VIDEO: Koenigsegg Regera “Autoskin” auto doors

This mad electric-assisted hypercar is anything but dull. The Koenigsegg Regera comes with a 5.0 litre V8 engine that produces 1,100 hp and 1,250 Nm of torque. With three additional electric motors, it can draw an added 700 hp and 900 Nm, on top of the original output. Now, the brand is showing us another nifty feature of the Regera.

In a new video, we get a clearer picture of what the Swedish carmaker meant by robotised hydraulics to operate all body closures. Called “Autoskin,” upon activation, it will automatically open up the front luggage door, both driver and passenger Dihedral Synchro Helix Doors and the massive rear engine door. Total weight of the system is said to be under five kg.

According to the narrator, the system comprises of thin, compact and lightweight hydraulic hoisters and lightweight hydraulic actuators for all doors. Also, with proximity sensors installed, obstacles in the way of the doors can be detected and the opening mechanism stopped if needed.

Koenigsegg Regera Autoskin-01

In addition to that, pressure sensors in the hydraulic system will allow for the system to be overridden. This means that the opening mechanism can brought to a halt by hand, if needed. The system can be operated from the car’s remote or through a smartphone.

Interestingly, the narrator explains that it’s actually “nice not to have to touch the outside of the car when it’s clean.” On that thought, seeing that one of these is priced at USD$ 2.3 million (RM10 million), we actually agree that it’s nice not to have to touch the car’s externals, at all.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Nov 17, 2015 at 5:04 pm

My Wiralution already modified suicide door, now i gonna apply this “Autoskin” to my sunat konek!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrrr on Nov 18, 2015 at 11:17 am

Oversea, we see Koenigsegg; over here, we will have FLX-segg. Give some time to the mod shop.

• How to pronounce the name?

• No more Pers1m on Nov 18, 2015 at 12:10 am

simply put: Ordinarily expensive Panel Opener.

• greedyed on Nov 18, 2015 at 9:01 am

Hi, I’ve seen enough YouTube videos to know the “narrator” of this video is none other than Mr Christian von Koenigsegg himself. He is usually the “face” and the brand ambassador of his own company…Cheers!

• I don’t get the hype…
    My 5 year old Alphard already has automatic sliding doors and automatic boot open-close mechanism….

• macromedia on Nov 18, 2015 at 4:59 pm

I pity the mechanics that needs to work on the engine