New traffic dispersal plan for Jln Tun Razak from Nov 8

Jalan-Tun-Razak

DBKL has announced a new traffic dispersal plan for Jalan Tun Razak, one of the most congested roads in downtown Kuala Lumpur during rush hours. Two stretches are affected, one at the Pekeliling/Bulatan Pahang area and one near the US embassy. It starts this Sunday, November 8, and here’s what’s going to happen.

• Vehicles from Jalan Pekeliling Lama are only allowed to flow into Jalan Ipoh/Jalan Tun Razak
  • Vehicles heading towards Lebuhraya Sultan Iskandar (formerly Lebuhraya Mahameru) are to use the Jalan Ipoh/Jalan Tun Razak traffic light intersection under the flyover
  • Vehicles from Jalan Tun Razak (from Jalan Semarak/Jalan Ampang) will have to use Bulatan Pahang if they wish to head to Jalan Ipoh
  • Vehicles from the direction of Jalan Tun Razak (from Bulatan Pahang) heading to Jalan U-Thant are to use the road below the flyover, passing the Jalan Semarak and Jalan Ampang junctions
  • Vehicles heading towards Cheras and the south can still use the flyover, but will no longer be able to turn into Jalan U-Thant
  • Vehicles from the direction of Jalan Ampang (from Jalan Jelatek) flowing into Jalan Tun Razak (south-bound) can only turn into Jalan U-Thant

It’s clear that the above measures are to reduce options and merging traffic, which is the main cause of congestion at the two Jalan Tun Razak stetches. Monday will be mayhem, but here’s hoping that this new scheme will bear fruit once motorists are used to the new system.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• annoymous on Nov 03, 2015 at 8:25 pm

so….jalan u-thant will become jalan u-turn ah?

• How are my many wives going to go to work now? Simple, I ask them alll to car pool with me in one car. So, now, instead of 4 cars going out, only 1 car go out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • John X on Nov 04, 2015 at 10:40 am

You’re remark is an absolutely stupid response to a witty comment.You’re a buffoon and a disappointment to whomever you represent.

• james on Nov 04, 2015 at 11:53 am

Hope to see police standby at Bulatan Pahang as traffic squeeze themselves into Jalan Genting Klang

• Susukotak on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:34 pm

Let see the result of briliant dbkl on monday.

• teropong on Nov 04, 2015 at 1:05 am

makes good sense, a high volume highway should have limited access points as necessary. timely revision as those 2 listed points are really dire

• KL Tang on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:05 am

There are 3 major jam along Jalan Tun Razak. Vehicle from RHB bank should NOT be allowed to go into Jalan Tun Razak and should go to a slip road to Kg Pandan roundabout. Vehicle from Jalan Cheras should NOT connect into Jalan Tun Razak but to a new ramp to connect to Fraser roundabout. In this way 2 out of 3 bottlenecks would be resolved.

• I like your ideas but the RHB one is quite scary. Can the kampung pandan slip road take all that traffic?

• fatman_xing on Nov 05, 2015 at 4:39 pm

I’m in agreement with your suggestion. The location you mentioned are the real choke points of Jalan Tun Razak.

There is one more area, the Jalan Ipoh/Lebuhraya Mahameru intersection near Wisma PWTC too.

• ben yap on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:13 am

Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan said wake up early…..

so monday motorists have to wake up even earlier to beat the toll and the congestion for those using Jln Tun Razak.

• John X on Nov 04, 2015 at 10:42 am

I look forward to what Rahman Dahlan has to say daily. He has the best quotes to our current affairs.

• fromsemarak on Nov 04, 2015 at 11:00 am

I think…the illustration got some error in it…

• Driver on Nov 04, 2015 at 11:14 am

Just need to throw away the traffic light at Jalan Pahang McDonald’s and road will be very smooth just like before.

• ‘Vehicles heading towards Mahameru to use Jln Ipoh/tun rasak intersection under the flyover’…that’s the worrying part..I assume this would mean the entire traffic from Jln Pahang/genting klang would have to go through that intersection?

That has been tried before and it failed. That would stifle the entire northeastern kl conurbation of setapak, Wangsa maju etc wishing to get to the city.

There are alternative roads but this has caused a lot of traffic woes during rush hour. An no i do not live there but I frequent the area. It’s unfair for them TBH.

• JAR JAR on Nov 04, 2015 at 5:51 pm

I am really confused with this. So what is the flyover up for then.

• fromsemarak on Nov 04, 2015 at 2:14 pm

i think…the traffic from jln semarak toward jln tun razak (north bound & south bound) will be congested like hell..but..who knows…just wait until Monday…because the road under jln tun razak flyover is flooded with traffic …

• Thomas on Nov 04, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Merging traffic is not the problem as mention in the article. Driving disipline and driving skills and the whole enforcement are the problem in Malaysia. 80 or 90 % of experienced Malaysian driver will fail a driving test in northern Europe, don’t take about beginners. Additional also the programming of the traffice light phases are ridiculous. Also just look the driving instructers how they drive – from where to learn how to drive :)

• Great.. at work in sungai besi and live in keramat. Lets see how this goes. I am not holding my breath though.

• jobless on Nov 05, 2015 at 8:21 am

One of the reason to helo smart tunel coz pay rm3 sill stuk crawling in the tunnel

• Nimza on Nov 05, 2015 at 11:21 am

I think there would be no improvement as 2 traffic bottlenecks will remain at:

1) Bulatan Pahang
    2) Intersection after the flyover towards Lebuhraya Sultan Iskandar and Jalan Kuching

• Bottleneck on Nov 06, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Hope it will get better especially for those coming out from klcc parking or the nearby area. X-crossing from us embassy to tun razak and vice versa have been a pain in the…