Kia Rio Sedan previewed in Malaysia, est. RM73,000

Kia Rio Sedan Malaysia_ 006

Turns out Kia does have the power to surprise. Previously unannounced, the Kia Rio Sedan will soon be launched in Malaysia. Previewed this weekend, with an estimated on-the-road with insurance price of RM73,000, it will join the existing RM79k Rio 5-door hatchback model in Kia’s B-segment range.

Its pricing will pit it squarely against the lower end of the Toyota Vios, Honda City and Nissan Almera crowd, just as the Rio hatch goes the Jazz and Ford Fiesta. Its sole 1.4 litre engine is smaller than the rest, but its outputs are competitive, at 109 PS and 137 Nm of torque, mated to a four-speed auto.

Big in the Kia’s favour, however, is specs. To be available in a single, facelifted guise, the Rio Sedan will get six airbags, electronic stability control, hill-start assist and all-around disc brakes all as standard. Also in are 15-inch alloy wheels with matching full-size spare tyre and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

Inside, there’s a leather-wrapped steering wheel with audio and Bluetooth controls, and a monochrome audio head unit with MP3 and USB support. The latter features 800 MB of on-board storage for music too.

Click to enlarge.

Other than the obvious addition of a tall rump (hiding a 389-litre boot), the Rio Sedan looks quite different to the hatchback. The general look is retained, of course, but the whole front bumper is unique, featuring a lower intake that spans the whole width of the vehicle. The headlights are halogen reflectors, paired with bulb-type daytime-running lights.

The Kia Rio Sedan is now open for booking at all Kia showrooms nationwide, and will go on sale with four colour options (white, silver, blue and red) in January 2016. A five-year, unlimited warranty will be offered.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• megavalve on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:21 am

Better than the new Proton Persona Iriz sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 112
    • Kia Cerato RM80k also people avoiding.
      Kia Rio Sedan RM73k, i guess woud be hangat hangat tahi ayam also….

buy this for CNY have to park far far away??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 111
      • go for kia, best quality car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 27
        • Where is Najib's Promise?? on Nov 15, 2015 at 10:55 am

RM73k for a tiny tiny tiny B Segment? The car is so small, even a Myvi has more rear legroom than this car. No pushstart, no nothing….

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices?
          Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well known fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 15
          • Sammy Loo on Nov 15, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Yeah again with your global car price joke.

Seems like this Toyota Camry is having the global price of US$22,000 in everywhere of the world.

Can you share what is the Camry price in Thailand, Singapore, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Philippines, and Laos? Are they all cost US$22,000 as what you said “global” ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • Same L0rrrr on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:51 pm

One year later, you will trade in to me at RM11k and somemore you need to beg me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 87
      • R U Ok? on Nov 21, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Lol. I wonder what are you observing on the road while driving. We take cars from the same category as comparison, did you saw more of the latest version of toyota altis or Kia Cerato on the road? Typical uncle mentality.

• Better looking than Honda City Red is for Superman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
    • Hyperspace on Nov 15, 2015 at 11:12 pm

its not even out yet..sheesh

• OMG…overall good looking with good safety features, but bcos of KIA, ppl will still prefer to spend a few thousand extra for Jap brands car.

• Fahmi on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:22 am

Finally, a good competitor to the Japanese B-segment cars.. With excellent specs to boot.. Hope that it will be priced well here..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 3
    • The old Kia Spectra 1.6L RM60k just literally Revived.
      but now RM73k and come with 1.4L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
      • alldisc on Nov 14, 2015 at 2:30 pm

Spectra was first introduced at 84k. The 60k price was for end of line basic spec with plastic wheel covers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • seancorr (Member) on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:59 am

It’s a good buy for all the spec they are offering as you will not find any kind of sedan with 6 airbags and VSC for 73k. Boot size might be a problem though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
      • DonkeyKong on Nov 14, 2015 at 6:19 pm

“you will not find any kind of sedan with 6 airbags and VSC for 73k”

What about the Preve and Suprima?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • wayang kulit on Nov 16, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Studies have shown that airbags causes more injuries in low speed collisions!! With Takata case going on recently how do we know the other brands does not have same such defects?? Airbags are just a corporate piracy scheme to steal money from consumers.

