Car prices have dropped by 17.9% since 2013 – MITI

Mustapa

International Trade and Industry Minister, Datuk Mustapa Mohamed has said that prices of cars in Malaysia have been gradually reduced over the past two years, Bernama reports. Apparently, car prices have dropped by an average of 17.9% in the past two years.

Referring to his party’s manifesto issued during the 13th General Election in 2013, Mustapa said at the Dewan Rakyat, “BN has promised to continue to reduce vehicle prices between 20% to 30% within five years, and for the past two years, we managed to achieve an average reduction of 17.9%,” Mustapa, however, provided no examples of the said reduction.

On that note, he acknowledged that due to the weakening ringgit, several car companies were hard-pressed to revise their car prices. To that, Mustapa said that with the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA), import duties for CBU units from the US would slowly be reduced to zero percent.

“In 12 years’ time, the import duties of US vehicles, currently at 30%, will be gradually reduced to zero percent.” Mustapa said. He added, “in addition, Japan and Australia, through free trade agreements ratified before the TPPA, will be allowed to bring in cars without paying import duties from January 1 next year.”

Driven_Web_Series_2014_Honda_City_vs_Toyota_Vios_vs_Nissan_Almera_003

Furthermore, the minister is confident that with the TPPA agreement signed, national car companies will be able to stay competitive by switching up their business strategies to produce competitively priced models.

A few brands have announced price increases that will take effect in 2016, including Toyota and Lexus (both, up by between 4-16%), Honda (up by 2-3%) and Mitsubishi (by between 2-7%). Meanwhile, Nissan and BMW are also mulling hikes, while Mazda confirmed in mid-October, that its car prices will remain the same for now.

Likewise for Mercedes-Benz Malaysia, which has announced that it will maintain its prices in 2016. Instead, the company announced a price decrease for its entire C-Class range – having benefitted from customised EEV incentives from the government.

So guys, what do you think of this claim?

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• tokmoh. on Nov 05, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Here comes a new challenger!!

Maslan vs Rahman vs Mustapa

Round 3.85. FIGHT!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 194 Thumb down 1
    • Joke of the year., another minister joining Maslan & Dahlan…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 1
      • Huh? Ade ke???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
        • Where is Najib's Promise?? on Nov 06, 2015 at 8:51 am

The question Mustapa must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise? Car prices infact has gone up pulak!!

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM18,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM18k per month by 2020?

Pls Mustapa, don’t make a fool of yourself. When you were in BNM and Finance Ministry, there was so much of capital flight out of the country yearly. Hundreds of billions illegally left Malaysia despite going through BNM. Sort that out first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
          • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Nov 06, 2015 at 10:09 am

Government actually overcharging for cars because there is too much songlapping in Malaysia. All car prices go up because too many people are songlapping Malaysia’s natural wealth.

Najib can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions. All the songlapping can go to reducing car prices.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor. Even given Tunship. RM80 billion can subsidise so many cars sold per year. After all total tax per year of all cars sold only RM6 billion.

And this is just ONE songlappers wealth.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?
            It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap. All this money can be used to get cheaper cars and reduce the tax.

This is why cars are pricey. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get cars reasonably priced.

Problem is, Government own all the car companies in Malaysia.

All car companies are either UMNO big boys or direct cronies.

It is up to Government to reduce car prices. I repeat, all car companies are ALL Government owned via Khazanah, EPF, PNB, Tabung Haji and various GLCs.

Please don’t ketuk the Rakyat anymore. This year Malaysian Government will collect record highest tax collection in the history of Malaysia. Just from GST alone, Gomen has collected RM50 billion in 4 months. You plus that with Income tax, Corporate Tax, Investments by EPF, Khazanah, duties, cukai, eksais etc….Malaysian Government this year is super rich.

• George Abdul on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Please someone send him message that “We Rakyat know you’re lying” Government ministers just making rubbish and untruthful statements all the years !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 2
    • no wonder our country is screwed

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • angah on Nov 06, 2015 at 12:07 am

Whatever…

They can yada yada yada…

Whats more important is we just maintain our current rides and avoid buying any new cars (CKD or CBU or local).

When we stop buying, stock will not moving, inventories will build up…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
      If we work together, we can win this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Canai on Nov 05, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Pissed-off Malaysians in 3…2..1…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
  • anonymous on Nov 05, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Hmm… I somewhat agree with this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 80
  • DPCraft on Nov 05, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Well that good news, hope 2016 Honda Civic can have a 90k Price tag…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • ahmad on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Your dream car Civic built in Melacca …. not CBU import from US or Japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • DPCraft on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:07 pm

Yeah, I know but just hope HM priced it nicely. I really like Civic, but not it’s not my dream car.

