for a review of current and future bus stops so as to ascertain accessibility within a 400-metre radius. In that, Lee also encouraged more to use the free bus service as the survival and success of it depends on those who could switch from their own vehicles to public transportation.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• ben yap on Oct 30, 2015 at 4:59 pm

beware! later taxi drivers protest in front of MBPJ office and drag those bus drivers and beat them up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Madani Con Artist on Oct 31, 2015 at 11:45 am

teksi drivers allowed to protest because SPAD big boss Albar is scared of his wife. His wife own so many teksi companies and the business now doing bad because of grabcar and uber

• pengguna proton kecewa on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Good bus service.bad roads.neverending construction here and there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Jangan complain dan jangan persoal, otherwise you BN lapdog

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • pengguna proton kecewa on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Excuse me.do you live or work in PJ?

• Are you even Malaysian? Show me your IC. If you’re not jangan persoal. If you are, you would know that PR are angels, not one thing is bad or corrupted even if they do the same thing as their hated enemy. You can bash, can soal Gov, but if you do the same to PR, then you BN lapdog. So oso jangan persoal.

• stevenking on Oct 31, 2015 at 8:11 am

There is no doubt good move from mbsj. Thumb up. However, if we keep making this blog to get comment from those politician, it will eventually lose the trafiic and not to say this blog alreasy getting not popular now. Most of my frens already moved away from PT blog.

• Be grateful we the bumi give you pendatang free country to stay in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • banglo on Oct 31, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Free bus for bangla and nepal. Vote pakatan yeah..

• bulrorg on Oct 31, 2015 at 5:28 pm

stevenking no wonder move away. engrish like that how to read PT lor?

• siaocom on Oct 30, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Yes is good but only cover certain PJ area only. It should cover up Sungai Way to PJ City. Not only Taman Medan and PPUM.

• Sungei Way pipu only labourers and foreign workers, not voters. Why should they care? Then their bus no longer high keras. Unless they make rule that to ride, you must show blue IC and sing Negaraku

• ben yap on Oct 31, 2015 at 7:42 am

lowyat bastard spotted. bringing all the broken language to paultan.

• siaocom on Oct 31, 2015 at 11:52 am

When it says cover up Sungai Way, it doesn’t mean it only cover only Sungai Way bro. It can be cover up to SS1, SS3 and etc via Sungai Way towards PJ City. Sungai Way got voters as well bro. Kindly do not over react. Cheer up bro.

• Be thankful..

• azhar on Oct 31, 2015 at 11:46 am

meanwhile the expensive sunway BRT get thumbs down!

• Both use buses, both cater to urban areas. But one is by Gov, mesti hentam. The other by PR, mesti puji. This is what Malaysia has becum

• Trudi on Oct 31, 2015 at 2:20 pm

By whom?

• PJLiving on Oct 31, 2015 at 3:43 pm

They better hasten the road construction.
    They unearth the roads, narrow the roads, and there isn’t even anyone working on some of the areas…

IF you are not going to work on it yet for the next week, don’t unearth the damn road and let the road narrow for 3 weeks without doing anything.

Bunch of stupid contractors…and the MPs don’t even bother taking an audit to look at how far/mess the road has become….

Goes to show…even simple things they can’t manage. Have they seen the morning, afternoon and evening traffic is causes….idiots.

• The MPs dun even have PJ address, yet you pipu voted for them again and again. So padan muka