Porsche Cayman GT4 debuts in Malaysia – RM840k

2015-porsche-cayman-gt4-launch-event- 001

Making its global debut earlier at the 2015 Geneva Motor Show, the Porsche Cayman GT4 has now been officially launched here in Malaysia by Sime Darby Auto Performance (SDAP). The asking price for the Cayman GT4 starts at RM840,000 (OTR excluding registration fee, road tax, and insurance). That’s RM140k more than the previous “hardcore” Cayman, the GTS (RM700k).

The newest entry to the Porsche Cayman line-up represents the most hardcore version of the mid-engined sports car. Capable of lapping the Nurburgring in a blistering seven minutes and 40 seconds, the Cayman GT4 boasts significant performance upgrades with certain components adapted from the 911 range of cars.

Starting with the design, the Cayman GT4 states its performance intent with a new front bumper that features LED DRLs and three large air intakes that feed cool air to the radiators and brakes. The side inlets that feed air to the engine are now more prominent, while the rear gets a massive wing to contribute some downforce. Rounding up the aggressive looks are 20-inch alloy wheels and a central-mounted twin tailpipe setup.

Inside, the Cayman GT4 doesn’t abandon all forms of luxury in the pursuit of performance – this isn’t quite like the 911 GT3 RS. Both passenger and driver get sports seats that are upholstered in a leather and Alcantara mix. The driver also gets a GT4-specific three-spoke steering wheel, while other amenities include a CDR infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen display.

2015-porsche-cayman-gt4-launch-event- 011

For very “dedicated” race drivers, Porsche offers lightweight carbon-fibre reinforced polymer (CFRP) full bucket seats as well (fitted here). The list of “racer” options continues with the Club Sport Package that tags on a rollover protection bar and six-point safety harness with an optional front roll cage. Porsche’s Sport Chrono Package (fitted here) is also listed here for those set on recording lap times.

Further changes take place beneath the metal, beginning with the adjustable chassis that shares many components from the larger 911 GT3. The car itself adopts a wider front track (by 13 mm), while having a lower ride height by 30 mm than the standard Cayman. Keeping the Cayman GT4 agile and in control are Porsche’s Active Suspension Management (PASM) and Stability Management (PSM) systems.

The Cayman GT4’s brake package is also adopted from the 911 GT3, comprising of 380 mm ventilated brake discs all-round, which are clamped down by six-piston callipers at the front, and four-piston ones at the rear. If improved braking performance is what you seek, Porsche’s Ceramic Composite Brake system (fitted here) can also be specified as a cost option.

Moving on, a 3.8 litre naturally-aspirated flat-six engine propels the two-seater sports car from a standstill to 100 km/h in just 4.4 seconds, and on to a top speed of 295 km/h. The engine, which is derived from the one found in the 911 Carrera S, generates 385 hp at 7,400 rpm and 420 Nm between 4,750 to 6,000 rpm.

Compared to the Cayman GTS, the GT4’s power output exceeds that of the GTS’ 3.4 litre flat-six (340 hp at 7,400 rpm and 380 Nm of torque at 5,800 rpm). On a less important note, the GT4 consumes just 10.3 litres of fuel per 100 km following the NEDC cycle.

Even though the Cayman GT4 borrows a few components from the 911 GT3, it drops the seven-speed PDK twin-clutch gearbox. Instead, the engine is mated to a six-speed manual transmission only, driving the rear wheels with the aid of a mechanical rear differential lock and Porsche Torque Vectoring (PTV) system.

So, if you’ve had your heart set on a Porsche 911 GT3 but prefer to row your own gears, the Cayman GT4 is the car for you. Keep in mind that the price listed above does not include any optional extras (as seen the in the car shown here) that you may wish to specify, but it does include a four-year warranty. However, if you haven’t ordered one already, SDAP says the earliest you’ll get the car is by the second half of 2016.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• If I have this, I’d go to the track every week if I could

• It had already sold out even before the launching .. My friend deposited RM400k for two (2) units together with his brother also couldn’t get any… Still in the waiting list. I guess this will be a collector item

• spongewai on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:04 pm

the price wow
    the car lagi wow
    the gadget lagi lagi wow

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:11 pm

You just have to listen to the soundtrack the engine makes, seriously, forget the GT3 and GT3RS, I’d take this any day.

• Actually the engine note for GT3 and GT3 RS sounds better compared to Cayman GT4.. The only upside of GT4 is that it’s manual.. However PDK in GT3 and RS shifts faster than a manual stick but lose the 3 pedals function. I’d go for GT3 RS if I were you… But then it was also sold out before launch too… The owners recently took the key to these cars in Sepang to test their car on tracks.. And also has the chance to test drive GT4 too

• Harry on Nov 08, 2015 at 9:32 am

if i were you, i will take Turbo S any day. Faster than GTR Nismo.

• jim labu on Nov 05, 2015 at 7:59 pm

If I buy one and then go balik kampung with it, the whole damn village will definitely come out; not to praise me but to laugh at my face while saying “You paid nearly RM900k for this 2-door only car?? And we all thought you’re the smartest one!”

• Razak on Nov 05, 2015 at 9:47 pm

Hahaha. I’ve already been in this position like few years ago. I bring my very new first car, a mini cooper, actually not new laa. recond one. I bring back to my villages then my neighbours got exora. My nanny said, ayo, why you bought this one. buy laa like our neighbours. hahahaha. Me and my neighbours just laughed like until tomorrow.

• tokmoh. on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:53 am

They see me rollin’… they hatin’

#thuglife #dealwithit #hatersgonnahate

• Ootai on Nov 05, 2015 at 8:45 pm

Those who bought these have no issue on gst, import duties, excise duties, tolls, petrol prices and what not. Vroom. Money works for them.

• jim labu on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:45 pm

Agreed…their money, their choice. One last thing, I remembered the time when my ex-boss took delivery of a then brand new Mercedes SLK. So I asked him “Boss, best ke bawak sports car macam ni?” and he replied “Kereta mahal macam ni mula-mula memang la sedap drive, tapi lepas setahun dua kau mesti boring gila punyalah”…

• Lipsinc on Nov 06, 2015 at 8:09 am

Haha yeah yet some people come in and start condemning the cars for poor resale value and recon only costs so little etc. As if the big boys bother about these trivial things.

• same seats as biggest brother 918 spyder