• MeToo on Nov 05, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Car prices fell 17.9% in the past 2 years? Which car do you mind elaborating pls?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 0
    • Matchy on Nov 05, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Probably he’ll give Merc as an example… lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
      • ayoyo on Nov 06, 2015 at 8:47 am

later he will say he was misquoted. he meant curry price drop 17.9%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • He is probably comparing CBU cars to CKD like Mazda 3 where price dropped from 140k to 120k. Mercedes Hybrid CKD which is priced much cheaper than its petrol version.

Oh and don’t forget the year end discounts for all cars is probably factored in as well. If not he is most likely pointing out that cars bought in 2013 the RV has reduced on average of 17.9% in 2 years period.

• Yeah right…fat chance TPPA will entail the rakyat have access to cheaper cars, but worse still, with the government agreeing to TPPA, it opens up a whole new ‘Pandora’s box’ that will catch the common tax-paying Malaysian off-guard..
    Only time will tell if our ‘Elitist Dumbo’ appointed band of negotiators, actually did their homework and negotiated a good deal, safeguarding the Rakyat welfare, or ensuring the ‘Elitist Crony Gravy train’ is untouched, at the expense of the common man….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • MeToo on Nov 05, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Will the Minister once again give us an example of a Full Spec Proton 2 years ago compared to a Bare Basic Low Spec Proton this year to justify a “17.9%” drop in prices?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 0
    • Anti CO2 on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:43 pm

“… we managed to achieve an average reduction of 17.9%,” Mustapa, however, provided no examples of the said reduction.

Now our country is moving towards a brand new culture… just talk, no need facts…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
  • Gargantia on Nov 05, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Minister should ask Rakyat that the car price drop or increase???, he simple say drop as most manufacturer or dealers increase price !!! Big liar like his big boss all lies from Government !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
  • lalat on Nov 05, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Tok Pa oh Tok Pa..kalo ada hati nak turun harga kete mmg senang je.
    Terus terang kasi settle kroni2 AP dan Proton dulu laa
    X payah bawak citer Jepon dan org2 puteh tu
    Brp laa bijik kete USA kat KL..Ford Mustang ke kikihkih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • one word. RUBBISH. Utter rubbish, just like the cock and bull story from jibby

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 1
  • typical politician trick…always using “on average”. When you use the sales figures of perodua and proton, you already make up a huge figure of the total sum. And I bet they use inflation figures in the formula to boost up the 17.9% figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • Andrekua on Nov 05, 2015 at 6:17 pm

LOL…

Car import duties from US reduced to 0% also useless. There’s no one who send cars made from US to Malaysia. Oh wait, perhaps Mustang will get cheaper. Maybe his son eyeing a Mustang in near future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • nabei on Nov 05, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Yes. Price went down 17%. For example, Nissan Sentra sold for rm88k and later came Almera, they sold for less than Rm70k. But it came with never ending rear wheel bearing problem,faulty radiator fan and massive body corrosion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Sammy Loo on Nov 05, 2015 at 6:19 pm

This is why RV plays a big role in car industry. Sushi cars are proven with good reliability and good RV.

Instead of crying for car price increase, you should always get a Toyota with good RV so you won’t lose much compared to other makes like the VW or Peugeot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
    • sampan on Nov 05, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Diam la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • Sammy Taik Loo on Nov 05, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Correct, RV is important also so that you won’t face difficulties when upgrading a car in future.

Anyway, you should always get a Honda (not UMW Toyotaik jamban taik cars) with good RV so you won’t lose much compared to Toyotaik that can make you paralyzed in car crashes since their sucker jamban car distributor stripped off almost everything and give you stupid bodykits and leathers that purportedly can keep your skin alive once you crash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Tabei on Nov 06, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Yeah right. Like everyone care for the RV… Everyone wish to get a reliable car for 5-10 years.

• Tabei on Nov 06, 2015 at 3:13 pm

We purchase the car for reliability and for good driving experience not only focus on RV. For me, RV is the least to be worry.

