New Lexus RX launching in M’sia next week – Nov 12

See it for yourself and discover sophistication without boundaries. Join us at the Lexus RX Amazing Night on 12 November 2015, 7.00pm at Sunway Pyramid Convention Centre. RSVP now! http://bit.ly/1GJ9vMF

Posted by Lexus Malaysia on Tuesday, 3 November 2015

As revealed earlier, the new Lexus RX is coming to Malaysia before the year ends and a date has now been set. Lexus Malaysia announced on its Facebook page that the RX will debut on November 12 at the Sunway Pyramid Convention Centre.

“See it for yourself and discover sophistication without boundaries. Join us at the Lexus RX Amazing Night on 12 November 2015, 7.00 pm at Sunway Pyramid Convention Centre,” the invite reads. Sounds like they have seats for the public, and you can RSVP at the link given.

The fourth-gen RX made its debut at the 2015 New York International Auto Show in April this year. Now that it has smaller sibling NX to take care of the compact SUV market, the best-selling model in Lexus’ 26-year history has been given freedom to grow – its wheelbase is up by 50 mm to make 2,789 mm. The exterior is as you’d expect from a modern Lexus – spindle grille, super sharp and edgy.

2016-lexus-rx-450h-f-sport-12

Chief engineer Takayuki Katsuda said that his team aimed for better ride and handling, as well as more power and fuel efficiency for its SUV. The challenge was to build a breakthrough RX, yet one that’s true to the RX lineage. See videos of the CE and chief designer explaining their creation here.

The new RX went on sale late last month in Japan. Two variants are available there, the RX 450h hybrid and the RX 200t, which replaces the old RX 270. The latter uses a 2.0 litre turbocharged engine that was first seen in the NX last year, and now available in the IS sedan, facelifted GS sedan and RC coupe.

The direct-injection 8AR-FTS utilises a twin-scroll turbocharger and Dual VVT-iW (Dual Variable Valve Timing-intelligent Wide) for maximum torque at low revs. In the NX, it does 235 hp at 5,600 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,650 to 4,000 rpm. The motor is paired to a six-speed automatic gearbox.

2016-lexus-rx-450h-f-sport-5

The RX 450h’s hybrid system combines a 3.5 litre V6 engine (now with D-4S direct injection) with an electric motor. Thanks to advances such as cylinder heads with enhanced exhaust gas cooling, the hybrid RX boasts fuel economy of 18.8 km/l in the local JC08 test cycle, which is the best in class, Lexus claims.

Both the 200t and 450h can be had in FWD and AWD forms, and an F Sport package with Adaptive Variable Suspension and more aggressive styling is available. The RX 450h F Sport adds on an electric active stabiliser system to reduce roll.

These two powertrains could be bound for our market – the 200t for volume and the 450h as a flagship showcase of hybrid tech. In between those two could be an RX 350 powered by a naturally aspirated 3.5 litre V6 engine. Expect F Sport variants, too. In any case, we’ll know soon enough.

Lexus RX at GIIAS 2015

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Shawal on Nov 04, 2015 at 10:09 am

The new lexus rx will priced at an arm for the entry model, a leg for the middle trim and a pair of kidneys for the f sport model..

• Lexus - King of RV Depreciation on Nov 04, 2015 at 11:57 am

Lexus maybe a good car but buyer beware. It is the King of RV Depreciation. 2010 Lexus LS460L top of the range now selling for RM120k. Used car dealers will beg you to even take it for RM99k even. Shocking because less than 5 years ago, the car was close to RM900k.

In 4 years plus your car can jatuh from RM900k to RM99k.
      That is how bad Lexus RV is. If you can afford to bear with the falling RV, go ahead and buy it and enjoy it. Bear in mind also, most of the Lexus buyers, after susah payah paying 5 years every month, have to still top up berpuluh ribu their loan when they sell their car.

So besides super duper expensive parts, more expensive than even BMW, Lexus buyers always cry when selling their cars.

• Lexus- Just a Biscuit! on Nov 04, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Lexus is a total failure in Malaysia. In the US it is doing well because it is slightly more expensive than a Toyota. So Mat Salleh rather buy a Lexus.
        In Malaysia, Lexus is priced in BMW regions. How to sell?

You think which will make you more status? BMW or Lexus?
        Which do you think chics get excited.

Nobody knows about Lexus la. I asked some girls in my office about Lexus, they took out some biscuit called Lexus. They said as far as they know, Lexus is a biscuit. Pay Rm400k for a car that is known as a biskut

• Stop listen to Sam Loo’s RV sh*t. Modern cars are reliable and safer to drive nowadays. To save money, buy cheaper car of below 200K and drive it for 7 years la.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 04, 2015 at 1:23 pm

WHen you have reached RX, you don’t bother RV anymore. There is no more upgrade beyond this. In fact, the Lexus is so reliable that you don’t have to change your car for 20 years.

No change car = save money

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 04, 2015 at 2:30 pm

That’s why you have no taste lor…

20 years no need to change cars… Damn, your life must be a boring one…

No change car = save money…? I thought you have tonnes of money selling Toyota and Lexus…? Why change tones now…?

Straight to the point lar, your cars tak laku, so have to drive boring cars of your own brand to save on RVs…

HA HA HA…!!!

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 04, 2015 at 11:25 pm

I have 3 Lexus at home and getting 4th one next month. You work hard lah you lazy kimchi driver. If you can’t afford, just eat Lexus biscuit.

• If hybrid model tax free the rx450 will cost rm200k. That very nice :)

• Toyota? No way

• Request Paul Tan to ask whether they bring in the TRD kit or not.

• FIST (Member) on Nov 04, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Grill so big, it can devour a kid

• Last year after I test drive an Infiniti and went to Lexus showroom. The Lexus salesman knew I just tested an Infiniti, what he told me was.. aiyo.. Infiniti is outdated la, now nobody driving it and it is a very “lang moon” car.. means very low demand in Cantonese… At the end I’m choosing Infiniti cos I found that the quality build is better than Lexus. About the RV… all cars has no RV only Toyota/Honda asking sky high price. Just saw a Honda Civic 1.8 2007 asking RM60k… another 2 yrs has no more loan. Well this kind of car has high RV but not easy to sell.

• Www.Amazon.Com on Nov 13, 2015 at 4:06 am

Sissy cans beef stew,beef and vegetable soup and
    several other recipes out of her Ball Blue Book.