LRT stations to be given more facilities to attract riders

LRT Kelana Jaya Line

It appears Prasarana Malaysia has big plans for LRT stations in the Klang Valley, according to a report by The Star – the public transport operator is looking add more shops and facilities such as banks, restaurants and even government services at all stations by 2020, in order to attract more riders to use the trains.

“We are re-engineering ourselves to meet the demand of users. We’re going for all the stations by 2020,” said Prasarana group chief executive Datuk Azmi Abdul Aziz, citing the Tokyo Central Railway Station – which has shops and restaurants even past the ticket barriers – as an example of such a model. “In Tokyo, you have people converging there not for the train but for the services.”

Prasarana will be “aggressively” pursuing this strategy starting next year, he added, and it will be implementing services and shops both inside the ticket area as well as outside of it. In fact, The Star notes that it may already be taking place in some locations, such as the Bukit Bintang Monorail station – it now sports AirAsia branding and even houses one of the budget carrier’s sales centres.

“A UTC (Urban Transformation Centre) is also possible,” he said, referring to the government service centre that provides immigration, tax returns and national registration services, public amenities and services of private sectors, among others.

Azmi admitted that many stations, such as Abdullah Hukum, had a lot of spaces that were empty and not in use, and said that he hoped that by giving the public more facilities, it would eventually encourage more people to take the train, and see the stations as more than just transit points.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Toilet Basah Semua LRT on Nov 04, 2015 at 4:00 pm

the most basic facility, clean dry toilets also don’t have. Please educate the rakyat and tell them, that even kencing also, don’t have to wash so much and wet the whole toilets up. Our toilets are so wet, sometimes got 1 inch of water also on the floor cause Malaysians have this habit of washing everytime they pee. Pee just wipe lah with tissue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
  • bodooooooo on Nov 04, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Until today still cant top-up mykad Touch N Go

what a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Cronies War between Pasarana and TnGo! on Nov 04, 2015 at 4:47 pm

That’s because Pasarana is dead against TnGo “intruding” its territory, both cannot come to agreeable profit sharing formula.

Hence, Pasarana came out with its stupid “Rapid Kl Card” and eliminate all TnGo top up machine in all LRT stations, and also making commuters top up their TnGo at the station a very frustrated process, always giving “system down”, “over the time limit” excuses.

This whole drama is nothing but a war between two big cronies. In the end, all passengers suffer with such stupid inconveniences. Do you think they really even care about the consumers? Hell right !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • There is something wrong with ur MyKad please go to UTC and get replacement. I got mine done and have topup RM10 for emergency use.

• bodooooooo on Nov 05, 2015 at 8:48 am

Dude, did you ever take RapidKL?

You only can top-up MyRapid Card Touch N Go at their station but not to your other Touch N Go card.

• badman on Nov 04, 2015 at 4:06 pm

I hate this kind of statement.just do research/poll then implement it

• azrai on Nov 04, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Also got massage soon in LRT station.

• azrai on Nov 04, 2015 at 4:09 pm

How about PTPTN counter. No more excuse not to pay.

• Put counter in front of loanee’s house oso they wun pay cuz dear leader says PTPTN is haram so no need bayar balik even if got all F.

• Gunigugu on Nov 04, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Just make sure the trains are on time and serviced well. We don’t want another fire incident now, do we. As long as there are ample parking space and comfortable waiting areas, those are the two key items that people look for.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 04, 2015 at 5:45 pm

That boleh pipu problem..look at Japan literally station n train track very near to home. pipu just walk or taking shuttle bus to the station..here in boleh pipu against building station n track near their home.

• Malaysian hypercritism. They dun wan see or hear the station and tracks, yet will complain they dun wan to walk 5~10 minutes to station. In Japan during winter or summer oso they dun malas to walk 15~20 minutes to station

• Azmi should do better than to hinge projects on a ‘hope’.

Please hire consultants.

• Lagi lagi ini gambar on Nov 04, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Tak ada gambar lain ke?

• All existing stations need a big makeover now. Good thinking, but just do it now, no reason to wait.

Treat all stations like shopping mall, need a refurbishment every 5 years, total makeover every 10 years.

Very ambitious to compare with Tokyo. Just search google on Dubai Metro, our design is like 50 years behind.

• Hello Prasarana, nobody is asking you for banks, restaurants and UTCs. All people want are more than ample and safe parking facilities, big clean and airy toilets, bright lighting, ample escalators and lifts which don’t break down, no beggers and vagrants in stations and most of all ability to use the bloody Touch and Go card.

Contrary to your twisted belief, people want to spend the least amount of time at an MRT station, they have other places they rather spend their time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • There is 127 million Japanese that will uncontrary to your statement there.

• Contrary to your understanding of people, Japanese are not Malaysians.

• Most important is to provide ample parking for cars. If one cant park how to take LRT? With more shops there will be more cars. Take the Sri Rampai station , 90 percent of the parking lots are taken up by their own staffs. Why dont they provide bus to ferry their staff to work and leave the parking lots for LRT users.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 04, 2015 at 5:56 pm

Atract riders?

Or attract more income from rental of these shops? Riders benefit from your Advertising space income? Benefit fom station naming? Why still need to jack up the fares when you have all these new source of income?

They can’t even get toilets maintained correctly.

You want to attract riders you can build;
    1) more parking
    2) feeder bus service

No use to open 20 shops, when all of them selling the exact same stuff. All end up like a pasar malam street.

• Profits from the properties should subsidize the train fare. No point play property and yet hike the fare. Double blood sucking.

• siaocom on Nov 04, 2015 at 6:24 pm

They got non-rail revenue (advertising) to cover up their operational cost. For me, it not reasonable for them to increase fare based on KM. Dun tell me Bank Rakyat pay nothing to them for advertising.

They introduce Myrapid Smart monthly but need to pay a certain amount per month to get a bit of the discount. Wake a joke is this. No more unlimited ride for monthly pass beginning next month.

We never ask for double-decker buses that seems targeting only 4 routes (U40, U41, U64 and U80). Prasarana bought new buses every 2-3 years but service never improve. U guys wanna syiok sendiri, u guys punya pasal la. Why u wanna gave problem to rakyat?

• Tadalaku on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:19 pm

lrt station are seedy places…..

At night, when the lights at lrt station are inadequate, ppl always have to impression getting robbed, mugged, raped or bullied….

Sometimes, even got smell of urine. Yuckkkk….

• shizuni on Nov 04, 2015 at 10:36 pm

parking space ada?

• Nasilemak 2.0 on Nov 05, 2015 at 9:21 am

Nak kasi free nasi lemak for every ride ke?

• Bro Dubai on Nov 05, 2015 at 11:03 am

Air cond all your station, people will not stay if place is not cosy, hot and humid. Pls see Dubai metro. Japan weather is different. Malaysia air condition play major effect to draw crow, imagine if all big mall without air cond.