• Muahahaha on Nov 05, 2015 at 6:37 pm

This is what we get when a nasi lemak rules the gomen! Muahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
  • cendol (Member) on Nov 05, 2015 at 6:55 pm

A full spec Toyota Vios TRD when compared to Kosong Spec Toyota Vios J, suddenly the prices drops by 30%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • sampah on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:00 pm

But the Toyota god car Vios never get discount since it launched in sep 2013. Plain version with Ah Beng bodykits asking for 93k in east MYS. What da fcuk! We all die cause both gomen and car dealer finding ways to.con the poor rakyat. Pergi mampos la Musampah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • albag on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:11 pm

i believe these ministers will sure go to hell after they’re dead.. talking nonsense in front of so many citizens without a blink of an eye…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • ahmad on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Zero import tax for US car? Hummer? Ford Mustang? Cadillac? WOW…only rich ppl can buy.

Majority Malaysians could only afford to buy Proton/Perodua/Honda Jazz/City/HRV/Toyota Vios/Altis/Avanza made in Malaysia. Even pick-up truck like Ford Ranger/Toyota Hilux/Mit Triton made in Thailand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Mattyboy on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:56 pm

Zero import duty yes, excise duty still stands at between 75% and 105% though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • ilovepm on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:27 pm

please agree when i said 26 – 15 = 9

• This fellow have cow dung brain. By calculating the depreciation of Malaysian ringgit its sama saja..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Jobless on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Syabas, nampaknya Kelab Peminat Master (sifu) Maslan semakin byk member

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Kipas angin on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Why compare car price between ckd and cbu?? Of course la less 17.9%. No significant..Too many difference in spec. Haishh..!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Consumer on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Aus/Jap to be 0% import duty start 2016, and US follow suit gradually. which it sounds good for entire CBU of these exporter country.
    Personally i would prefer lower excite duties than import duty alone to achieve the same numbers. which it benefit more people and at the same time give more positive encouragement to local brand.

• Mattyboy on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:48 pm

Utter nonsense. 2 years ago we bought a 2.0 4wd Honda CRV, list price was Rm141k. Today the same spec car is Rm143k

• Kroni BN on Nov 05, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Let’s assume Malaysia has an inflation rate of 2% p.a.

RM 141k in 2015 would be worth = 141k * 1.02 * 1.02 = RM 146k

Assuming 2% inflation p.a you’re actually untung 3k against current list price.

• Malaysian inflation is bullshit. Gov calculate based on few items which you price control such as oil, rice and sugar. They want you to believe 2% inflation what they do is set next years price 2% higher than now. But man cannot live on oil, rice and sugar alone. Last years kangkung cost RM1. This year is RM2. 2% ah? Then say what? Don’t eat any vegatables?

• Aero (Member) on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:50 pm

So, MITI is saying we will soon have FTA/ 0% duties on CBU imports from the United States, Australia and Japan. They are COMPLETELY missing the point.

First off, Malaysians don’t buy American and Australian cars. Unless if you’re an enthusiast or mega rich, a thirsty V8 American/ Australian muscle car will be LAST thing on your list. Heck, many of the top-selling cars in the U.S. and Australia are Japanese-badged ! If they don’t even want their own national cars, what makes MITI think we want them ? Malaysia is not Saudi Arabia or UAE lah, we buy small 4-cylinder econoboxes because that’s all we can afford, and also, most of our roads aren’t 6-lane superhighways like in Dubai. Long story short, the 0% duty on American and Australian cars means nothing to the average Malaysian, only rich enthusiasts (aka, the cronies themselves) will be thrilled.

And what about the 0% import duty on Japanese cars ? Surely, this is better news ? Well, it’s not… not by much at least.

Many of the ‘Japanese’ cars that we buy are NOT FROM Japan at all. Many are built on Malaysian soil, with Malaysian components, with Malaysian manpower and to Malaysian tastes. The only ‘Japanese’ parts are the CKD packs… and some are imported from Thailand, not Japan. Did you know ? Even Japan imports ASEAN-made Japanese-badged cars ! And despite the Japanese badge, few Japanese will consider them as ‘Japanese cars’, because to the Japanese, ‘Made in Japan’ must really mean Made in Japan… not ‘Designed in Japan, Made in Thailand’. Why ? Because the same level of high quality cannot be achieved so long as there are weak links in the chain. It’s not easy trying to train ASEAN workers to work as efficiently as the Japanese. That is a fact. Our lifestyle and work ethic is what it is, we cannot change ourselves, but only become the best we can be. The Japanese know this, that is why a significant percentage of Japanese would rather pay premium prices for ‘Made in Japan’ cars, than buy a Japanese-badged car made overseas. This is also true for their other industries, like electronics and TVs. However, for the last decade, it’s become increasingly hard to find ‘Made in Japan’ products, but they’re still out there.

