Kia Cerato Koup 1.6 T-GDI goes on sale – RM135,888

Kia Cerato Koup 1 (1)

Previewed a few months ago, the Kia Cerato Koup 1.6 T-GDI has officially gone on sale here in Malaysia, as revealed by various Kia dealers on social media. It’s priced at RM135,888 on-the-road with insurance, which is significantly lower than the estimated RM150k price bandied about earlier. Not bad for a coupe, right?

That’s still around RM15k more than the range-topping Cerato 2.0 sedan, but there’s a reason for that. In place of a 161 PS/194 Nm naturally-aspirated engine resides a 1.6 litre Gamma T-GDI (Turbocharged Gasoline Direct Injection) four-cylinder mill – the same engine as in the the Hyundai Veloster Turbo (albeit in a higher state of tune) and Kia cee’d/pro_cee’d GT – that delivers 204 PS at 6,000 rpm and 265 Nm from 1,750-4,000 rpm.

Kia Cerato Koup 15

As a result, with a six-speed automatic gearbox as standard, the Koup sprints from 0-100 km/h in just 7.4 seconds before hitting a top speed of 222 km/h.

While clearly related to the sedan, the Koup is differentiated through a slimmer upper grille, a large lower grille with faux carbon fibre trim, big round fog lights, gloss black wing mirrors and door handles, more angular tail lights and a diffuser-like design for the rear bumper, complete with twin tailpipes. The doors are longer to improve entry and egress, and the front seat belts can be extended for easier reach.

Kia Cerato Koup 29

Standard equipment includes xenon headlights with LED DRLs, LED tail lights, 18-inch dual-tone alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, a reverse camera, front and rear parking sensors, dual-zone auto climate control with cluster ioniser, 4.2-inch LCD Supervision cluster, leather seats with front heating (the driver’s side also gets ventilation and electric lumbar adjustment) and a sunroof.

Safety kit includes six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill start assist and Isofix child seat anchors for the rear seats, the same as on the sedan. We’ve driven the Kia Cerato Koup T-GDI – read the full review.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• BN minister AP Latuk on Nov 14, 2015 at 10:58 am

So cheap I will order some to my maid and gardener !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 29
    • Pakatan sand kings says: So cheap I will order some for my guard dogs punya jaga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
      • Where is Najib's Promise?? on Nov 15, 2015 at 11:01 am

RM135k for a tiny tiny tiny Korean “sports” car? The car is so small, even a Myvi has more rear legroom than this car. This is way overpriced.

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices?
        Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well known fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
        • Yeah again with your global car price joke.

Seems like this Toyota Camry is having the global price of US$22,000 in everywhere of the world.

Can you share what is the Camry price in Thailand, Singapore, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Philippines, and Laos? Are they all cost US$22,000 as what you said “global” ?

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 16, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Ask the car models if they wanna jump into this Cerato Koup then you know.

As long as it is a kimchi, it will not have RV.

• Sammy Loo on Nov 16, 2015 at 12:33 am

Yeah again with your global car price joke.
          Seems like this Toyota Camry is having the global price of US$22,000 in everywhere of the world.

Can you share what is the Camry price in Thailand, Singapore, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Philippines, and Laos? Are they all cost US$22,000 as what you said “global” ?

• Lololol on Dec 15, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Hahaha what a joke u r comparing seat legroom of a coupe and a 5doors hatchback

• john babu BN on Nov 15, 2015 at 11:05 am

Najib even better. Sapu Rm2.6 billion. Can buy a few thousand of this Koup. And his bodoh supporters cannot see all the thefts happening infront of them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • And your dear leader sapu 3 billion from selangor alone you dun care? Topkek buta betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • calcutta on Nov 15, 2015 at 3:26 pm

just don’t cry a river when a broken electronics cost you 7K

• spongewai on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:13 am

thought is RM150k and above

hmm, good price then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • this is not the 200hp variant maa, only 161ps.
      http://paultan.org/2013/03/27/kia-forte-koup-new-york/

seriously, the same design, the same interior over the low sales Kia Cerato Forte, why pay more for a Koup?

Last Generation Kia Koup was only RM 115k, now UP RM20k.
      http://paultan.org/2011/03/03/kia-forte-koup-launched-rm115k-updated-forte-sedan-also-officially-introduced/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 39
      • Wkaka on Nov 14, 2015 at 4:48 pm

It’s 200hp, read the damn article genius

• Kapcai GTI on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:38 pm

Bro this is 206PS and 265Nm la…

• Neutral on Nov 15, 2015 at 1:43 pm

Dude, its 204PS, get ur facts right before posting wrong info. *Facepalm*

• Orang Utan on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:41 am

The problem, this guy don’t understand how to read. probably UITM graduate. English Fails. Please continue to drive your satria with brader sticker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Rizal on Nov 17, 2015 at 1:19 am

Check your grammar pal. This guy (he) doesn’t understand..you can’t use do/ don’t for singular noun. And I’m a UITM graduate fyi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Turboman on Nov 15, 2015 at 12:57 am

Exactly.

Do correct me if i’m wrong. I think this is the cheapest new car in Malaysia with 200hp and sub 8 sec 0-100.

• syiok betul aku tengok awek pakai merah ni. Yahoo, bleh kahwin lebih!

