Volkswagen diesel emissions cheating scandal is “a blow to German auto industry,” says Daimler chief

W222_Mercedes_S-Class_Malaysia_ 010

Daimler chairman Dieter Zetsche has reiterated the company’s claim that it never used illegal “defeat devices” to pass emissions regulations, adding that the Volkswagen diesel emissions cheating scandal is “a blow to the German auto industry,” according to Detroit News.

The 62-year-old executive told the Economic Club of Washington DC that Mercedes-Benz has never circumvented emissions regulations using software “and we never will.” He also said that he was surprised by Volkswagen admission of manipulation, and that the public may have assumed initially that if one company cheated, everyone else has probably done so too.

“I think a strength of ‘Made in Germany’ and of the German auto industry is a perception that these are reliable brands and you can trust them and this is a blow to our industry,” Zetsche said. “It’s up to us to rebuild that trust because we haven’t done anything wrong.”

However, Zetsche denied that the scandal – which is said to have affected as many as 11 million Volkswagen vehicles worldwide – has caused a decline in sales of Mercedes-Benz cars, but noted that it will take time for VW itself to recover from the controversy.

E 300 Bluetec Hybrid 37

The United States’ Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) stated that it has found no evidence of cheating by any other automaker except VW, after testing all diesel-powered passenger cars sold in the country. Although Zetsche said he supported the EPA’s test, he claimed the agency had “no suspicion” that Mercedes-Benz cheated.

The “dieselgate” scandal reached a new chapter last week, when Volkswagen issued a stop sale order on Audi, Porsche and VW cars and SUVs equipped with the 3.0 TDI V6 engine, which US federal regulators claim is also installed with the “defeat device.”

Wolfsburg also admitted that European carbon dioxide emissions and mileage ratings on some 800,000 cars are false – this will affect the taxes owners will have to pay for their vehicles, but the company has already said it will be working on paying the difference rather than having customers foot the bill.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• It’s not the dieselgate that change my perception towards German Made cars. It’s the reliability of VW, I just don’t know why my VW need more repairs… sigh…

• Disgraceful VGM - Lemons Seller on Nov 09, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Hello Daimler Chief, you have just heard of dieselgate. You don’t know how much Malaysians have suffered with DSGgate.

As you know, DSG cannot be used in hot countries like Malaysia. So, DSG scandal never made it that big in Europe. So, people like Daimler’s chief don’t know the scandals going on in Malaysia.

In Malaysia, for years, our hero VGM been denying DSG Gate. after 6 years later, they inally acknowledged and lied that by using mineral oil, DSG gate would be cured.

But in truth, until today, VW owners in Malaysia face constant breakdowns every other month. Pay RM200k for a fake luxury car but be saddled with headache after headache and breakdowns after breakdowns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Sam bra sales man on Nov 11, 2015 at 3:59 pm

You are.definitely not a VW owner.

• amnesiac on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:37 pm

only vw owner knew how it’s feel when drive it. haters gonna hate. they’re jealous because can’t have vw. that’s why they keep bashed on vw. hahaha

• Sleep on Nov 16, 2015 at 3:26 pm

yea rite, my 1yo jetta never bring me DSG issue? So, how does it explain? Not every single vw vehicle also faced the dsg issue.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 09, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Told you again, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars. Getting a conti car, it is either too expensive or cheating and unreliable. These conti cars have poor RV too.

• Hotmale on Nov 09, 2015 at 4:21 pm

VW – the Proton of Germany

• MB Head of Sales just found himself a get out of jail card. If somehow MB sales not good, just blame VW. Ini semua salah VW… at least his position will last 1 more year.

• Korean Car SA on Nov 10, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Buy Kimchi car lah…design by European built by Asian