Would you like to have 6 grenades shooting shrapnel at you inside you car in a collision?? Without airbags we can get much cheaper and safer cars. Say no to airbags!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
      • riodisease on Nov 15, 2015 at 3:52 am

This is disease car coz boot as not at least near size of city

• so the sohais won’t use 1.6 cerato compare vios, city n almera anymore.

• Ong Chee Boon on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:37 am

You must be kidding me. Why a Rio Sedan instead of bringing in the turbo variant?

Aside from great safety features and disc brakes (only):

1) 1.4 litre but no turbo? (Rio HB already feels lethargic)
    2) 800mb onboard storage for mp3? (For one second i thought 8gb)
    3) 389 litre boot space?
    4) 4 speed auto? Seriously?

Seriously?

RM 73,000 is attractive BUT you will face Nissan Almera and Base model Honda city from this price point.

I will still take Nissan Almera or Honda City S or Toyota Vios J anytime because:

1) Boot space: Vios 503, City 536, Almera 490
    2) Engine capacity: All three has 1.5 rock solid engine.

And i must say from spare parts reliability and service availability, Japanese brands fare much better here in Malaysia.

However, i kinda prefer Rio’s interior. Quite premium looking from the photos.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 36
    • Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 14, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Beside City being a better buy, Vios and Almera is squarely inferior to this Kia Rio sedan. Though it’s slightly down on power, this Rio offers the best in class safety features, which Vios and Almera failed miserably (base model comes with only one airbag, seriously? in 2015?) I’ve test driven both the Rio hatch and the Almera, the Almera is also as lethargic as the Rio, the manual mitigates the situation somehow, but too bad it comes only with a single airbag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
    • jefflwh on Nov 14, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Joker, all the above Japanese cars Have NO ESP or whatever form of Traction control and only 2 airbags. As Paultan preaches. ESP or VSM or VSA or VSC is ESSENTIAL feature.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
      • Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 14, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Honda CITY V and S spec comes with ESP, get your facts right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • Driver on Nov 14, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Are intentionally try distracting people how safety specs of japs brand like piece of sh*** no regard to value Malaysians life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Grabdrebar on Nov 14, 2015 at 3:34 pm

And you conveniently left out all important safety specs of the rio…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • yeah right on Nov 14, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Yeah right, boot space and engine capacity more important than anything else. Good luck to you and whoever you are fetching.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • yeah right on Nov 14, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Yeah right, boot space and engine capacity more important than anything else. Good luck to you and whoever that you are fetching.

• And you conveniently left out the safety features they offer with the price.

VIOS and Almera better buy? One with 2 airbags plus ABS (wow so advanced) with 90k, another one with only ONE AIRBAG (YES, just ONE) with the lowest base model? Better buy, seriously?

Look at their power output, 109PS is not so bad for a 1.4. If you are bothering boot space so much rather than safety spec, sooner or later you will need to clear some space in your house to put casket for people you fetch or even yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Gg.com.my on Nov 14, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Good luck to you
      Please don’t drive fast
      Boot capacity and brand value can save your life

• the design will sell this car

• Ong Chee Boon on Nov 16, 2015 at 5:20 pm

My bad, you guys are right about the importance of safety. (Which i mentioned in the first line). My car also have VSC and seven airbags. I too value safety above all concerns.

it certainly looks tempting at 73k when you got full set of safety features including VSC, but it is not all rosy in the performance department though.

If you are to buy a B segment sedan, gotta spend extra on Honda City or V better. Only if you have extra cash.