• Syiok apa…awak pun tak mampu tackle ..syiok sendiri ajelah…

• jobless on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:24 am

Boring styling and clearly overpriced only for hardcore ah bengs..smarter ah bengs wait 1 year buy half price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 40
  • It’s the same veloster turbo with a Kia badge and the veloster turbo disappoints

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Kbadge on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:40 am

H badge use dual clutch gearbox this one normal six speed auto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • jenaka on Nov 14, 2015 at 2:12 pm

H badge used ala DSG dual clutch later need tow tow tow FREE…
        this one hassle 6 speed auto box…
        also fast maaa 7.X sec…
        way better than those 1.6 308… 1.4 golf/rocco…. 1.6 BM/Merc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • DOES IT COME WITH THE CHICK IN RED ON THE RIGHT SIDE?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:57 pm

im i the only one who noticed the plastic panel under the steering wheel is broken..? not sure if its a fuse box or just a storage compartment
    i prefer the previous gen front face actually….

• sick&tired on Nov 14, 2015 at 5:29 pm

it’s not broken, there is suppose to be a cover there.

• Pepero on Nov 14, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Why they taking so long to bring new Kia Sorento in our market??

• too late on Nov 14, 2015 at 1:24 pm

too slow bringing this car into malaysia. interior looks dated!

• I lup Cronies on Nov 14, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Only buy this car if you like plasticky car interior

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 14, 2015 at 2:42 pm

It’s true. I have always like the shape of the cerato, but the design of the interior is just Lousy, lousy lousy.

• Deruii on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Far more Better than the corolla Altis with Stupid and lorry-like design

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Nov 14, 2015 at 2:23 pm

RM135,888. But Veloster Turbo REAL price only RM144,900 cause got RM12000 rebate. Still I’m Gobsmacked the fact it Undercuts the Veloster Turbo by SO MUCH!!! Even more painful is it have 20hp more, and 0.6 secs faster in 0-100km/h than Veloster Turbo.

• Totally forgot about this car. Saw it at OU in May & I have to say build quality wise, it’s quite good. Also legroom in the back is bigger than my friends A5 coupe. If you can live with the Kia badge then go for it.

But since I am a complete tech nerd I’d choose the 308.

• Therealmaserati on Nov 14, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Nonono. Korean car sucks. Pls dont buy this. 136k for a Korean car is a joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
  • jinggu mao on Nov 14, 2015 at 5:35 pm

japanese 2nd hand car at the same price tag performs way better than this new korean car.

That is True!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Orang Utan on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:43 am

Don’t forget to book your place in Nirwana. You need it with Jap milo tin.

• neonceejay on Nov 14, 2015 at 6:43 pm

it’s a good price, but i saw few problem.
    a.) It’s not kind of ‘sports’ that you would expect, Paultan review said it.
    b.) Interior….hrmmm… but bravo for the handbrake.
    c.) Front wheel drive coupe? The last awesome car in this layout, if i’m nt mistaken is honda Integra Type R.
    This…All show but not so go. can smoke you in straight line but corner…….erm…

So, being a complete stupid fella I will choose 208 GTi. Thank you

• Sammy Loo on Nov 14, 2015 at 10:00 pm

135k can get you another junk Jetta but equally no RV

• Applegreen on Nov 15, 2015 at 9:40 pm

You can get jetta much much lower than rm135k today

• Basher on Nov 17, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Another basher spotted. Junk? Do you even drive jetta before?? No experience, but simply bash. The jetta performance will give you shock.

• Consumer on Nov 15, 2015 at 10:20 am

At least they have balls to bring in turbo charger variant.

• jobless on Nov 15, 2015 at 12:24 pm

I tink both chicks will refuse to be seen in such ah beng looking car somemore Korean….get a real man car

• tinmilo on Nov 16, 2015 at 9:27 am

I just don’t get some of the criticism posted…

This performance, a coupe, at this price (including insurance no less), still attract that kind of negativity.

Other then the CRZ (which was tax free), I simply couldn’t recall a coupe more keenly priced then this one.

Spec for spec, this just goes to show how expensive the Toyota 86 is.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Nov 16, 2015 at 10:09 am

Interior materials is super pvc and plsatic. no dual tone or feature design. 135K for this pieces of kimchi shit. i better get a recon subaru impreza and smoke this Koup gaogao.

• redknapp on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:40 am

it’s funny to see how malaysian commenting on a new car that just release without experiencing it by hand.

• drawing on Nov 16, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Ya… And there are even people comparing recon and old cars with a brand new car.
      Second hand GTI lah, year 2005 CLK lah, add turbo to Satria lah to smoke this smoke that… Aiyo..

• any sifu to advise? which one drives better? civic, altis or this cerato koup?

• Casion on Nov 16, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Damn, I really need to know name of the girl on the right

• Casion on Nov 16, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Damn, I need to know name of girl on the right

• SupremeMyAssVsTaxed99KimchiByBN on Dec 15, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Proton established in 1983 and Hyundai established in 1985.
    Meanwhile in 2015.. we are still driving low tech overpriced potong that only have its syok sendiri suprima-ass.. And kimchi hyundai can smoke potong like.. few kms away? Banggalah dengan perbuatan Malaysia.

• John Lim on Dec 15, 2015 at 11:43 pm

If someone tell me this is the interior of a 1990 car I will believe instantly. Kia interior sucks!