Perodua’s Jan-Sept sales up 12%, on course for 2015 target of 208,000 units and No.1 spot

Perodua Sentral PJ 9

Perodua is on course to achieve its 2015 sales target of 208,000 units, which if successful, will be the brand’s best ever performance in a calendar year. Should Perodua hit the mark come year end, it would have also maintained its market leading position, comfortably.

Announced in January and maintained through the GST introduction period as well as Malaysia’s less than rosy current economic sentiment, 208k is 6% more than the 195,600 units the company managed last year. P2’s previous sales record was 196,100, achieved in 2013.

Perodua’s president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh told paultan.org at the sidelines of the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show that he is “cautiously optimistic” that the target will be achieved. This is despite September being the worst month for P2 sales this year, at around 14,500 units. Aminar said that October’s performance should normalise to around 17,000 to 17,500 units.

January to September 2015 sales stood at 157,257 units, which is a substantial 12% more than the 140,317 units recorded in the same period last year.

Unsurprisingly, it’s the Axia that is carrying the flame. Perodua’s latest entry-level model, introduced last September, recorded sales of 76,107 units till September, overtaking the now facelifted Myvi (52,560 units, 65,245 last year) and Alza MPV (28,841 units, 43,014 last year), both of which have seen sales decline. The Rawang-based carmaker expects to sell 105k Axias in 2015.

More cheer in the other departments too, as service revenue is up 8% and revenue from parts is up 5%.

perodua-ceo-028

The company appears to be immune to the current troubles of the auto industry in Malaysia, but the ever-careful Aminar warned of choppy seas ahead. The ringgit is Asia’s worst performing currency this year, and rising costs are affecting most players; top two foreign brands Toyota and Honda have announced that prices will go up in 2016 and it wouldn’t be surprising if others follow suit.

On the possibility of Perodua doing the same, Aminar said: “We are studying the situation very very closely. I have to admit that our cost has gone up, and vendors have raised their hands at us too. We would like to avoid it [price hikes] if possible. If we come to a point where it’s too difficult to absorb, we’ll have to make a decision.”

He also explained that the Axia G’s RM990 price increase from October 1 was merely an expiry of the introductory price and not a forex effect. If the ringgit’s performance against major currencies was the factor, the price increase wouldn’t be just for one single variant.

Perodua-Sentral-PJ

Last month, Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin, group chairman of Perodua stakeholder UMW Holdings, said that costs have increased for imported cars and components, but current car prices will be held for as long the car companies can take it due to the market being very competitive.

“We have been impacted. To give you figures, it’s 2 to 3% of our bottom line [profit before tax] two to three months ago; now it’s 5%,” he said then. The ringgit most recently closed at 4.2875 to the greenback and 3.5535 to the Japanese yen, the two currencies Perodua trade in.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• If auto industry wasn’t protected, I don’t think both P1 and P2 would survive in the competitive industry.. Just because they always offer tin spec cars to the rakyat as if our lives worth nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Where is Najib's Promise Aminar?? on Oct 30, 2015 at 11:05 am

The question Aminar Rashid must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

UMW has been making so much of money from each Toyota and Perodua sold the past 20 years. Until today Perodua got no VSC in their cars at all.

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?
      Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM18,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM18k per month by 2020?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0rrrr on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Cheap reliability, these are all Malaysians look for.

Those VSC, 6 airbags, just bonus. No one buy a car simply because it has VSC. But no one will buy a car if it doesn’t have QUALITY. Proton is the best example.

“Betul2 Onz” should be changed to “Betul2 Syok Sendiri”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Agree! But p2 actually make high quality car unlike p1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • SamLoo on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:06 am

congrats on helping this supremacist group of people

• Aminar, VSC Mana? on Oct 30, 2015 at 11:14 am

Please don’t be proud Perodua Aminar. Yes you have done well in the past in sales but it is merely because MITI has jacked up the prices of all other cars by RM30k that we Malaysians are forced to buy your car, being the cheapest.

But your car has ZERO safety features which puts of lives and our family in constant danger. We can only pray that we don’t meet an accident. If that happens, we are dead on the spot.

Again I tell you, don’t be proud of your sales to Malaysians. You have indeed done well but at our detriment and at the expense of our safety.

People always pick and condemn Proton but you too have got all the Protectionism like Proton. Yes, Proton may have sucked tens of billions to stay afloat, but you Perodua, though you have not sucked that much, you have benefitted from MITI protectionism which has made all Malaysians suffer the past 20 years.

And now you Aminar, say, you don’t know how long you can hold your prices. Hello, your parent UMW Camry is only USD$22,000. This also a highly specced 10 airbag Camry CBU with about 20 safety features taken out in the CKD. Yet, your parent UMW sell your Camry here for Rm180,000 despite it being CKD. Your cost for a CBU camry hardly can come to US$15k also. The CKD Camry is about US$12k. And yet, you charge Malaysian RM180k. And now you say you don’t know how long you can sustain the current prices of your cars?

Honda for instance was about to sell their Honda City for RM50k. But this proposal was shot down by MITI. How do I know? Well I used to work for Honda at a very high level. We used to negotiate with MITI. But MITI was always demanding we increase our prices.

Surprising why MITI is asking us to increase our prices. What else? It is to protect Proton and Perodua.
      So, Perodua, don’t be proud of your achievements and come here like a cry baby pre warning people that you are increasing your prices. Your cars, still can be reduced further. We are overpaying you as you have still not reduced your car prices by 30% as promised by your big boss Najib.

You are still screwing the lower income people. The big guns in Perodua Boardroom all earn 6 figures per month so they don’t know about the man on the street who still earns RM900 per month. People say, even with RM10k is hard to live in KL. Can you imagine somebody earning RM900?