I wonder why they didn’t bring in the turbo variant? It would be selling like hot cakes around here (more power, top safety spec, stylish, competitive pricing against european contis and better than some japanese brands)

• no name on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:40 am

Kudos kia…still maintain the safety features beating other japanese crap. Life value more important than brand value

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 4
    • Malaysian thought brand can protect their life. FYI, yesterday 13 Nov 2015 and today i saw 2 Vios moving to coffin already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rrrr on Nov 15, 2015 at 10:55 pm

It is the drivers who move themselves into coffin. But buying a kimchi or junk Proton, your wallet and bank account already in coffin. Don’t trust me? Go buy yourself lar! I won’t stop you from making yourself pokkai. There are solid reasons why Japanese cars sell a lot here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
        • pokai but at least I am still alive !!!! rich but left it for others because u r DEAD!!!

• andrekua on Nov 14, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Looks great. I do think the back seat look a little cramp. They should sacrifice a bit boot space for passenger comfort.

• jclark on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:56 am

a little too late? should hav bring sedan earlier…

• Matchy on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:07 pm

Been waiting for this since the Rio HB launch! But my concern would be:
    1. 4 speed auto (omg… give us the 6 speed!)
    2. 389l boot space (smaller than the Mazda2?!)

• Ootai on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:14 pm

If rio can give eev mileage, touchscreen plus throw in other kitchen sink (5 years maintenance warranty, etc), then vios & city cannot show off anymore. Let’s heat the competition kimchi.

• sparcov on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:38 pm

I once thinking to get the Kia Rio hatchback. At the end is the salesman from Kepong branch turn me down. I was waiting to have a test drive until the sales person ask me “are you a genuine buyer?”

I just walked away and get the honda city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Andrekua on Nov 16, 2015 at 1:13 am

Oh really? Can mail me the name? [email protected]

I also walked in tempting to buy one after comparing with Jazz. I did comment how little the discount was for year end promo because I have seen them going for 3x the discount in mudah.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:54 pm

this car makes sence , reasonably priced for the spec…only question is whether ppl are willing to accept it…

• tiffany on Nov 14, 2015 at 1:12 pm

I thought Kimchi always got alot of features.
    where is LCD and Push Start.

I cannot brain the design of the dashboard.
    looks like old pickup truck dashboard.

even new hilux or new fortuner pickup truck have better dashboard now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Pepero on Nov 14, 2015 at 1:12 pm

How about Kia twin sister. Hyundai?? Are they still doesn’t want to bring Hyundai Accent to bolehland? Are HDSM still want only sell the Hyundai premium lineup only??

• Yaa…should bring Accent in. If not, the sohais always use Elantra compare with Vios

• Pepero on Nov 15, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Yeah.. They should bring Accent, the new i10, Creta or even the i20 and ix20.. Who gonna buy the Genesis, i30, i40 in Bolehland with a ridiculous price.. The i40 segment is locate between Elantra and Sonata, but HDSM put the price more expensive than Sonata.. In Singapore, i40 are use as taxis and their i40s are the facelift version compare to Malaysia market which is they selling the pre-facelift ver… For Genesis, I only saw 1 recently on PLUS Expressway, i30 it’s been 5 months since i saw one in KL..

• Indigo on Nov 14, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Yes all sounds good, when you head to Mudah and type Kia Rio, average of 50k of secondhand value. The parts are expensive too. Talking from the point of a Cerato owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • therealmaserati on Nov 14, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Faster get rid of your lousy Cerato la . Really damn lousy car. Don’t understand how ppl say its good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • sick&tired on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:34 pm

RM50k for a used Rio is considered very good! it cost RM75k new so RM50k is not too bad.

BTW price of spare parts are mostly the same as Toyota & Honda. I know bcos I also drive a korean car.

• Gargantia on Nov 14, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Driven can u guys make a comparison on this car and the same segment facelift? Thanks…

• I’m not sure about other region, but somehow the Rio SX not doing so well despite the price range 77k much lower than vios and city. The numbers of those new vios and city are just increasing in my region, rarely saw rio sx

• Excellent value for money Kia. Its more affordable than the greedy DRB Honda in terms of specs and safety features.
    Not everyone can afford a full spec Big H branded car. This is a great alternative.

• Minister 3.85 on Nov 14, 2015 at 2:18 pm

I love the plasticky interior so much. The plastic parts quality are a lot better than my toy’s plastic.

