Proton Pick-up Concept: Exora truck gains sports bar

Proton Pick-up Concept 2

Revealed at Alami Proton last month, we’ve spotted the Proton Pick-up Concept on public display again. Here, the truck was placed at an incline on top of a steel platform surrounded by shrubbery, giving it a slightly more rugged appearance.

New on the Exora-based pick-up is a new tubular steel sports bar with the “Proton” insignia scribed across it, certainly bringing it much more in line with the traditional pick-up look that we are familiar with.

Elsewhere, not much has changed – the front end might look a little reminiscent of Ford’s F-150 Raptor, but the homegrown effort distinguishes itself with a full-width silver bar across the gaping grille, with the slim LED headlights inset.

Proton Pick-up Concept 14

There are more cues taken from other pick-ups, like the SsangYong Actyon Sports-esque short bed and a tailgate design again lifted from the F-150, but here too the Proton is differentiated, this time by small inset tail lights and grey mouldings across the rear. Large black wheels with massive rock-crawler tyres, a striking metallic red paint job and grey body cladding all-round complete the look.

We also got a closer look at the interior – the Exora-derived dashboard we’ve seen before, but this time we can also spot the reupholstered seats. They look great, with some red-trim and a honeycomb stitch pattern across the centre of the seats.

There’s no word yet on whether this is purely a design study, or if there are any plans to bring such a vehicle into production. Proton has once managed to develop and market a pick-up vehicle based on an existing model – the Wira-based Arena – so perhaps the idea of a pick-up truck built on the Exora platform isn’t such a far fetched idea after all.

It’s worth mentioning that while most pick-ups are built on a ladder-frame chassis, monocoque-based trucks – which this one will be, if based on the Exora – do exist, albeit sparsely, such as the Honda Ridgeline and Australia’s low-riding utes. A front-wheel drive truck is more than a little unconventional, though.

When asked why Proton decided to make a pick-up concept, Proton’s Head of Design Azlan Othman told us that “it’s very simple. Looking at how successful the Jumbuck (the Arena in Australia) was, there’s no reason for us not to look at segments where we were once profitable.” Do note, though, that no real decision has been made regarding its production feasibility just yet.

In any case, do tell us what you think of the Proton Pick-up Concept. Love it, hate it, want it, do make yourself heard in the comments section below.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Jumbuck was successful in Australia? Jumbuck=jamban

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 95
    • karam singh on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:49 am

Jumbuck was famous in Australia, just accept the fact.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 8
      • ProtonGSC on Nov 16, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Good concept but if using Campro RIP all not going will and just wasting R&D funds !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • Same L0rrrr on Nov 16, 2015 at 4:19 pm

When fanboys keep on shouting the glory in the past, you know the car maker has NO FUTURE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
          • same L1rr on Nov 16, 2015 at 4:30 pm

when fanboys-salesman of a particular brand keep condemning other cars, you know they are just jealous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrrr on Nov 16, 2015 at 7:28 pm

Jealous of Proton begging RM1.6bil yet can’t cross border to sell in SG and Thai? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 16, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Yup it’s seem Same Lorrr jealous so much and envy with Proton current achievement. Don’t forget this design had open the eyes of American journalist on Proton designer capability..

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 17, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Proton need QUALITY, not design!
            Stop conning people!

1 American journalist impressed while hundreds of thousands Proton drivers complain. This is your math?

Proton achievement? What achievement? Hybrids left at Mars by Matt Damon? Typical Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • The Archbishop of Banterbury on Nov 17, 2015 at 7:50 pm

@Ah Beng
            It caught the attention of Jalopnik. (Yes, Jalopnik!) They even like it!
            http://truckyeah.jalopnik.com/this-concept-off-roader-combines-two-opposite-kinds-of-1736544271

• hailthepurist on Nov 16, 2015 at 3:08 pm

ready for Mars..

• You obviously haven’t been to Australia. I’ve seen alot of the Proton Jumback Ute on the road in Perth. Some owners told me that the Jumback is cheap to run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • RavenAii (Member) on May 26, 2017 at 1:51 pm

If I’m not mistaken jamban in Australian accent is called loo, so you can call that to Sam. The Aussies really like the Jumbuck. Even though it is not the safest or even the mightiest utes of all, but it is cheap to run and surprisingly comfortable to drive, plus parts can be found like, literally everywhere. A bonus point of rebadging cars.

• ILoveProton on Nov 16, 2015 at 10:46 am

Sorry but this is fugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 46
  • Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 16, 2015 at 10:56 am

This is indeed very bad news for pick-up enthusiasts and lovers. Bye bye Hilux, bye bye Triton, bye bye Navara, bye bye D-Max, bye bye Ranger… Once this junk comes into production, all pick-up will be taxed astronomical high beyond reach of people who can still afford a pick-up now. Imagine 300k for a Ranger and people are FORCED to buy this Proton rubbish quality hampeh junk.

With their sales dwindling and Malaysian abandoning this pathetic brand in the passenger car category, (no shit, Myvi still outsells Iriz more than 3 to 1 ratio, despite Myvi being a 10-year-old design) Proton is thinking new ways to exploit and milk Malaysian dry, which they are now doing by encroaching into the commercial vehicle category, which is still largely untaxed. Once this stupid junk comes into production, we can say bye bye to affordable pick-up and forced to buy Proton junk. Proton had its hands full on the passenger vehicle front, they can’t even make a fuel efficient and reliable car, why so busy body to venture into truck category? Proton has NO diesel power plant experience, let alone common rail fuel system, do you think a money losing Proton has the resources to do so?