We tend to blame Toyota and Honda for high prices but let us assume they are for the middle class.
      Perodua is still very pricey and burdensome for the lower income. Don’t be proud Perodua

• tokmoh. on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:20 am

“He also explained that the Axia G’s RM990 price increase from October 1 was merely an expiry of the introductory price and not a forex effect.”

Mak dia hijauuuuuuu

If that is so, why so many SA caught by surprise too?

Why new price affect those who book before Oct? Why they need to reapply loan facility? Shouldn’t SA know and inform customers?

Liar liar pants on fire, he still keeps his big fat bonus, he don’t care about your life.

Customers are still screwed, had to pay RM37k for ABS, coin box holder, tissue box holder, anti snatch hook. Utter rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • 1JutaAxiaSedan on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:42 am

With the upcoming Axia Sedan car, Perodua probably can sell another 100,000 cars more to total units of 300,000 or half of industry volume.

The big headache now which half-empty car factory Perodua might buy or rent to meet the huge demand? The one in Gurun ? Tanjung Malim ? Shah Alam ?

#1JutaAxiaSedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Save ur mouth to save other people life. Dun ask people move to coffin

• kipas angin on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:47 am

Perodua car quite good, but some of perodua drivers mentality are not good (on the road). Sorry to say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Good Job Perodua on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:48 am

Good job Perodua, in the end of the day, sales chart speaks the greatest truth. And truth sometimes hurt, especially for people who can’t face reality.

MAJORITY of Malaysian car buyers are rational and savvy for their hard-earned money. We want a fuel efficient car with good reliability, that’s all, not being deprived, cheated and treated like fools with low quality junks, all in the insane name of “national pride” and “self manufacturing”.

For the MINORITY, you can continue support the so called “national pride” that even its home market shun it at large. You can shout whatever you want but the truth is this junk maker is heading into 15% of the TIV this year, plunging from 23% TIV in 2012, despite introduce all kinds of new models, “come back game”, “Volvo of Asia”, “Carnival” all all sorts of bullshit gimmick.

For fanboys, talk is cheap, action is substance. Go buy 10 of this junk and park it at your house to save its certain doom. In another 5 years time, this pathetic car maker will plunge to just only 10% TIV in Malaysia, becoming a MINORITY in its home market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • The sale chart only told u how many stupid n rich in bolehland

• U juz go P2 big SC n see how many junk n rubbish stock pile there

• Bruise on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:55 am

The truth is Perodua is failure project, think wisely u will know Perodua not done in good job.

• Good Job Perodua on Oct 30, 2015 at 11:41 am

I am aghast the level of stupidity that you had demonstrated. I am a businessman. From the business point of view, car manufacturing is the same as any business under the sun. The SOLE and PRIME OBJECTIVE of a business is making money, the rest is secondary.

As a business, Perodua is a HUGE success, it make big money and capture big chunk of the market. Call them low class, call them hypocrite by giving expensive bodykits and low safety features, call them rebadge maker with on R&D capacity… That doesn’t matter because MAJORITY of the Malaysian consumer like their product. You could scream whatever you want but in the end of the day, their marketing strategy and product work wonders in the Malaysian market! Simple as that.

In contrast, some car maker has been making LOSSES YEAR AFTER YEAR, and bleeding money like hemorrhage. From business point of view, THAT IS A FAILURE. They can claim whatever bullshit such as “national pride”, “Volvo of Asia” , “local R&D” but in the end of the day, THAT’S NOT WHAT THE MARKET WANT! All these effort is nothing but syiok sendiri masturbation. Why is it so hard for them to realise? Majority of Malaysian car buyers don’t care about safety feature or national pride, they want a cheap, reliable, fuel sipping car with good quality, which they fail to make.

In fact, they could get into bottom of the reasons why Malaysian shun their car in the first place. Just get rid all the cronies, low-quality suppliers and restore the confident level among the consumer’s perception. Even that simple they refuse to do because they put crony interest above anything else, even bleeding the company to death doesn’t matter, janji crony dilindungi!

Pls, whatever you do, don’t venture into business. Because you’re probably become a “syiok sendiri” businessman, living in your lala land and ignoring the reality of the market all together. If you have a santa clause father that could support your money-losing, syiok sendiri business venture (like the stupid car maker), that’s fine. But if you’re on your own, nobody is gonna pity you. This is the reality of the harsh business world.

• Lagi Perodua Lagi Mati

• Not good enough. Please gear up your basic safety equipments like Traction Control, Electronic Stability Control, ABS and EBD. As long you include all these active safety option, people will continue to buy local cars like Perodua. Excluding the very basic ABS and EBD on Perodua vehicles is like its own sibling UMW Toyota (ripping customers by taking away all these safety equipments in their vehicles). Forget about 6 air-bags. Traction Control and ESC are the most vital active safety equipment in modern day vehicles.

• jobless on Oct 30, 2015 at 12:17 pm

wit all the potection and p1 own syiok sindili cars i tink anyone can sit in his place goyang kaki and still achieve yearly KPI..coz consumers no choice forced to buy cheap local models tat r junk or few generation old in their home countries

• jobless on Oct 30, 2015 at 12:20 pm

most p1p2 drivers inc God Car dont give a damn about oters and drive like they invincible on the road..

• Axia yearly sales more than total proton combined.
    Hyundai started same time as Proton. Hyundai sales is more than 6 million per year. Basing on current proton sales of 0.1 million per year, Hyundai yearly sales is more than 60 years of proton sales. Korea boleh.

• MentalKar on Nov 02, 2015 at 10:00 pm

PeroDUA Congrats!!! Jadi no.1 mmg satu cabaran tu.
    Kipidap