Well done, Kia!

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Nov 14, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Quote: Ong Chee Boon, “4 speed auto – seriously”?

Boss, so is your kosong Vios J and fugly Almera! In this segment only Mazda 2 Skyactiv 6 speed Auto with paddle shifters and Honda City E spec’s CVT > all others. Also, both Have the Essential Traction Control.

• Slushbox demystified= More Gears doesn't means Better on Nov 14, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Actually, many people has the mythical thinking that more ratios = better fuel economy. Which is not necessary true. Same like people often revere the dual-clutch transmission shifting speed without thinking about a real-world driving situation. Let me demystifies.

More Ratios = Better Efficiency? X NOPE!

Unlike a manual transmission or a DCT, a conventional torque converter works in a totally different manner. In a manual transmission, all ratios are FIXED. In a torque converter auto, ratios are defined as THE RANGE of of ratios synchronized by the torque converter in relation to the gearsets combinations that lies behind it, rather than a FIXED ratio. For instance, let us use an example of using the second gear in a manual transmission vs second gear in a torque converter. Unlike a manual, where ratio is rigidly define by FIXED numbers (ie:1;1.15), it could be any RANGE between 1: 1.15 – 1.4 in a torque converter.

Hence, a well programmed, finely tuned torque converter is able to synchronise the engine RPM and “mesh” the ratios difference between the gear set and the flywheel into an almost uninterrupted manner, creating a pseudo CVT-like driving experience. Don’t believe me? Go drive a Toyota Vios and you know what I mean. The 4AT on the VIOS is the best programmed and finely tuned 4AT in the market. And the fuel economy doesn’t fare inferiorly even compare to many more advance 6 speeder, CVT or even DCT in the market.

More Ratios = Smoother Ride X Nope!
      The smoothness of a gearbox doesn’t lies on how many ratios or how many RANGE of ratios it has, but how you programmed the clutch activation during the period of shifting of gears. In short, the TIMING of the clutch plates activation and how well the engine flywheel is programmed to increase/decrease the throttle to mitigate the discrepancy of momentum between the flywheel and the torque converter is more crucial than having many ratios to guarantee a smooth shifting quality.

More Ratios = Lower RPM = save fuel? X NOPE!
      Actually, the RPM of your engine has nothing gotta do with the number of ratios in your gearbox. Now, let us negate the driving habit of different individual, (some heavy-footed, some light footed). In a typical cruising scenario, ie: 110 km/h fixed speed on a highway, the RPM of your engine is actually determined by final drive ratio x (multiply) reduction ratio. Let us take a 4AT vs 8AT. In the 4AT, its final drive might be only 1, but it may has a reduction of 2, hence the final number is 1×2 = 2.0 In the 8AT, it might has a superior final drive of 0.8, but its reduction is 3, giving you the final figure of 0.8×3 = 2.4.

In THE REAL WORLD SITUATION, lets say both of these cars cruise at a constant 110km/h, the 8AT will has a higher RPM and hence burn more fuel than the 4AT. (assume they have the same engine output).

More ratios = Better? X NOPE!
      The 2014 Jeep Cherokee, the first vehicle that claimed to utilise a 9-speeder in the world, has a very problematic and controversial gear box. The reason being it has an extremely low reduction ratio, hence resulting the utility of final 3 gears (gear7,8,and9) almost impossible in real world driving. In the case of the Jeep, the 7th, 8th and 9th gear is still way too high even if the vehicle is cruising at 160km/h! In short, the 7th, 8th and 9th gear are practically USELESS. IT’S A WASTE OF RATIOS and gears. And more gears means more gearsets = more clutch plates = dead weight/more space. In the case of the jeep, in order to mitigate the extreme weight and space accompanied by the 9 speed ratios, they decided to supplement one of the clutch assembly with tooth plates! Unlike multiple clutch plates assembly, tooth plates requires EXTREME PRECISE BITTING POINT AND FRICTION CONTROL, no compromised or else you’ll get mechanical failure in long run. Ask anyone who bought that car, and they will tell you the 9-speeder is anything but smooth and reliable.