Yes, the R&D and general design is done mostly by Japanese engineers, but these days, many Japanese companies appoint locals or non-Japanese to head individual own markets, for many reasons. The first is because it reduces operating costs, the second is because only a local would be able to best meet the tastes and requirements of their local market, the third is because it’s good PR, but most of all, it’s because of a shortage of Japanese manpower. These days, there are lesser and lesser young Japanese to fill the shoes of their senior generations. Many of the bright Japanese ex-engineers are hired by Taiwanese, Chinese and Korean companies, because they wish to learn Japanese technology to boost their own businesses. For these senior Japanese engineers, it’s just good business, because they often get paid more overseas than locally.

Ok, I went wayyy off topic there, but at least now, I hope more Malaysians can rethink of what buying a Toyota or Honda here really means. You’re not buying a Japanese car, you’re only paying for the badge and ‘perceived quality’. If it were the 1950s or 1960s, then yes, you are buying a 90% Japanese car, but today, in the 2010s, you’re only buying a 10% Japanese car. The JD Power surveys mean nothing in the real world, as it’s a SURVEY, meaning it’s a subjective study based on what people think (or like to think), with little transparency.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
    • Then better buy Tata cars the same group that proudly own Jaguar Land Rover.

• JohnT on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:51 pm

First thought: Empty talk, cannot provide exmple???

• SPECTRE on Nov 05, 2015 at 8:06 pm

minister malaysia terbaik didunia, kipidap, dongibab, haha…

• Xoxox on Nov 05, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Come on…speak something from brain not butt please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • The cock talk mean nothing to urban dwellers. The only people that might believe are rural kampung dwellers that do not buy new cars anyway. They use 30 year KE70 etc. Want to make talk also dunno your target audience!

• Lololol on Nov 05, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Must be using VW Diesel logic in his brain. Since when did price go down? More like prices remain the same and the specs go down. Unless you are honda who sacrifice Accord to get better rebates. Otherwise, Govt duties stayed the same and for car manufacturers to reduce specs… how else did you end up with over priced Toyotas and Protons…

• Ootai on Nov 05, 2015 at 8:54 pm

In 12 years time, no duties for cbu cars from usa. So, you can start hedging for Ford mustang and those chevies. 3 PRUs. Different ministers from different government that time?? Another broken promise??

• kakikereta on Nov 05, 2015 at 9:33 pm

I’m usually pessimistic about news like this but you know TPPA is something that you can’t weasel out of. The last thing you would want is for the states to bring ‘democracy’ here.

Anyway, it’s just import duties not excise duties which contributes the most to high car prices.

• Don’t talk Shxt..I.. i.. i.. i.. i.. i.. repeat 3 times, don’t talk shxt, don’t talk shxt..

• wa lau eh!!!

is this guy high on gum sniffing?

• Darren on Nov 05, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Yeah sure price drop, the price drop with so many things compromised and they call that price drop. You like that say, win liaw Loh, Come lim peh clap for you

• brutus on Nov 05, 2015 at 9:19 pm

“Mustapa, however, provided no examples of the said reduction.” This statement says it ALL!

• Cheating laa…next 2 months Toyota n Perodua increase price 20% already

• Jimmy on Nov 05, 2015 at 9:57 pm

I am bodoh since I said the reduction was 16.9%, the bukti is so obvious, all of you are just buta.
    No respect to me, even though I have titles like Tung, Mr Tan Se Ri, Natuk, Docter, Sir etc etc. If Obama says the reduction is 17.8%, nobody respects him as well. Nobody respects me, okay.

• Minister 3.85 on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:02 pm

since Mustapa is lying through his teeth, might as well he say reduction till 70%. Kaw kaw lah….

Other minister might add that all rakyat are damn grateful and majority rakyat insist the govt to increase GST from 6% to 60%.

• mobile on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:15 pm

referring to accord to accordana and lancer to inspira?

• disgusted on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:26 pm

misquoted or joking again?

• haziq khamis on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:35 pm

stop menipu lah menteri……

• applegreen on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:55 pm

Kalau tanya orang asli hulu kelantan pasal harga kereta sudah turun 17% confirm mereka gelak ketawa. Orang asli pun sudah tak percaya cakap datuk mustapha oii

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 05, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Lol the prices went down a bit thanks to the manufacturers being more cost effective and efficient and the government had NOTHING to do with the price and I like how paultan.org label this as a ‘claim’ rather than an actual fact!

So yeah, the federal government can go fly kite elsewhere.

• Criteria to be a minister => must tell a lot of jokes.

• Low Budget on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:45 am

Not ‘jokes’, the word ‘lies’ will be more appropriate.

