Taxi drivers November 18 protest to proceed despite not having permit and having been declared illegal

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 6

Taxi drivers have not been issued a permit to proceed with the planned protests, supposedly to take place tomorrow, The Star reports. Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Mhd Amin Nordin, stated that DBKL has not given the group permission to gather in the four proposed areas. At the same time, the police has declared the protests as illegal. Regardless of that, the “peaceful demonstration” will still proceed.

The protests are slated to take place in four locations now: Padang Merbok, the Masjid Negara and the Craft Complex nearby Jalan Conlay, the other location is at the Merdeka Square. According to Husain, some 6,000 taxi drivers are expected to gather for the march at these spots from 10 am tomorrow, November 18.

ASEAN leaders are expected to congregate for a summit in the city centre from November 18 to 22. The mayor cited this as the main reason for not issuing permits. “No permission. Only after ASEAN summit. We will consider after ASEAN summit,” he told the daily. Should the protest carry on without the required permit, Nordin said, “the police and DBKL will have to do something.”

Dang Wangi police chief ACP Zainol Samah further stated that no letters have been issued by the DBKL for the protests to proceed. In addition to that, he warned taxi permit holders not to use their vehicles during the gathering or they would face legal consequences, Bernama reports.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 1

According to the police chief, the Klang Valley Taxi Drivers Action Committee had sent out a notice to the police regarding their intentions of the gathering on November 6. However, the committee failed to include permission letters from the management of the four venues. In this instance, he noted that it is an offence under Section 11 of the Peaceful Assembly Act 2012.

Meanwhile, Kamarudin Mohd Husain, deputy chairman of the Malaysian Taxi Drivers Transformation Association (PERS1M) maintained that the protests will carry on anyway. “DBKL has rejected. We will carry on with the peaceful demonstration,” the deputy chairman said, further adding that the committee had backup plans should such situations arise.

Objective of the protest was said to “get the government’s attention,” as well as to call for the resignation of the Land Public Transport Commission’s (SPAD) chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar. The other objective is to ban apps such as Uber and GrabCar from operating in the country.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• protonsucks on Nov 17, 2015 at 10:55 am

aww cry baby, protest as much as u want, im still going to use uber and grabcar even more

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 0
    • Same L0rrrr on Nov 17, 2015 at 12:14 pm

you can’t survive you cry you beg you wait for money dropping from the tree. Even the taxi driver is following Proton path. Bravo.

• Taxi come on improve your quality of your cheap old car and your service! cant blame anyone.

• Deus Ex on Nov 17, 2015 at 8:10 pm

Damn straight. Wanted to get from Bukit Bintang to KLRCA at Jln Sultan Hishamuddin,3 taxi drivers said “tak tahu tempat”. Called uber,got there under 20min. Taxi drivers “tak tahu tempat”, you guys have one job and you can’t do it. ONE JOB.

• konga on Nov 17, 2015 at 11:01 am

Smelly n ugly orangs in action again but who cares of what they barking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • siliauhakkacommunity on Nov 17, 2015 at 12:55 pm

buka pintu sudah 2 ringgit.. jalan depan sikit sudah 5 ringgit.. u gila ka??

passenger xda u bawa okay ma.. passenger ada u bawa selupa baru dapat license.. brek brek..

itu amoi office xda lesen pun tau u manyak tipu..

• I hope the FRU will spray some spice water on them if they continue their illegal protest.

• Gunner on Nov 17, 2015 at 11:16 am

Haha the world is changing. Try to catch up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Muahaha on Nov 17, 2015 at 11:22 am

Hahaha.. Gangster taxi 1 malaysia.. U mati i tak kesah.. I still going to take uber n grabcar… U guys alredy cheating for many years juz like our gomen cheating ppl so far

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • 4G63T DSM on Nov 17, 2015 at 11:27 am

They can protest all the want, and no one will give them a hoot.

Because they are alienating the very people that would be their customers.

Its almost like KTM throwing a fit at PLUS for taking away train customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • I thought our cab drivers are always protesting…. i.e. whenever you go into their cabs, they always say “NO…No….tarak pegi” Protesting lah tu….

hehehehehe….