Conclusion: Don’t use manual transmission logic in judging the smoothness, efficiency and reliability of a torque converter. Many factors has to be taken account such as the pairing and programming between the engine and the gear box, coupled with final drive ratio and reduction ratio, which determines the shifting quality and fuel efficiency of a slush box.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
      • Quite lengthy explanation.. i doubt typical Malaysian can swallow any of what you said just now.

• is quite easy to read and understand.

maybe you are from kampung?

• DonkeyKong on Nov 15, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Long BS but unfortunately reflects a general lack of understanding of actual automotive engineering. In a torque converter gearbox, the ratios ARE fixed, but with a certain amount of slip prior to mechanical lockup. There is no intentional introduction of slip or mesh or whatever. The planetary gear carriers are engaged and disengaged through the application of the clutches and brake bands by solenoids or hydraulics, actuated by the valve body and mechatronic system. The ratios within the planetary gear carriers are fixed, and if the ratios vary like half clutching, that means it’s time to overhaul or replace the gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • MusTanG on Nov 16, 2015 at 9:34 am

This is one good info mate.

Thanks for sharing!

• DonkeyKong on Nov 16, 2015 at 1:07 pm

If you want actual good info, pick up an actual engineering book. The stuff this guy says is mostly rubbish.

A transmission’s shift logic does not give it a “range” of ratios, there’s no such thing. Before and after mechanical lockup, there’ll be a 300-500rpm reduction in revs at any gear, typically. It won’t vary much but it helps to reduce mechanical losses.

There’s no such thing as engine flywheel being “PROGRAMMED” to sync with the throttle. What rubbish is that?

The final drive ratios for any transaxle will not be so stupidly selected as to render most of the ratios effectively overdriven. Therefore, a larger number of ratios will result in better fuel economy especially if there’s a smaller stepping between the overdrive ratios at the higher gears, which will determine the gearbox’s tendency to fall back to underdrive ratios for kickdown.

Much of the smoothness of a torque converter gearbox also depends on the torsion damper of the input rotor. This is the singularly most important factor, actually, which is why high-torque high-ratio gearboxes will implement two torsion dampers because no amount of precise mechatronic control can smoothen out the shift shocks.

And how do I know these? I’ve rebuilt auto and manual gearboxes before, including replacing final drive assemblies for auto gearboxes to make it better suited for matching the powerband of a bolt-on turbo setup.. so it’s not just BS from someone who doesn’t know how an auto gearbox works but talking about “range of ratios”

• No push start? No LED tail lamps? No reverse camera? No DRLs? No projector handlamps? All avaliable in the hatch and 5 k difference? Really? Safetys excellent..

• I do like the clean exterior design.
    but it comes with a dissapointing dashboard design, and lack of features such as EnginePushStart and no LCD display.

Question: how many of us trust Hankook ECO tyre? this is the stock tyre in this Kia Rio Sedan.

• Happy Rio on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:23 am

Guess it boils down to pricing. The HB is excellent with all the bells and whistles and 17inch shod with csc5 (definitely overkill) and the tyres have very good grip.

• Aero (Member) on Nov 14, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Finally, Naza-Kia got their act together. They should have brought this in years ago, but better late than never I guess. Glad to see that they have been generous with the safety specs… but the 4-speed auto is a let down. I hope Naza-Kia plans to CKD it, because I honestly think that this Rio Sedan, despite its age, will sell FAR better than the Rio hatchback. And also, this is extremely bad news for Proton, because it’s priced too closely to the Prevé, which is already not selling so well. Anyway, we’ll see what happens.

• therealmaserati on Nov 14, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Piece of crap car. Even at its cheaper pricetag, it will in no way touch Honda or Toyota sales.

Kia cars all handle like a boat. Tekan a bit, engine sound noisy as hell. Underpowered piece of junk.

I testdrove a Honda Jazz and its miles ahead of that little dumb thing called a Kia Rio. Kia is on par with China cars. Pls don’t ever compare it with Honda or Toyota.