The only reason is to create a new junk to exploit Malaysian, just like what it did in the passengers vehicle for the past 30 years. #DeadtoProton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 77
    • Jeghung on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:37 am

Dont worry la friend. With TPPA, Proton pickup will have to compete…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Nov 16, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Always writing long essays but unfortunately nothing makes sense. Please spend your time doing your office work instead of wasting it writing drivel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
      • Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 16, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Then why you bother replying my comment? Ask people do office work but you yourself also waste time replying me. I see you commenting in almost all Paultan article too, brandishing your childish arrogant view against everybody regardless what’s the topic or brand. I’m not like you, I only bash Proton, now who’s wasting more time? You’re just like the kettle calling the pot black… you also got nothing better to do?

Don’t pry on me, I am not gay. If your dick gatal, go find some gigolo. Now go and musturbate and syiok sendiri like Proton. Get lost lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 50
        • DonkeyKong on Nov 16, 2015 at 2:47 pm

LOL I have plenty of time because I’m not a wage slave, unlike whining complaining bottom-feeders like you that do not contribute anything meaningful in any topic besides trolling and bashing for no reason

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
          • Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 16, 2015 at 3:13 pm

Oh no, I think you have become my No. 1 fans, commenting in EVERY SINGLE comment I made. This is just so wrong to get my attention, if you like me, just tell me lah, you don’t have to use this tactic to make yourself look SO CHEAP. I am not interested on how much money you make either, if you have money and lonely, go get a toyboy, don’t bother me.

Let me get this straight, I am not a gay, I am not interested in your dick, so stop prying on me, don’t be a creepy follower. If you gatal, go and get yourself a gigolo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 37
          • DonkeyKong on Nov 17, 2015 at 10:11 am

Is that the best you can come up with? This low-IQ lowbrow garbage? So, the only way you know how to insult others is to use the “gay” card? That’s so lame..

• RavenAii (Member) on May 26, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Why bothered Diesel when they have the GDi Petrol? What? Trucks can’t drive with Petrol powered engine? The trucks and suvs sold outside Malaysia came with Petrol engines.

• It looks stunning , especially the front grille .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • How pick up can it be with their 1.3 & 1.6 liter engine? The most they can do is to put a turbo in it.

• Re Define the linit on Nov 17, 2015 at 7:34 am

Dony judge too fast. Sonething big and wild will be coming. Get ir pocket ready.

• RavenAii (Member) on May 26, 2017 at 2:05 pm

If this will ever happen, they probably squash in the newer GDI/TGDI engine that varies from 1.0L to 2.2L engine.

• areos on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:40 am

Looks good…gorgeous..you can expect sales better than arena if indeed proton have real plan to produce it.

• ben yap on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:48 am

design is very modern.

except that the brand proton is displayed at the rear a little too big.

• kokocrunch on Nov 16, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Tell that to Toyota with their gigantic logo behind their new Hilux

• That works because people ‘want’ a TOYOTA but do NOT want a PROTON.

• kiasu on May 27, 2017 at 5:40 pm

They reserving the logo space for ‘other’ brand logo hui hui hui

• Annoynimouse on Nov 16, 2015 at 12:57 pm

AWD is a must for this type of vehicle.

• MansorTodak on Nov 16, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Good….
    1.3 twin turbo 250HP 300NM is enough to move this. GoGo Proton you can do it

• nabill (Member) on Nov 16, 2015 at 1:18 pm

it makes sence for two reasons , its based on the exora which has proper rear leg room without the usual truck-y upright position rear seats , and ,although the rear bed is shorter than rivals,its actually very deep , which makes loading/unloading easier since its lower than a normal truck…
    the only way i cant see this happening is prootn dont have a proper engine for this vehicle…it needs a diesel , n they dont have one…and no one in his right mind will put a petrol turbo in it anyway!

• Syahiran on Nov 16, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Name it Proton Badang , I hope Proton will consider my suggestion

• superbird #43 on Nov 16, 2015 at 6:25 pm

a bit too nose-heavy i guess.

• Ugly. Over attempt to look rugged, and turned out ugly. If u know design, this will not look nice for longer than 3years. Maybe first year, then you’ll vomit.

• Silthice on Nov 17, 2015 at 12:34 am

I wonder what engine the put inside this prototype…
    I think they display the truck inclined so that it looks taller…

• sylinder on Nov 17, 2015 at 1:50 am

Tyre look a bit small………or it just me?

• Andre on Nov 17, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Hope tht its fuel efficient, powerful, spacious and strong. And one thing, it realleh looks very American yo!

• ProtonForward on Jul 23, 2016 at 1:28 am

Stunning craftmanship, hoping to see this model on the road soon, but with detailed design revision of front & rear lamps, look bit hidden…

• Anonymous on Jul 25, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Like it or not… undoubtedly there is a market for a small lightweight pick-up truck… third party rear cab fix n it could generate more interest… i could see govt enforcement agencies utilising these… n even the odd pasar malam trader too… even the small time landscapers, electricians n plumbers… there is a gap in the market to replace the vannette… if the price is right.
    But the thing is its a concept from the design dept… meaning the higher ups in P1 are really not looking into this market segment… meaning come what may… this is just for show with P1…