• jobless on Nov 06, 2015 at 8:12 am

When scientist make a claim they must always provide proof or example…saintis dari mana ni..dulu mana sekolah

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Nov 06, 2015 at 8:15 am

I think he meant we can buy pre-owned 2013 cars bought in 2013 now at 17.9% cheaper? Yaikssss… Rakyat kena capati lagi

• azrai on Nov 06, 2015 at 8:28 am

Next year I’m gonna buy left hand drive Ford from US since there’s no import duty?

• kapchai on Nov 06, 2015 at 8:30 am

He added, “in addition, Japan and Australia, through free trade agreements ratified before the TPPA, will be allowed to bring in cars without paying import duties from January 1 next year.” really? I m looking forward to it

• Rusmah on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:04 am

Maslan,Rahman,Mustapa are my husband’s obedient doggie.
    Great doggie, keep my empire evergreen.

Cars, Properties, public facilities are my favourite!
    Would you wanna go shopping with me using my private jet? I could show you around the world!

• mohaWk on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:14 am

I wanna know what he’s smoking so I can have some of that

• another idiot minister never use their brain to talk and cheat the BN supporter.

A car price reduce by the manufacturer is not because of reduction in tax.

is because of economic slow down (less demand) and market competition.

• If this is called reduce, I also can redesign any car to reduce 50% of the price…just remove all aircond, radio, safety features(no airbag, ABS, seatbelt, etc.) from any model. Make it CKD as well, then you will get if for half the price.

Mazda CX-5 start selling CKD version with lower spec. Perodua Axia most basic has no radio, no central locking, no ABS, no REVERSE SENSORS

Stupid statement, as many factors can reduce the average price of cars in general. Reduce all prices of local cars only also will contribute to a lower average price. If a company stops selling higher end cars, and only sell those under 50k, it will also contribute to lower average. And to top that, he provided no example…

• p2macai on Nov 06, 2015 at 11:10 am

But some macai said last time Kanciul basic spec only got 660cc, now Axia even basic got 1000cc, how?

• captainfast on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:57 am

I think its bollocks. I haven’t see any reduction aside from GST. Even then, the drop is small. I wonder how all those nincompoop ministers do their maths.

• pok mang on Nov 06, 2015 at 10:11 am

yes you can admit car price have reduced about 17.9% but currently i have seen almost all car manufacturer in malaysia have trending up their price for next year maybe to compensate the forced reduction earlier

• Well a drop is a drop.

But u drop the spec of course price will drop.
    Then u say no import duties for japan/us/australia.

Then u hike exsais duties. At the end, nothing, maybe safe few hundred bucks, enough for 1 month petrol and toll only

• Mustafa show me the fact?

• akmalkhan on Nov 06, 2015 at 10:42 am

i really dun know how malaysian offcial agency calculate the price of car in malaysia…MAYBE THEY ALL FAIL IN MATHEMATIC.

• jobless on Nov 06, 2015 at 11:13 am

Tis guy vaping too much

• Hwa Jin on Nov 06, 2015 at 11:15 am

Y2013 Toyota Vios
    ——————
    Toyota Vios 1.5 J (manual) – RM73,200
    Toyota Vios 1.5 J (auto) – RM77,300
    Toyota Vios 1.5 E (auto) – RM82,900
    Toyota Vios 1.5 G (auto) – RM88,500
    Toyota Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo (auto) – RM93,200

Y2015 Toyota Vios
    ——————
    Toyota Vios 1.5 J (manual) – RM74,749.96
    Toyota Vios 1.5 J (auto) – RM78,649.40
    Toyota Vios 1.5 E (auto) – RM84,367.25
    Toyota Vios 1.5 G (auto) – RM90,113.69
    Toyota Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo (auto) – RM94,945.27

• Smlok on Nov 06, 2015 at 11:47 am

His statement really pissed me off

• Abd Rahman on Nov 06, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Yup, i am a consumer myself as i have been buying cars and the price is getting cheaper and cheaper. But I am not sharing with you what cars i bought.

• Namasaya on Nov 06, 2015 at 6:29 pm

Now we know why EON quickly engages Chrysler to distribute Jeep. Those politicians already knew TPPA will be signed, they want to snap big pie for more American cars under Chrysler.

• generator on Nov 07, 2015 at 5:00 pm

it’s really obvious that these commenters are just here to spread hate, as they don’t even know who they’re talking about. if not, they would know that this guy is one of the good ones. sigh.

• any1here on Nov 08, 2015 at 7:49 am

I’ll have what he’s smoking please….

• Steve Kok on Nov 09, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Come Mustapa, let’s go karaoke to tok kok and sing song!!!