The refinement , smoothness and feel of Honda & Toyora beats KIA and Hyundai day in day out. No match at all.

If u wanna increase ur sales in Msia Kia, pls get better engineers la. Your current batch of engineers all make cars equivalent with China cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • Sam Tow Truck V2.0 on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:29 am

Dear Mr VVIP Maserati,

For your continuous long term business with our Tow Truck Business, we are glad to invite you to our Annual Dinner at Shangrila this Christmas day to celebrate our 10 million revenue which your VW have contributed 5% to our sales (every week 1 tow). You are indeed our special client and do remember, we are available 7 days a week 365 days. As for recommendation to other VW owners, we are giving you additional 10% commission for every new VW owner you intro them to us.

By the way, your ex wife is still very happy with my Toyota Hilux pickup. Each time she see a VW driver by the side of the road, she is glad she left you and marry me instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Towyourhead on Nov 17, 2015 at 3:34 pm

I never see any tow come and pick up vw, but saw many vw speeding at high way like a god. Toyota cannot even bring me that driving pleasure.

• Towhead on Nov 17, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Since you are saying that seriou, but I don’t see any vw break down at the roadside. What I saw is they are always speeding at the highway like a god and toyota is always fail to bring me that pleasure.

• jeneral yamashita on Nov 18, 2015 at 12:16 pm

why u didn’t invite others too? like BMW Honda Toyota. because i always saw them also on towing by truck every time i’m on the road. and right now, it’s hard for me to see vw car on towing.

• UMW Mampus on Nov 14, 2015 at 6:18 pm

RN73k est for all rounded safety spec is a good deal. It’s about time cars sold in Malaysia need to be SAFE, SAFE and SAFE! Malaysians generally don’t care about safety, when they buy cars they think T brand is god car.

This is evidenced in all the 90k plus TRD Vios running on the road, what are they thinking on their mind when making the purchase? 90k with 2 airbags and ABS only? Seriously?

Time to buy better safety spec cars like KIA, Hyundai, Ford, Honda and even PROTON that everyone hates! It’s about time to care about your precious lives. Even you don’t care about your own, care about the loved ones that you are fetching to school, market, office, etc! Stay safe Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • choha on Nov 14, 2015 at 8:42 pm

why copied the fugly BM’s broken-nose bonnet design???

• Sammy Loo on Nov 14, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Good safety feature, looks like a Mini Cerato at the back but too bad this car got no RV

• powershot (Member) on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:07 pm

WTH.

389 litre boot is too small if you want to compete against vios, city, almera or even persona.

to make it worse, its powertrain is already underpowered in the hatchback; for sure it won’t be better in the sedan

• Muhammad on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Selling only RM45K in 90% of the countries worldwide but comes to Dr M Proton land becomes starting RM73K. Thanks to Dr M Proton all Malaysians have to suffer and pay the price of high car prices. If proton doesn’t exist all Malaysians can buy car prices without the taxes. Najib and BN I urge you to close down Proton and reduce all car prices without any taxes. Malaysians DO NOT NEED Proton. What did proton contribute to this country?? Only pain and hatred. It’s a liability for this country to keep proton. Malaysians need cars without taxes. Grant the wish of Malaysians and we can ensure you wan every elections!

• sick&tired on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:37 pm

i don’t know why are people here complaining about the interior quality! City, almera & vios also have plasticky interior.

• albag on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:47 pm

somehow the Koreans manage to nail it in terms of proportion… u see hatchback-turned sedans are usually fugly as hell… even the Japs also fail to design a proper looking sedan from hatchback…

• common sense on Nov 15, 2015 at 9:25 am

what?4speed only=vios&almera
    what?no projector light=vios,almera,city,mazda3
    what?no push start?=vios,almera,city low spec

many other things,just dig out some points to show how rubbish malaysian minded..being fool by toyota & honda to buy overprice car for the sake of resale value..reliability also not that goods nowadays..