• marxedes on Nov 17, 2015 at 11:27 am

Why not use the time wasted for protesting to do something productive like brainstorming and thinking of how to improve taxi services to serve an ever changing customer demand? Just saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 17, 2015 at 12:14 pm

No need to brainstorm anymore. If they have the mental capacity to do so, they would already have done.

No, the elephant in the room remains how taxi permits (and taxis) are allocated and rented out. If taxi drivers can secure their own permits, they would know how to protect their own rice bowl. No amount of brainstorming will cure that. The system needs an overhaul. From the top down.

Taxi drivers are independent contractors. Treat them as such. You have a bad contractor, you drop them like a hot potato. You get a good one, you share and recommend.

If Taxi drivers can’t survive, then why can UBER drivers survive (not only, but growing)? After nearly 2 years of using UBER, I find 9 out of 10 UBER drivers are very good, with good interpersonal skills, and clearly these are well educated folks that can carry themselves well.

normal taxi drivers? you’d be lucky to find 1 out of 10 of such calibre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • hondaman on Nov 17, 2015 at 4:13 pm

it is all about the drivers attitude, why don’t you come to Subang Jaya Komuter Station. 9 out of 10 taxis over there are owned by individual including TEKS1M cab. Their aim is to own individual permit then rent out to others especially foreigners

• “GUA SUDAH TENSION”? WTF….lol.

My protest on the other end say “LU TAK TAU GUA LAGI TENSION BILA GUNA LU PUNYA SERVIS!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • George Abdul on Nov 17, 2015 at 11:52 am

Best counter statement of the month !!! They never wake up like BN supporters !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • ben yap on Nov 17, 2015 at 11:48 am

tomorrow i also want to protest hapuskan pemandu taxi.

• Instead of improving their service, they choose to protest.. I cannot comprehend the stupidity..

• Geeze, instead of protesting and crying out loud, why not use your brains on how to improve your service and the conditions of your vehicles. Try use their service (Uber/GrabCar) for once and ask yourself (taxi drivers), would you use Uber than driving in your own vehicle?

• nabill (Member) on Nov 17, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Plz go Putrajaya protest all u wan… Just dont do it in the city center creating unnecessary jams with ur lovely faces….

• BigBalls on Nov 17, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Everything also want tongkat
    These ppl think they come to this world with tongkat ready for them to pick up and limp around everywhere they go
    Instead of improving themselves, they blame it on others.

Hello, I still use public taxi, but he’s my one and only regular taxi because he drives courteously, keeps his car clean and never overcharge me. If all of you could have these attributes, Uber and Grabcar won’t survive

• Dylen on Nov 17, 2015 at 1:31 pm

now i know BLACKLANE, before only grabcar and uber

• Taxi drivers, proton, red shirt, Maslan … all sama gang.

• Crasher7 on Nov 17, 2015 at 2:47 pm

The more you protest, more people will switch to Uber and GrabCar

• Protest against Gov? Okay, ini dihalalkan

• siaocom on Nov 17, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Those kononnya “taxi” driver got nothing else to do ka? Those Uber and GC driver will got a lot of customer on tat day. Untung la.

• david on Nov 17, 2015 at 4:55 pm

actually, i support, they should protest against spad for the high rental fees.
    not protest against uber lah

• hapuskanpemandutaxi on Nov 17, 2015 at 5:05 pm

sitting a taxi without meter. somemore want tipu our money. Anyway, im still using uber and grabcar. #paliahgangstertaxi

• Uber drivers are very polite & helpful. Giving informations & details of travelling guide. Very flexible & reasonable prices. I support.

• Padan muka korang. Service teruk tapi nk menyalak pelbagai. Mohon spad hapuskan semua lesen dorang!!!

• Honestly, the taxi business model where a few privilege people having the license to,operate should be abolished. Gave the license to deserving taxi owner operator. Then service will improve as they have to bear the risk of not getting a paying customers. Otherwise as a customer, I reserve the right to choose between uber, grab taxi, normal taxi etc.

• Tadalaku 1M on Nov 17, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Q: What do you get when you cross SCUM and LOSER?
    A: Red & White KL Taxi drivers.

• I had a couple of bad experiences with KLIA2 air port taxis back home after midnight. (i.e Need to refill gas, car problems, need to pull over for checking, non-stop text and drive and etc) I have given up with the unsafe rides. I would rather take the ad-hoc grab cars next time.