• Ambik kau on Nov 15, 2015 at 3:38 pm

At least those cars never cheated on top tether.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Toyota Vios J have Push Start, lagi added with year end promotion.

http://paultan.org/2015/01/08/toyota-vios-updated-2015/

• Sammy Loo on Nov 15, 2015 at 6:58 pm

sales number is the best proof

• smile loo on Nov 15, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Should come with free Vape ,then that’s the only selling point

• Great going Kia. You Koreans are going from strength to strength. Just be careful and jaga your quality and reliability. Soon you’ll establish the brand and give the Japanese or any other brands for that matter a run for their money. May the ultimate winners be the car buyers.

• Applegreen on Nov 15, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Rm73k value is there IF it comes with sunroof just like on the brochure

• Sam Looo on Nov 15, 2015 at 10:44 pm

Who gonna buy my Toyota?? Lol

• Low spec car, high spec price.
    *bulb day time running light
    *no projector halogen headlights
    *no auto light
    *no static bending light
    *no LED rear light
    *no rain sensor
    *no push start button
    *no keyless
    *15″ alloy wheels
    *no auto air conditions
    *no cluster ioniser
    *speedometer display no LCD
    *no sunroof
    *no alloy foot pedals
    *no intergrated side turn signal
    RM6k different from its 5door hatchback, this car shoudl under RM60k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Godcar Sucks on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:33 am

One word. Bodoh. You left all the safety aspect of the car. Ok, please continute to drive your myvvi and please don’t forget to book a casket. You may need it with the way you drive.

• Those specs are available in Rio 5 door hatchback. just Rm6k different but and they removed so many things. I am sorry, myvi is not my car btw. Two words for you. LAGI BODOH

• Why not wait for just couple of months for 2016 Vios?

Quite some changes in it but what attracts me is new engine, more airbags and vsc in all grades.

• Andrekua on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:58 pm

Will it really come equipped with VSC? Even if they do, I wonder if they will only offer it on the expensive variant like Honda City/Jazz.

Personally I feel really weird with cronies behavior for these brands. Honda for example pushes VSA to promote safety but they trimmed the tires to 175, almost kancil like width. Then they removed the rear disc brake and replaced it with drum brake.

I personally love Japanese cars for city driving but can’t really accept their pricing strategy. Yeah, their SC would be miles better but I still think we deserved a bit more for our money. I used to have no faith in Kcar but after driving a company provided Sonata for 3.5 years, my perception changed a lot. While they may not be beating the Japanese, there were nothing wrong with it. Clocked 60k and nothing major broke. Of course RV hurts but if you are going to drive them for 10 years, it is a small price to pay. That’s why I’m looking at Rio now. Gearbox may not be the best, but other than this, I think it’s slightly better. Of course, I still had to wait for the test drive to find out if they are handling better.

• It will trust me. :)

But only will be announced somewhere in Q2 2016.

• eddiekee3 on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:13 am

as usual people still thinks Sushi cars have RV. There is no RV in all cars. My friend sold his 4 year old Alto and let’s just say he is not getting what he thought he should get. There is no RV concern if you are keeping the car for long time. Someone commented “low spec car, but high spec price”. Are those features really necessary compared to getting good safety features? Please name some examples whereby we can get a car with those features for under RM60k. please don’t mention our local cars. i don’t think they have sun roof. I have the Rio and i know how the engine sounds like so to “therealmaserati” please don’t exaggerate. It’s really quiet inside. The Rio actually beats the Jazz on safety features and the price. All cars have pros and cons .

• normal_user on Jan 13, 2016 at 4:07 pm

I have sat many times on the rear bench of the Rio hatch. What I can say that the bench provides very good thigh support (full cover of thighs, even better than Teana), feels deep enough to sink & rest your back spine in comfort, and ample side bolster to support your shoulders. Despite being a small car, it feels good to sit and relax inside. Not too overtly soft, neither hard too.

Something that Proton should look into for their upcoming Persona (Iriz Sedan).

• nicholas on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:56 pm

i think with only 1.4, it will be under power
    it abit alike Mitsubishi lancer for the rear part

• KiaRio on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:38 pm

Good price but the rear design is a joke. It looks seriously bad !